Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Best option for 5.1 via spdif
Old
  (#1)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default Best option for 5.1 via spdif - 11-19-2013, 13:52 | posts: 1,032 | Location: Washington

So kind of a wierd question for you guys.

As it sits right now I have an Asus Xonar DG which was great compared to my mobo audio, especially when it was just my headphones and a pair of $10 speakers that didnt piss off my wife.

Long story short: My wife is leaving me (hey you! yes you, stop feeling sorry for me right this instant! Its kinda for the better)

That being said, I will have my place all to myself and was able to FINALLY hook up my pc to my TV and put my 28" next to it for my dual screen setup. Wahoo! Hell, I even got my self a 240 gig ssd for my game drive (have a 60 gig ssd for my OS).

Anyways, on my theater setup I have one of those crappy HTIB systems that only has digital optical or digital coax coming out of it. Having that hooked up to my sound card will only net me Pro Logic which isnt even surround sound but 2 channels "emulating" 5.1 if im correct (not a pro in this field lol).

So it seems my only 2 options are with what I got is either getting an analog speaker setup such as a logitech system or what not but since this is a stupid divorce which will cost money I can afford much so I was looking at the $80 5.1 system they had. But for the same price I could get the Xonar sound card that has the dolby digital live feature that would work with my current system.

My question for all you fine gentlemen (and ladies if any) is what would be the better move here, getting the sound card to work with what i have or get new speakers? Either way, this is no high end setup and I do understand this. Or perhaps im missing something that could be solved in an easier fasion?

Thanks for your time gentle sirs and ladies.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 11-19-2013, 14:11 | posts: 4,284 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerSchniffles View Post
So kind of a wierd question for you guys.

As it sits right now I have an Asus Xonar DG which was great compared to my mobo audio, especially when it was just my headphones and a pair of $10 speakers that didnt piss off my wife.

Long story short: My wife is leaving me (hey you! yes you, stop feeling sorry for me right this instant! Its kinda for the better)

That being said, I will have my place all to myself and was able to FINALLY hook up my pc to my TV and put my 28" next to it for my dual screen setup. Wahoo! Hell, I even got my self a 240 gig ssd for my game drive (have a 60 gig ssd for my OS).

Anyways, on my theater setup I have one of those crappy HTIB systems that only has digital optical or digital coax coming out of it. Having that hooked up to my sound card will only net me Pro Logic which isnt even surround sound but 2 channels "emulating" 5.1 if im correct (not a pro in this field lol).

So it seems my only 2 options are with what I got is either getting an analog speaker setup such as a logitech system or what not but since this is a stupid divorce which will cost money I can afford much so I was looking at the $80 5.1 system they had. But for the same price I could get the Xonar sound card that has the dolby digital live feature that would work with my current system.

My question for all you fine gentlemen (and ladies if any) is what would be the better move here, getting the sound card to work with what i have or get new speakers? Either way, this is no high end setup and I do understand this. Or perhaps im missing something that could be solved in an easier fasion?

Thanks for your time gentle sirs and ladies.
Better off getting speakers and using the DAC in the soundcard via analog

regards
,RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 11-19-2013, 14:18 | posts: 1,032 | Location: Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagDoll_Effect View Post
Better off getting speakers and using the DAC in the soundcard via analog

regards
,RagDoll.

Any recommendations? I mean, I can spend about $100-130 USD if its going to help. It just seems like there is no in between when it comes to computer speakers. It goes from the 80 buck logitech to the 330 buck speakers. Kinda wish there was a good middle ground, but again, Im not gonna be picky with the price point being fairly weak. Thanks again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 11-19-2013, 14:26 | posts: 1,032 | Location: Washington

http://www.amazon.com/Genius-GX-Gami...puter+speakers

anyone had any experience with Genius? Remote is definetely welcome since im on my couch. I would hate to get them if they are crap.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 11-19-2013, 15:17 | posts: 4,284 | Location: Australia

Dude, get this, it has multi channel inputs and is a steal at the price

http://www.amazon.com/VM-Audio-EXMS5...puter+speakers

regard,s
Ragdoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 11-19-2013, 16:45 | posts: 1,032 | Location: Washington

Isnt that system doing what mine already does? I mean it only has the white/red RCA plugs....mine has that 2 but its still only mimicing the effects of 5.1 correct?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 11-19-2013, 17:01 | posts: 4,284 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerSchniffles View Post
Isnt that system doing what mine already does? I mean it only has the white/red RCA plugs....mine has that 2 but its still only mimicing the effects of 5.1 correct?
Nope, if you look at the back photo, it has multi channel inputs for a DVD audio player, or, or a soundcard multi channel analog

Trust me, if you get that and hook it up to your soundcard, you're effectively using the soundcard's DAC, so sound will be awesome. It will destroy any computer speakers...

regards,
Ragdoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MaxBlade
Master Guru
 
MaxBlade's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970/GT770/7970/+ more
Processor: I7, I5 @4.8
Mainboard: Z97x Gigabyte/msi/Asus
Memory: 16g
Soundcard: To many :)
PSU: 1000
Default 11-19-2013, 18:53 | posts: 690

Always takes two. Sometimes we need to bend. Its always worth fighting for. Going on over 30y.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Tacoboy
Master Guru
 
Tacoboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 6870
Processor: Amd Quad 945
Mainboard: Gigabyte 880G
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Essence STX
PSU: Antec 750W
Default 11-19-2013, 22:20 | posts: 290 | