Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Battlefield 4 & Windows 8.1 - what an improvment it is!
Old
  (#1)
Mike2004
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia/Asus 780 GTX SLI
Processor: Intel i7 980 X6 @ 3.72
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: 12 GB DDR3 @ 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DSX
PSU: Antec 1200
Default Battlefield 4 & Windows 8.1 - what an improvment it is! - 12-02-2013, 04:02 | posts: 40 | Location: Alberta Canada

Not sure if I should have put this in the BF4 thread but since this is such a dramatic improvement in BF4 performance I thought I would start with this separate thread. Posted this at my gaming clan's website, figured I would share my finding here as well.


Yesterday on Black Friday I went out and snagged a 180 GB Intel SSD and after much thinking decided to pick up a copy of Windows 8, upgrading my Windows 7 64 bit. I figured since I had to reinstall OS I might as well do it with W8, also because everything I had read about BF4 running much much better using it.

Well, what an understatement.

Using the same 331.93 beta drivers that came out a few days ago in W7, with video card options on high, no msaa, hbao on, my frames were never consistent (as with every other driver I tried). They bounced around 60 - 100frames, half the time miscrostuttering. I tried different drivers, all sorts of tweaks to get the frames as close to 100 consistently as possible. No dice. Some days the game seemed to run a little better than others, probably due to server patches.

Installed W8, took the free .1 upgrade and snagged "classic shell" to get rid of the god awful tablet UI. Downloaded and installed the game and all that good stuff. Enabled SLI. Nothing was changed except for the OS. Played for about 6 hours and literally never dipped below 100 frames (where I have my refresh rate set at for the 120 Hz monitor). Seriously, it stayed at a constant 100 on the server, even when it was full. Now I'm going to turn up the refresh to 120 and see if I can get a solid 120 frames.

So, if your thinking of a OS reinstall or a new pc and want to play BF4 at great frames, get Windows 8. Cheapest and best upgrade a player can do.


Specs:

Windows 8 Pro 64 biit
Antec 1200 Enthusiast case
Antec 1200 Powersupply
Asus P6X58D-E socket 1366 motherboard (purchased June 2010 - still half a kickass socket)
Intel i7 980 Gulftown X6 3.33 Ghz 12 MB L3 cache (mildly overclocked to 3.72 Ghz)
12 GB DDR3 @ 1600 (triple channel) Corsair Dominator
Asus Xonar DSX soundcard
2 nVidia GTX 780s in SLI
Zalman CNPS10X cooler
180 GB Intel 530 SSD
Samsung SH-S223L CD/DVD drive
Benq XL2420T 120 Hz 24" monitor (lightboost enabled)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 12-02-2013, 04:10 | posts: 1,822

You are too late to the party dude, everyone knows this by now.

Nice rig btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mike2004
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia/Asus 780 GTX SLI
Processor: Intel i7 980 X6 @ 3.72
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: 12 GB DDR3 @ 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DSX
PSU: Antec 1200
Default 12-02-2013, 04:13 | posts: 40 | Location: Alberta Canada

I understand I'm a little late to the party however I didn't think it would be as dramatic as it is, hence my post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Dillinger
Master Guru
 
Dillinger's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980SC
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-PRO
Memory: G.SKILL 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: NZXT 850W
Default 12-02-2013, 04:27 | posts: 532

On Win7 did you have core parking disabled?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 12-02-2013, 05:03 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike2004 View Post
I understand I'm a little late to the party however I didn't think it would be as dramatic as it is, hence my post.
It's not dramatic at all, but would be nice if you could apologize for that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
binaryStar
Member Guru
 
binaryStar's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI gtx 760 TwinFrozr
Processor: i5 4670k 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87-A
Memory: GSkill Ripjaw 8GB 1600Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair cx600w
Default 12-02-2013, 06:00 | posts: 64 | Location: Minneapolis,Mn USA

I'm super happy with the performance thus far on my rig, with Win7. REALLY thinking of taking the leap to Win8 tho if I can get 10-20 more fps off the bat. Decisions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 12-02-2013, 06:20 | posts: 1,822

You don't have to upgrade to W8, make a dual-boot system or use the another hard drive to install W8 for testing purposes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-02-2013, 06:59 | posts: 7,358 | Location: Sunny Scotland

nice post OP, just what I was wanting to know, never mind the poo pooers and ffs don't apologize to anyone.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Mike2004
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia/Asus 780 GTX SLI
Processor: Intel i7 980 X6 @ 3.72
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: 12 GB DDR3 @ 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DSX
PSU: Antec 1200
Default 12-02-2013, 07:25 | posts: 40 | Location: Alberta Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dillinger View Post
On Win7 did you have core parking disabled?
Yes. I had my cores unparked on W7 and now on W8.

Quote:
It's not dramatic at all, but would be nice if you could apologize for that.

huh? Apologize for what? I'm assuming your understanding of English isn't very good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 12-02-2013, 09:58 | posts: 2,960 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dPlayer View Post
It's not dramatic at all, but would be nice if you could apologize for that.
Apologize for what?

Thin ice bud, thin ice.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
PinchedNerve
Master Guru
 
PinchedNerve's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780 GHz Ed
Processor: Core i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16 Gigs Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Denon AVR-1913
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 12-02-2013, 11:52 | posts: 176 | Location: Florida

If anyone want's to know the difference between Win 7 and 8 in BF4, Hard OCP did a review.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Amaze
Maha Guru
 
Amaze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 670 WF3
Processor: Intel 2500K @4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Coolermaster v700
Default 12-02-2013, 15:26 | posts: 1,432 | Location: Norway

BF4 may be an improvement but everything else isn't. Amirite?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
The Janitor
Maha Guru
 
The Janitor's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX 850W
Default 12-02-2013, 15:58 | posts: 1,010 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by PinchedNerve View Post
If anyone want's to know the difference between Win 7 and 8 in BF4, Hard OCP did a review.
This part is interesting:

Quote:
Under Windows 7, we experienced choppiness as we played. This was felt both in the "Test Range" map, and in multiplayer gaming sessions. The choppiness was more pronounced on the GeForce GTX 780. We could get on a straight path, in the "Test Range" and move down a straight road. As we did this, there would be a pause, or chop, in the frames randomly. It was like the game was hitching for no reason. This happened more on the GTX 780. This is under Windows 7.

