Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
gtx 690 issues
Old
  (#1)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default gtx 690 issues - 11-24-2013, 20:26 | posts: 9

Hey, I've been having problems with my computer for a pretty long time, FPS wise. I suspect something is wrong with my GPU, but it also might be some different problem, I'm not sure.

My rig is i7 3770k 4 ghz, asus z77 mobo, 16 gb ram, 750W corsair PSU and so on. And performance isn't as good as I'd expect. I do have newest drivers, my temps are good, something is either wrong with settings or hardware. FPS in bf4 is pretty bad, and it stutters as well, fps in Arma 3 is about 30-40 even on low, and it stutters as well.



Any tips, anything I should check/do?

Thanks

Last edited by PetrP; 11-24-2013 at 21:29.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-25-2013, 00:31 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Google tweaks and fixes for Bf4, Arma is just a resource hog and wont really be totally playable fully maxxed out until more advanced tech comes about, abit like Crysis was. Arma will mature in years to come, Bf4 can be fixed though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 11-25-2013, 11:17 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Google tweaks and fixes for Bf4, Arma is just a resource hog and wont really be totally playable fully maxxed out until more advanced tech comes about, abit like Crysis was. Arma will mature in years to come, Bf4 can be fixed though.
IIRC I was playing ARMA 3 on my previous 690@1150 at solid 60FPS or the my previous 780@1267 with a solid 55-60fps but I had lower the visibility a little and did some graphics settings tweak. Obviously I had forfeit a bit quality on the 780 vs the 690.

Quality on both above cards was on mixed of High/Highest/Ultra settings but I had to play with those 2 Visibility options(Overall, Object) and eventually had them at about 60-65% each. Maximizing those was dropping my FPS from 60 to 45-50fps.

Might not be exactly how it was but that all I remember while playing it.

But as Veteran said and I agree, that game is just a fricking resource hog.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-25-2013, 12:08 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
IIRC I was playing ARMA 3 on my previous 690@1150 at solid 60FPS or the my previous 780@1267 with a solid 55-60fps but I had lower the visibility a little and did some graphics settings tweak. Obviously I had forfeit a bit quality on the 780 vs the 690.

Quality on both above cards was on mixed of High/Highest/Ultra settings but I had to play with those 2 Visibility options(Overall, Object) and eventually had them at about 60-65% each. Maximizing those was dropping my FPS from 60 to 45-50fps.

Might not be exactly how it was but that all I remember while playing it.

But as Veteran said and I agree, that game is just a fricking resource hog.
The 690 aint much better mate while playing arma 3, turning everything up to max brings the card to its knees. Its gonna be a while until the game is played comfortably by the mainstream. Once this happens the game will really shine.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
chr!s
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus p8z77
Memory: 6 GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair 850hx
Default 11-25-2013, 12:59 | posts: 61 | Location: South Africa

Hi Petrp,

I've got a similar HW setup, but unfortunitely do not have BF4 or arma...
What resolution are you playing at?
Are there any other games, benchmarks you've got issues with?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-25-2013, 14:08 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
The 690 aint much better mate while playing arma 3, turning everything up to max brings the card to its knees. Its gonna be a while until the game is played comfortably by the mainstream. Once this happens the game will really shine.



Sure, Arma 3 is demanding but 35-40 FPS ON NORMAL? and It's stuttering, almost unplayable, same BF4, same world of tanks..I'm working quite a lot with 3DS max and blender, and those are working fine. But when it's about gaming, my pc acts like ****.

Last edited by PetrP; 11-25-2013 at 14:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-25-2013, 14:14 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by chr!s View Post
Hi Petrp,

I've got a similar HW setup, but unfortunitely do not have BF4 or arma...
What resolution are you playing at?
Are there any other games, benchmarks you've got issues with?
Well both 1920×1080 and 2560x1440, but obviously 2560x1440 is too much for my PC since it isn't working right.

