Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
i7 920 C0, how high can it go?
Old
  (#1)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default i7 920 C0, how high can it go? - 12-03-2013, 20:21 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Hey guys,

Building a new rig tomorrow, i bought the best all in one CPU water cooling kit.
It's the Swiftech H220, wasn't cheap, and they are not being made anymore i've heard.

Motherboard is a Gigabyte X58 UD5, and CPU is i7 920 C0, heard the D0 can OC higher.

With this beast cooler, how high could i OC this CPU?

I know it's a old CPU, but i got it for a sweeeet sweeet price, just 120 euro's for both CPU and motherboard. !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-03-2013, 20:42 | posts: 10,559 | Location: United kingdom

I managed to get mine at the time to 3.8 stable with a true black on air.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-03-2013, 20:53 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Could i reach 4,2ghz with a high end watercooler?

Is it still a beast CPU you think? For more money i could buy new fx6300/8120 setup but thought intel would be better for gaming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 12-03-2013, 21:03 | posts: 4,904 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
I managed to get mine at the time to 3.8 stable with a true black on air.
Seems a reasonable limit. The D0 chips can get to 4.2 GHz plus no issues. Had my old 950 D0 at 4.4 for a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Could i reach 4,2ghz with a high end watercooler?

Is it still a beast CPU you think? For more money i could buy new fx6300/8120 setup but thought intel would be better for gaming.
Might be pushing it at 4.2. Still probably faster than the 8120. You'll get a whole bunch more headroom with HT off.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-03-2013, 21:05 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Thanks, i'm just gaming so i'll turn HT off then.
Only Crysis 3 benefits from HT right? or are there more games?

I could get the 950 pretty cheap, around 80-120 euro, some are still sealed.
Or might wait till i can afford a 6 core i7, but for now they are 300+.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-03-2013, 21:14 | posts: 10,559 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Thanks, i'm just gaming so i'll turn HT off then.
Only Crysis 3 benefits from HT right? or are there more games?

I could get the 950 pretty cheap, around 80-120 euro, some are still sealed.
Or might wait till i can afford a 6 core i7, but for now they are 300+.
Dont bother get a 920 d0 or 930, they oc better. There are some decent 950's but from what ive seen there in the minority just like the 940.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-03-2013, 21:16 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Dont bother get a 920 d0 or 930, they oc better.
Alright i'll take that in mind, but for now i have to make due with this 920 C0.

I'll try hit 4ghz tomorrow and report back.

edit: 1 person selling it for 120 euros here locally.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 12-03-2013, 21:19 | posts: 4,903 | Location: Washington DC

I had mine at 3.8 for a while but it ran really hot. 3.6 seemed like the sweet spot for me. Traded it for a D0 chip that hit 4.0 easily.

It's still a great CPU though. Shouldn't have much problems running games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
urbangangsta101
Newbie
 
urbangangsta101's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 770 GTX 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-04-2013, 13:24 | posts: 12

I had a i7 920 C0 and a Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 Motherboard. Worked at 3.3GHz flawlessly.

Could get it to a stable 4GHz with about 1.36v vcore but the motherboard was odd and 'forgot' the BIOS settings if i (a)overclocked that much and (b) powerd the system off at the wall plug socket overnight. (No warnings, just reset 'some' of the settings to defaults)

To combat this, i just left it always powered via the wall (computer just shut down overnight) Worked fine like that for months then suddenly corrupted my OS and blew up my Logitech G510 keyboard. Good times.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-04-2013, 13:32 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Lol really? well i hope i have better luck.

I bought it used from a trusted seller, so i'm guessing this one does not have tho's issues.

I do remember having a Gigabyte mothrboard that had the same issue as you, not saving the bios settings.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 12-04-2013, 13:39 | posts: 8,079 | Location: UK

well i'm at 3.99 with a CO...

so i'd have thought 4ghz with a do and a good cooler def poss. just luck of the draw though. 4.2 ghz perhaps but not seen many so far, am sure i saw one or two guru's that high, check around the net...

mine takes a fair ol whack of vcore (1.35625) to get stable.

still winter+water. no probs!

p.s never turned off ht myself. see no need.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
urbangangsta101
Newbie
 
urbangangsta101's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 770 GTX 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-04-2013, 17:14 | posts: 12

@signex - True story, wasn't able to reinstall my OS until i reset the BIOS, was very odd. The GA-EX58-UD5 was always quite unstable...

It's a good CPU though, only sold mine recently as i was itching for some new toys!

My 4770K @ 4.4GHz isn't that much better then my old 920 @ 4GHz tbh...

Last edited by urbangangsta101; 12-04-2013 at 17:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-04-2013, 19:10 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

I believe you, but i guess you was just unlucky?
Can't find these issues on the internet, neither does the guy who sold it said he had issues.

But we'll see, it got delayed for unknown reasons, have to wait till tomorrow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 12-04-2013, 19:20 | posts: 4,903 | Location: Washington DC

Quote:
Originally Posted by urbangangsta101 View Post
It's a good CPU though, only sold mine recently as i was itching for some new toys!

My 4770K @ 4.4GHz isn't that much better then my old 920 @ 4GHz tbh...
This.....The only thing I get a noticable improvement on is converting videos with Handbrake. I should have saved my money and upgraded my GPU first
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 12-04-2013, 20:51 | posts: 8,079 | Location: UK

why i havent upgraded my cpu yet! might do next time though...

can always post my settings op when u get yours. might work. interesting to see your temps with 1.35 vcore..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-04-2013, 21:03 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Yeah please do.