When we tried this on Windows 8.1 the pausing, or hitching, or chop (however you want to describe it) was completely gone. Moving was smoother with no hitching in the game on the GTX 780. This affected both the test range and the multiplayer gaming session.
I have that stutter, even though my framerate is high. But I really don't want Win 8, guess I'll have to install it on another drive and only use that for BF4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-02-2013, 15:58 | posts: 7,765 | Location: Urban`Jungle

imo its ok in general, every part is better.

Last edited by -Tj-; 12-02-2013 at 21:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
danfim
Master Guru
 
danfim's Avatar
 
Videocard: 280X (placeholder)
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Pro
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Toughpower 1200W
Default 12-02-2013, 16:02 | posts: 361 | Location: Finland

I already had Windowblinds so I got Start8 aswell, haven't seen any of that Modern UI stuff since then.

ClassicShell and Startisback are good free alternatives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-02-2013, 16:08 | posts: 10,479 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by danfim View Post

ClassicShell and Startisback are good free alternatives.
This i could never use Win8 without classic shell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 12-02-2013, 16:42 | posts: 8,020 | Location: UK

yep have found same thing as well op (coming from vista64).

def not placebo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mr_Alexander
Maha Guru
 
Mr_Alexander's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780ti
Processor: i7920@3.6 Coolmaster V8
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE EXTREME II
Memory: OCZ PC-12800 1600MHS GOLD
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi™ Forte 7
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000
Default 12-02-2013, 17:02 | posts: 1,810 | Location: TORONTO, CANADA

I also switched from W7 64 to W8.1 64 this weekend.
I expected that I would get some improvements in BF4 but I did not expect it would be so huge.

My settings are

NVIDIA driver 331.82
1920x1080
Everything on High except terrain on Medium
Post processing OFF
No AA
HBAO OFF

W7 I was getting around 100 FPS with constant drops to mid 50s

W8 I am getting 150 FPS and it never drops below 90.
So I locked my FPS in user config at 70.

I would never switched to W8 if not for BF4 since I read so many hate posts about W8. Now after I installed it I really like it. I installed this Start8 program and everything is perfect now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
ALPINEST4RS
Member Guru
 
ALPINEST4RS's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gbyte 7970 GHZ 3GB
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS3 8GB DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair Enthusiast 750w
Default 12-02-2013, 17:08 | posts: 139 | Location: Brighton, MI USA

I switched with huge gains also. Still crashing though (bf4 stopped working). I also noticed some of my other games (fc3, bioshock inf) have also gained a little bit too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Talking 12-02-2013, 17:34 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike2004 View Post
huh? Apologize for what? I'm assuming your understanding of English isn't very good.
I was messing with you. Gotcha.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
zimzoid
Maha Guru
 
zimzoid's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUSdc2 780Sli-Asus Swift
Processor: i7 4930K/Corsair H110
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Ed
Memory: GSkillRipjawsZ4x4 2133mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx Denon Klipsch 5.1
PSU: CM V1200w Platinum
Default 12-02-2013, 18:13 | posts: 894 | Location: New Zealand

Yes I noticed the huge difference in bf4 as well when I upgraded a few weeks ago, also finding 8.1 way better than w7 I have zero issues with it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 12-02-2013, 18:18 | posts: 642

Quote:
Originally Posted by PinchedNerve View Post
If anyone want's to know the difference between Win 7 and 8 in BF4, Hard OCP did a review.
PCgameshardware.de as well
http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Battle...s-CPU-1095298/


I hate upgrading an OS for one game only, especially when Windows 8 is the only alternative, so I put my hopes to Mantle
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
CalinTM
Maha Guru
 
CalinTM's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Geil Black Dragon 8Gb XMP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Enermax Platimax 850W
Default 12-02-2013, 18:31 | posts: 1,123 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

I think windows 8.0 is better than 8.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
superkickstart
Newbie
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 780
Processor: Core i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 12-02-2013, 20:44 | posts: 20

Well currently there really isn't better os for gaming than windows 8.1 and i'm definitely happy with it. I have ubuntu based custom linux desktop on dualboot but i rarely go there. I'll switch to linux/steamos as main os someday but windows it is for now.

I actually like the new start screen more than the old start menu. In 7 i mostly used the start menu as quick launch for couple of less used software and everything else was in task bar. In 8, the start screen is actually more usable and the old menu now feels clumsy and slow to use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-02-2013, 21:02 | posts: 7,765 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Alexander View Post
I also switched from W7 64 to W8.1 64 this weekend.
I expected that I would get some improvements in BF4 but I did not expect it would be so huge.

My settings are

NVIDIA driver 331.82
1920x1080
Everything on High except terrain on Medium
Post processing OFF
No AA
HBAO OFF

W7 I was getting around 100 FPS with constant drops to mid 50s

W8 I am getting 150 FPS and it never drops below 90.
So I locked my FPS in user config at 70.

I would never switched to W8 if not for BF4 since I read so many hate posts about W8. Now after I installed it I really like it. I installed this Start8 program and everything is perfect now.
Now enable at least 2xaa, ssao and all default ultra/high and postaa off.

You have a 780Ti, it has enough muscle..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.