Suggest me some benchmark and I'll see what numbers I'm getting..if it's comparable to your PC or not..would be great, thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 11-25-2013, 14:43 | posts: 5,201 | Location: FLA,USA

Running out of VRAM sounds like.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-25-2013, 14:57 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
Sure, Arma 3 is demanding but 35-40 FPS ON NORMAL? and It's stuttering, almost unplayable, same BF4, same world of tanks..I'm working quite a lot with 3DS max and blender, and those are working fine. But when it's about gaming, my pc acts like ****.
Bf4 and world of tanks on my pc is smooth as silk.
Download and unpark your cpu from here...
http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

Also look at bf4 cfg. file using google and pop it into your root directory of bf4.
Windows 8 also is great for Bf4.

These fixes should see you good.

Last edited by Veteran; 11-25-2013 at 16:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-25-2013, 17:01 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Bf4 and world of tanks on my pc is smooth as silk.
Download and unpark your cpu from here...
http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

Also look at bf4 cfg. file using google and pop it into your root directory of bf4.
Windows 8 also is great for Bf4.

These fixes should see you good.
Thanks, I'll try it as soon as the creator updates the program, should be soon.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 11-25-2013, 17:41 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
The 690 aint much better mate while playing arma 3, turning everything up to max brings the card to its knees. Its gonna be a while until the game is played comfortably by the mainstream. Once this happens the game will really shine.
I didn't say anything about: "turning everything up to max".

Please read my post more carefully my friend. I think it was pretty clear what was the quality settings. I even explain a little of what quality settings I used/fiddle with.

I didn't say anything about maxing the game. I even said that I had agreed with you.

Last edited by Koniakki; 11-25-2013 at 17:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-25-2013, 18:25 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
I didn't say anything about: "turning everything up to max".

Please read my post more carefully my friend. I think it was pretty clear what was the quality settings. I even explain a little of what quality settings I used/fiddle with.

I didn't say anything about maxing the game. I even said that I had agreed with you.
I know you didnt, im saying that it does cause its the truth
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-25-2013, 18:26 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
Thanks, I'll try it as soon as the creator updates the program, should be soon.
Ity works fine the current release, you dont need to wait, also dont use the beta version, use the last release before the beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mr_Alexander
Maha Guru
 
Mr_Alexander's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780ti
Processor: i7920@3.6 Coolmaster V8
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE EXTREME II
Memory: OCZ PC-12800 1600MHS GOLD
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi™ Forte 7
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000
Default 11-25-2013, 19:13 | posts: 1,790 | Location: TORONTO, CANADA

Hi.
I cannot tell about Arma3. There is one thing I did that helped me to get rid of stuttering and FPS pikes in BF4.
I assume you have 331.82 driver installed. First when I installed this driver I installed driver itself, Physx, NVIDIA Experience and 3D Vision driver too. I had huge FPS spikes and stuttering. It took me a week to figure out. So I uninstalled the driver, physx, 3D vision driver and NVIDIA Experience. Then I did clean install of the Graphics driver and physx only. No 3D Vision or NVIDIA Experience. All problems are gone. Plays very nice and Smooth now.
I cannot guarantee it will help you too but try and see.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
chr!s
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus p8z77
Memory: 6 GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair 850hx
Default 11-26-2013, 07:29 | posts: 61 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
Well both 1920×1080 and 2560x1440, but obviously 2560x1440 is too much for my PC since it isn't working right.

Suggest me some benchmark and I'll see what numbers I'm getting..if it's comparable to your PC or not..would be great, thanks!
3Dmark, the firestrike benchmark will give you a good idea. You should be scoring around 9500 points, anything less than about 9000, there could be a SW or HW issue.
3Dmark is about 25USD
There is also a basic edition which is free, it seems to include the firestrike benchmark.
Maybe some else on the forums can suggest a free benchmarking utility together with expected scores for your HW configuration...
(Guru3d has a download section with some benchmark tools...)

