Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What FPS should i expect in AC: 4 Black Flag with GTX780ti?
Old
  (#1)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default What FPS should i expect in AC: 4 Black Flag with GTX780ti? - 11-26-2013, 11:22 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

So i'm waiting for my copy of AC4: Black Flag to arrive and was wondering if anyone owning a GTX780ti could share their performance experience with this GPU/GAME combination. What kind of FPS should i expect at @ 1080p at the setting reccomended for the 780ti here
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 11-26-2013, 11:49 | posts: 1,923 | Location: Estonia

Smooth as butter, it's a 780Ti man, why do you even ask. Probably maxed out smooth as butter 4xmsaa/eqaa, not sure. The game kinda has some optimization issues right now.. If you can force triple buffering and vsync (or only vsync, using both here) with nvinspector. The ingame vsync is buggy or something.

Last edited by Deathchild; 11-26-2013 at 11:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 11-26-2013, 12:39 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Smooth as butter, it's a 780Ti man, why do you even ask. Probably maxed out smooth as butter 4xmsaa/eqaa, not sure. The game kinda has some optimization issues right now.. If you can force triple buffering and vsync (or only vsync, using both here) with nvinspector. The ingame vsync is buggy or something.
Thats the kind of answer i was hoping for !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 11-26-2013, 12:43 | posts: 5,767 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
Thats the kind of answer i was hoping for !
As long as you have that CPU overclocked that is, at stock speeds that CPU will be holding your 780Ti waaay back.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 11-26-2013, 14:42 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
As long as you have that CPU overclocked that is, at stock speeds that CPU will be holding your 780Ti waaay back.
How can i see if thats the case ? CPU utilization during gamely ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 11-26-2013, 14:50 | posts: 5,767 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
How can i see if thats the case ? CPU utilization during gamely ?
Not quite, more like GPU usage is what your looking for.

Run some tests like Unigine Valley Benchmark and crank the settings up to the max and watch your GPU usage if it stays at 99% then you are not bottlenecking.

However, this can change from game title to game title. Also just because it reads 99% and your getting say 60fps average does not mean that is the highest performance you can get. If you overclocked the CPU to say around 3.8GHz+ (4GHz preferred) you would still see 99% usage but you may then get 70fps.

GPU bottlenecks are harder to detect than CPU.

It also matter to monitor CPU usage as well, grab HWMonitor or Afterburner and run a number of games. After play jump out the game with ALT+TAB if any of the cores on the CPU is at 100% you hit a bottleneck. This can happen when games are poorly coded for multi core or the game just needs more GHz.

Hope I explained it alright for you. Others on here will probably explain it better than I can.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
gunrunner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GigaByte Windforce 780ti
Processor: i5-4670k @ 4.5ghz 1.223v
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme 3
Memory: Gskill Sniper 1866mhz 8gb
Soundcard: Plantronics 780 7.1
PSU: Thermaltake 850w Bronze
Default 11-26-2013, 15:00 | posts: 156 | Location: Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
As long as you have that CPU overclocked that is, at stock speeds that CPU will be holding your 780Ti waaay back.
That is a non k series cpu, he can't overclock it. He will only have issues if the game is cpu bound. BF4 is purely gpu bound, not sure about the game he is referring to.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 11-27-2013, 06:22 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Not quite, more like GPU usage is what your looking for.

Run some tests like Unigine Valley Benchmark and crank the settings up to the max and watch your GPU usage if it stays at 99% then you are not bottlenecking.

However, this can change from game title to game title. Also just because it reads 99% and your getting say 60fps average does not mean that is the highest performance you can get. If you overclocked the CPU to say around 3.8GHz+ (4GHz preferred) you would still see 99% usage but you may then get 70fps.

GPU bottlenecks are harder to detect than CPU.

It also matter to monitor CPU usage as well, grab HWMonitor or Afterburner and run a number of games. After play jump out the game with ALT+TAB if any of the cores on the CPU is at 100% you hit a bottleneck. This can happen when games are poorly coded for multi core or the game just needs more GHz.

Hope I explained it alright for you. Others on here will probably explain it better than I can.
I bumped my CPU up from 3.0GHz to 3.8GHz and in some games my GPU usage is 99% and others it ranges from 50% to 70% but i haven't noticed any increase in performance with the bump in CPU frequency.

Last edited by V@IO; 11-27-2013 at 06:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 11-27-2013, 11:45 | posts: 3,917 | Location: Australia

A 'FSB' speed of ~102.3 (if you can set it that precise) I think can be beneficial. Note that will overclock everything tied to it, including the PCI-E interface and the memory. It's a setting that generally isn't recommended because it fails with overclocks at quite low rates (like even at 105), but 102.33 should be fine.