Was pretty dissapointed that i didn't got it today, i got everything else today, ram and CPU cooler.

Should i leave HT on too?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 12-04-2013, 22:05 | posts: 8,079 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Yeah please do.

Was pretty dissapointed that i didn't got it today, i got everything else today, ram and CPU cooler.

Should i leave HT on too?
i always have...some say it's easier when overclocking. i'd try leaving it on at the start.

i forget the reasoning behind it but guessing it means more stress on the cores. but surely this would affect temps for the most part rather than anything to do with stability.

i guess the more things the cpu is doing the more chance it has to say no thanks!

p.s veteran and myself posted our settings in another thread so can dig it up for u...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
urbangangsta101
Newbie
 
urbangangsta101's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce 770 GTX 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 12-05-2013, 17:10 | posts: 12

HT just generates a bit of extra heat, just get a decent cooler

When i was running mine at 4GHz i had HT turned ON. Using a Corsair H60 (2013 Edition) for cooling. Running Intel Burn Test for 12h and the temps reached around 80c max.

With HT off, it was about 10c cooler but my 3DMark Score was a lot lower. HT Does make a difference in some games...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-05-2013, 19:43 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Ok installed everything, booted first time (like always, me=pro builder).

CPU is 23-22c on idle with HT on.

Throw me the settings and i'll try to see if mine works with it.

Have to install everything first though and apps.

Edit: Ok i think i got it stable at 3,8ghz, 1.42v, ram at 1200mhz. 42-45c idle, 62-70c full load@Prime95 with HT on.

Last edited by signex; 12-05-2013 at 22:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 12-05-2013, 23:03 | posts: 8,079 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Ok installed everything, booted first time (like always, me=pro builder).

CPU is 23-22c on idle with HT on.

Throw me the settings and i'll try to see if mine works with it.

Have to install everything first though and apps.

Edit: Ok i think i got it stable at 3,8ghz, 1.42v, ram at 1200mhz. 42-45c idle, 62-70c full load@Prime95 with HT on.
1.42v? that seems like a lot but if your temps are ok...(if so thats one hell of a cooler to keep your temps 70c under load).

mmm could try mine at that and see if i can do 4.2 ghz. am pretty sure my vcore is 1.35625 last time i checked..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 12-05-2013, 23:13 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

1.42 is ALOT of voltage but those temps are good, but you're underwater so it's understandable.

My 940 is C0 is stable at 3.81 with 1.26v with around the same temps, but it needs a crap ton more voltage to run at 4ghz. Even then, I'm on air using a V8 cooler so the temps will be too much for me

Last edited by Comrade_Jerkov; 12-05-2013 at 23:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-05-2013, 23:28 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Yeah it's set to 1,42 in bios, but CPU-Z says it runs at 1.32-1.35 when im running prime95.

In reality i won't use the CPU at 100%, would it be safe to go higher+more vcore?

If it's useless for gaming, i'll just stay at 3,8ghz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-05-2013, 23:30 | posts: 10,559 | Location: United kingdom

1.42 under water is ok, i had my 930 on my old Rampage 2 board at 4.4 ht on for over 3 years. My 930 is still running now at 4.2 on this motherboard which aint as good as the Rampage that died. Im not water-cooling the mosfets or chipset either with this board. However the power delivery comes from the mosfets and although my mosfets(vrm's) were water-cooled on my old board i would expect these to fail first on your board before the cpu fails. Never under estimate cooling the mosfets on a high oc on x58 architecture.

Its different for other architecture like x79 were the old Intel PCH chip which is like the South-bridge of x58 architecture, this is now only used for things like SATA, USB, LAN etc.





Everything else runs through the CPU, that is why you see many highend motherboards now where there are water blocks designed only for the Mosfets and NOT the chipset because its not needed. You wouldn't stick a waterblock on a PCH chip that is only used for SATA,USB,LAN etc.

Times have changed and its definitely harder to get a high oc on x58 than it is on any other architecture because you have the North-bridge and South-bridge voltages to take into account also ie:Chipset.
I should find x79 Overclocking a piece of cake compared to x58 when i manage to get my hands on the R4EB.

Last edited by Veteran; 12-05-2013 at 23:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 12-05-2013, 23:38 | posts: 5,170 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitzi76 View Post
1.42v? that seems like a lot but if your temps are ok...(if so thats one hell of a cooler to keep your temps 70c under load).

mmm could try mine at that and see if i can do 4.2 ghz. am pretty sure my vcore is 1.35625 last time i checked..
Yeah it's the Swiftech H220, it's better then the Corsair H100/110's.
I have it in Pull config.

It's set in 1.42v in bios, but CPU-Z says 1.32-1.35v when Prime95 is running.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-06-2013, 10:01 | posts: 10,559 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Yeah it's the Swiftech H220, it's better then the Corsair H100/110's.
I have it in Pull config.

It's set in 1.42v in bios, but CPU-Z says 1.32-1.35v when Prime95 is running.
You should be fine at 1.42, i think mine was 1.43 but if i was you i wouldn't go any higher than 1.42. As for push pull you will not see any difference unless your using a shroud and even then its about 2 degrees which is a crap trade-off considering how much power extra fans use over the course of say 12 months
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.