I'd also suggest downloading the latest version of Process Explorer (v15.40 at the moment). This tool gives nice graphs on GPU utilitisation as well as GPU memory utilisation. Keep it running in the background while playing your games, then ALT-TAB, and check to see if CPU/GPU/Mem are causing a bottleneck ...
Afterburner is also another good tool for similar troubleshooting...

(This is all in aid of establishing whether you have a general HW/SW issue or if it's isolated to the 2 or 3 games you are currently playing ...)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-26-2013, 16:04 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Bf4 and world of tanks on my pc is smooth as silk.
Download and unpark your cpu from here...
http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

Also look at bf4 cfg. file using google and pop it into your root directory of bf4.
Windows 8 also is great for Bf4.

These fixes should see you good.
Well, my cores were already unparked. Must have done that months ago..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-26-2013, 16:05 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Alexander View Post
Hi.
I cannot tell about Arma3. There is one thing I did that helped me to get rid of stuttering and FPS pikes in BF4.
I assume you have 331.82 driver installed. First when I installed this driver I installed driver itself, Physx, NVIDIA Experience and 3D Vision driver too. I had huge FPS spikes and stuttering. It took me a week to figure out. So I uninstalled the driver, physx, 3D vision driver and NVIDIA Experience. Then I did clean install of the Graphics driver and physx only. No 3D Vision or NVIDIA Experience. All problems are gone. Plays very nice and Smooth now.
I cannot guarantee it will help you too but try and see.
Actually, this helped a little. Not much, but a little, but I'm happy for at least some improvement, thanks dude!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-26-2013, 16:07 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by chr!s View Post
3Dmark, the firestrike benchmark will give you a good idea. You should be scoring around 9500 points, anything less than about 9000, there could be a SW or HW issue.
3Dmark is about 25USD
There is also a basic edition which is free, it seems to include the firestrike benchmark.
Maybe some else on the forums can suggest a free benchmarking utility together with expected scores for your HW configuration...
(Guru3d has a download section with some benchmark tools...)

I'd also suggest downloading the latest version of Process Explorer (v15.40 at the moment). This tool gives nice graphs on GPU utilitisation as well as GPU memory utilisation. Keep it running in the background while playing your games, then ALT-TAB, and check to see if CPU/GPU/Mem are causing a bottleneck ...
Afterburner is also another good tool for similar troubleshooting...

(This is all in aid of establishing whether you have a general HW/SW issue or if it's isolated to the 2 or 3 games you are currently playing ...)
Thanks, I'll try to get 3Dmark, I had a free version of it but it's gone unfortunately, and I'll download Process Explorer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-26-2013, 16:33 | posts: 9

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/qoitvqd

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/jpvjunv

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/hxudlng

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/xvbsrjq

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/ldbnyhy

Screenshots from process explorer while playing BF4 siege of shanghai, conquest 64 large, ultra. (Pretty much the most demanding map)

GPU and CPU usage seem to be pretty low, pretty much about 60% the whole time...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-26-2013, 18:19 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
Well, my cores were already unparked. Must have done that months ago..
Well do it again just to make sure
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
chr!s
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus p8z77
Memory: 6 GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair 850hx
Default 11-27-2013, 07:17 | posts: 61 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
http://screenshooter.net/9705817/qoitvqd

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/jpvjunv

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/hxudlng

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/xvbsrjq

http://screenshooter.net/9705817/ldbnyhy

Screenshots from process explorer while playing BF4 siege of shanghai, conquest 64 large, ultra. (Pretty much the most demanding map)

GPU and CPU usage seem to be pretty low, pretty much about 60% the whole time...

Try lowering your AA settings or turning it off completely...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
PetrP
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce gtx 690
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 11-27-2013, 17:06 | posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Well do it again just to make sure
Done, still no change
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1866
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 11-27-2013, 18:23 | posts: 9,957 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrP View Post
Done, still no change
Windows 8 or 8.1 and cfg. is what you need.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.