So, what does that 2.3 percent extra mean? Well, 43*102.3 for me is the same as 44*100, for instance. It is faster for me to be at 43*102.33 than 44*100.

Note that some people have no success with overclocking it, others do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 11-27-2013, 11:56 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
A 'FSB' speed of ~102.3 (if you can set it that precise) I think can be beneficial. Note that will overclock everything tied to it, including the PCI-E interface and the memory. It's a setting that generally isn't recommended because it fails with overclocks at quite low rates (like even at 105), but 102.33 should be fine.

So, what does that 2.3 percent extra mean? Well, 43*102.3 for me is the same as 44*100, for instance. It is faster for me to be at 43*102.33 than 44*100.

Note that some people have no success with overclocking it, others do.
Mine is currently running at 36*105 should i change it ? Keep in mind i dont have "k" series CPU so my multiplier can only go up to 36 max.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
AC_Avatar100400
Master Guru
 
AC_Avatar100400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 ACX 1440p
Processor: I7 2700k 4.5 Ghz 1.32v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPower
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: I Burnt it in a Fire Lol
PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 750w
Default 11-27-2013, 13:55 | posts: 300 | Location: Australia

Waiting for my GTX 780 to arrive but with a single 7950 i can tell you know maxed 60fps at 1080p should be done with your cpu at 3.8 ghz.

You mite find your current cpu holding you back in some games i noticed this myself with the 3470 @ 3.8 so the exact same speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
HitechAshu
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gt-630(15%OC) 2GB
Processor: Core I5-3330
Mainboard: AsRock H71M-DGS
Memory: 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 255W
Default 12-04-2013, 13:10 | posts: 4 | Location: India

Hey Mate V@io,
Can you tell me what CPU Cooler are you using and have you changed voltages with overclock in your CPU?
As for AC4,it has some problems with optimisation,and as far as I have seen,Godray Lights is a FPS killer,so first try putting it off and max everything else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 12-04-2013, 13:15 | posts: 486 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

Quote:
Originally Posted by HitechAshu View Post
Hey Mate V@io,
Can you tell me what CPU Cooler are you using and have you changed voltages with overclock in your CPU?
As for AC4,it has some problems with optimisation,and as far as I have seen,Godray Lights is a FPS killer,so first try putting it off and max everything else.
Heya,I have a Zalman CNPS-9000, i havent changed the voltage at all. I run AC4 maxed @ 1080p with the exception of Godrays, which is on low, and MSAA on 2X. Everything else is maxed out. Constant 60FPS which is the games FPS cap it seems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
HitechAshu
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gt-630(15%OC) 2GB
Processor: Core I5-3330
Mainboard: AsRock H71M-DGS
Memory: 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 255W
Default 12-04-2013, 15:42 | posts: 4 | Location: India

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
Heya,I have a Zalman CNPS-9000, i havent changed the voltage at all. I run AC4 maxed @ 1080p with the exception of Godrays, which is on low, and MSAA on 2X. Everything else is maxed out. Constant 60FPS which is the games FPS cap it seems.
As far as I know,the FPS ain't capped,but it doesnt matter as you have(I'm assuming) a 60Hz monitor,so anything above 60Fps wont make a diffence.
Also,do you mind sharing your CPU temp under full load?
Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti SLI G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790k 4.9ghz
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII GENE Z97
Memory: Corsair 2400mhz 16gb Pro
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 12-05-2013, 11:33 | posts: 1,192 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
Heya,I have a Zalman CNPS-9000, i havent changed the voltage at all. I run AC4 maxed @ 1080p with the exception of Godrays, which is on low, and MSAA on 2X. Everything else is maxed out. Constant 60FPS which is the games FPS cap it seems.
You clearly haven't compleated the game you will soon need to turn the x2msaa to fxaa trust me on this if you plan to keep a constant 60fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 12-05-2013, 11:40 | posts: 819 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
Mine is currently running at 36*105 should i change it ? Keep in mind i dont have "k" series CPU so my multiplier can only go up to 36 max.
Does overclocking the BLK still also overclock the disk controller? If so, I would avoid like the plague because it means you are constantly risking disk corruption.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti ACX @1252/7600
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 4,4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 12-05-2013, 14:31 | posts: 1,109 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
So i'm waiting for my copy of AC4: Black Flag to arrive and was wondering if anyone owning a GTX780ti could share their performance experience with this GPU/GAME combination. What kind of FPS should i expect at @ 1080p at the setting reccomended for the 780ti here
I'd say max everything out and use TXAAx4. If my cards can handle it, so can yours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGgamesplayer View Post
You clearly haven't compleated the game you will soon need to turn the x2msaa to fxaa trust me on this if you plan to keep a constant 60fps
Are you referring to the first attack on a fort? That's the only slowdown I've experienced so far (a LOT of smoke). But the slow downs were brief
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.