Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Western Digital SSD and HDD Dual Drive Hybrid
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Western Digital SSD and HDD Dual Drive Hybrid - 11-25-2013, 13:25 | posts: 21,016 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Western DigitalÂ*announced the release of the WD Black2 dual drive, a unique storage innovation that fuses a 2.5-inch 120 GB solid state drive (SSD) with a 1 TB hard disk drive (HDD) to offer a powerf...

Western Digital SSD and HDD Dual Drive Hybrid
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
huilun02
Master Guru
 
huilun02's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost OC
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 G1 Sniper M3
Memory: Corsair Veng 1600MHz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard Creative Recon3Di
PSU: Seasonic X 650W Gold
Default 11-25-2013, 15:14 | posts: 178 | Location: Singapore

2 drives 1 cable. I wonder how it will affect max read/write speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SirDremor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX680 2Gb
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 3x2Gb
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 11-25-2013, 15:47 | posts: 269 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Errrmm, what?

I clearly remember WD telling that its new hybrid Blacks will use special caching software... looks like either they couldn't get it working or the results were poor...
I am not happy at all with such "solution" =(

Yes, this drive has some potential market, but its value is hugely diminished for me... Also - Jmicron controller... 2 available volumes over one connection... (I am not saying it will be saturated, I am more worried about the complexity of tech\firmware of doing so...)

Well, let's wait for benchmarks and reviews... also some benchmarks of available current SSD caching software will be nice...


Update: May be this Black^2 is simply another category of drives?... and we will see a "proper" Hybrid Black in the nearest future...

Last edited by SirDremor; 11-25-2013 at 15:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 11-25-2013, 18:08 | posts: 16,440 | Location: US East Coast

$299 is too expensive. You can buy a 120GB SSD and 1TB mechanical, separately, for less.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 11-25-2013, 18:19 | posts: 1,419 | Location: Japan, Soka

I don't get hybrid drivers.

User himself knows better what frequent software he/she uses and what requires speed.
Buying separate HDD/SSD as sykozis mentioned, makes much more sense.



Last edited by sverek; 11-25-2013 at 18:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 11-25-2013, 18:56 | posts: 3,955 | Location: Finland

those 8gb ssd with 2tb drives at 120€ are pretty good for gaming imo. faster then traditional huge drives and way cheaper then ssd's by far and offer nice speed boost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
automaticman
Maha Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 11-25-2013, 19:23 | posts: 815 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
$299 is too expensive. You can buy a 120GB SSD and 1TB mechanical, separately, for less.

Yeah, but you can't fit them both into a laptop with only 1 2.5" drive slot.

Also, PCPer has a nice review with benchmarks:

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Storage...gle-25-package
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Kaarme
Newbie
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX560 Ti TOP
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LE Plus
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 11-25-2013, 19:49 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by automaticman View Post
Yeah, but you can't fit them both into a laptop with only 1 2.5" drive slot.
That's exactly it. I don't know why anybody would put them in desktops (unless it's some tiny mATX box), but I might be interested in getting one of these for my 15" laptop with only a single HD slot. But the price would need to be a bit more interesting, and partially for that reason 120+500 would be enough for me. Since I would just get a 250GB SSD otherwise, due to pricing and the fact I don't need so much space.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
D1RTYD1Z619
Newbie
 
D1RTYD1Z619's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Intel I7-2600K @ 4.2
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD3-iSSD
Memory: Patriot Viper DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatality Pro
PSU: Antec HCP-1200
Default 11-26-2013, 14:57 | posts: 14 | Location: San Diego,CA

Rumor has it that this is to thick to even fit in a laptops hdd bay.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Andrew LB
Master Guru
 
Andrew LB's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 780 ti @ 1,143mhz
Processor: i5-4670K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z87 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 11-28-2013, 04:59 | posts: 422 | Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
$299 is too expensive. You can buy a 120GB SSD and 1TB mechanical, separately, for less.
Yeah, But does your laptop have room for two hard drives? most don't.

Also, I can see this being a good solution for people with a PS4 once the price gets a little better. Well... that's if the PS4 will allow a drive like this to function.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Andrew LB
Master Guru
 
Andrew LB's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 780 ti @ 1,143mhz
Processor: i5-4670K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z87 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 11-28-2013, 05:01 | posts: 422 | Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia

Quote:
Originally Posted by D1RTYD1Z619 View Post
Rumor has it that this is to thick to even fit in a laptops hdd bay.
Rumor has it you just made that up out of thin air. If you read the article, it clearly says the drive fits in 9.5mm high locations.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.