Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX test and review [Guru3D.com]
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX test and review [Guru3D.com] - 11-26-2013, 06:46 | posts: 20,460 | Location: Guru3D testlab

We review the EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX. Oh and hey, SC means a factory overclock - this thing is fast! NVIDIA unlocked the GPU completely meaning all 2880 Shader processors are avai...

EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX test and review
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX680Lightning
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 11-26-2013, 07:02 | posts: 4,364 | Location: Romania

Great review, beastly card, and again it's a shame it only has 3GB vram. This card would be pretty future proof otherwise.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
shymi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GT 540M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-450M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 6 cell 4400 mAh battery
Default 11-26-2013, 07:15 | posts: 23

Awesome review - keep up the great work!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ClexRex
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 780 Classified / R9 290
Processor: Intel 4770k 4.9ghz 1.45v
Mainboard: MSI Mpower Max
Memory: Adata 8gb 2600
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Corsair AX860 Plat.
Default 11-26-2013, 12:33 | posts: 88

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
Great review, beastly card, and again it's a shame it only has 3GB vram. This card would be pretty future proof otherwise.
If it had 4gb I might consider swapping it out over my 780 Classified...but as it gets less than overall 10 FPS...I see no reason...

My gtx 780 classified is already around 2500mb in BF4
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX680Lightning
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 11-26-2013, 12:55 | posts: 4,364 | Location: Romania

Same here, although I do want to upgrade, I don't want to be vram chocked again by this time next year when "next gen" games will be out and I'm 100% sure they will be more and more vram hungry, and I'm playing at 2560x1440.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ClexRex
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 780 Classified / R9 290
Processor: Intel 4770k 4.9ghz 1.45v
Mainboard: MSI Mpower Max
Memory: Adata 8gb 2600
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Corsair AX860 Plat.
Default 11-26-2013, 13:54 | posts: 88

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
Same here, although I do want to upgrade, I don't want to be vram chocked again by this time next year when "next gen" games will be out and I'm 100% sure they will be more and more vram hungry, and I'm playing at 2560x1440.
Very true...im also on 1440p and noticed BF4 alone is around 2500mb for me...so I can only see in next couple years that going up...

My next card will be 4gb min. for now on
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
negachampa
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Ti SLI
Processor: Intel 3930K @4.6
Mainboard: Asus P9 x79 Pro
Memory: 32 GB
Soundcard: X-fi Forte 7.1
PSU: OCZ 1250W
Default 11-26-2013, 15:25 | posts: 54

Very impressive, but is still over priced.

This should be priced at around $600.

plus only 3GB of VRAM?

I am getting close to the 4GB on my 290s in BF4 @ 1600p with the resolution slider at 160%.

I never understood why you can buy the 760s and 770s with 4 GB but their higher end models only have 3GB VRAM, it doesn't make sense to me. Unless there is a tech limitation or something preventing 4GB on the 780s.

Last edited by negachampa; 11-26-2013 at 16:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
KwameJackson
Newbie
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: i7 920 4233mhz
Mainboard: MSI Eclipse Plus
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200Watt
Default 11-26-2013, 18:15 | posts: 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by negachampa View Post
Very impressive, but is still over priced.

This should be priced at around $600.

plus only 3GB of VRAM?

I am getting close to the 4GB on my 290s in BF4 @ 1600p with the resolution slider at 160%.

I never understood why you can buy the 760s and 770s with 4 GB but their higher end models only have 3GB VRAM, it doesn't make sense to me. Unless there is a tech limitation or something preventing 4GB on the 780s.
There is no limitation in ripping people off. They know that as soon as gamers get a 4k monitor, they will want to get a new gpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 11-26-2013, 18:45 | posts: 5,453

Quote:
Originally Posted by negachampa View Post
I never understood why you can buy the 760s and 770s with 4 GB but their higher end models only have 3GB VRAM, it doesn't make sense to me. Unless there is a tech limitation or something preventing 4GB on the 780s.
It is a technical limitation. The memory bus on 760/770 is 256bit and the memory chips have to be divisible by that: 256mb x 8 chips for 2gb (2048mb) or 128mb x 8 for 1gb or 512mb x 8 for 4gb. If asymmetrical, it loses efficiency/performance. The 780/ti/Titan have 384bit busses which in the same way can only be 3/6gb. There are ways around it and exceptions to the rule (ie, 660ti with 192bit bus/2gb), but I dont think Nvidia is keen to do this on their upper end cards.

Same applies to AMDs cards: 290/x = 512bit bus, 4gb. 7950/7970 = 384bit, 3gb cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
negachampa
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Ti SLI
Processor: Intel 3930K @4.6
Mainboard: Asus P9 x79 Pro
Memory: 32 GB
Soundcard: X-fi Forte 7.1
PSU: OCZ 1250W
Default 11-26-2013, 21:08 | posts: 54

Ahh, thanks for the info
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX680Lightning
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 11-27-2013, 06:43 | posts: 4,364 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
It is a technical limitation. The memory bus on 760/770 is 256bit and the memory chips have to be divisible by that: 256mb x 8 chips for 2gb (2048mb) or 128mb x 8 for 1gb or 512mb x 8 for 4gb. If asymmetrical, it loses efficiency/performance. The 780/ti/Titan have 384bit busses which in the same way can only be 3/6gb. There are ways around it and exceptions to the rule (ie, 660ti with 192bit bus/2gb), but I dont think Nvidia is keen to do this on their upper end cards.

Same applies to AMDs cards: 290/x = 512bit bus, 4gb. 7950/7970 = 384bit, 3gb cards.
I figured it must be something like that (tech limitation), it would not have made sense otherwise. Thanks for sharing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 11-27-2013, 19:05 | posts: 3,198 | Location: USA

Even those high end beast are incapable of keep good fps at UHD and people wonder why they arnt readily available, And why I keep saying they wont be till GPU can actually handle them and not cost 500+.

Though on the 1080p those cards should run circles around my card, But 1080p test seem to be missing from those tests and 1080p isnt going anywhere any time soon

Last edited by tsunami231; 11-27-2013 at 19:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pale Rider
Newbie
 
Pale Rider's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA TITAN Black
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative/Corsair SP 2500
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 01-28-2014, 18:54 | posts: 35 | Location: Holly Ridge, NC USA

Which OC program would be the very best choice for this and other EVGA cards?
EVGA's Precision, or my all time favorite, the latest Beta version of Afterburner?
The difference? EVGA Precision has to stick to whatever mandates Nvidia imposes on it.
Afterburner only answers to its creator.
Precision and Afterburner are similar, but one is not a clone of the other.
There are differences.
BTW, I bought the K|NGP|N Edition of this card:
http://www.evga.com/articles/00813/#Kingpin
This was the closest review I could find for my new card, by a reviewer which I can trust.
Thanks, Hilbert!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.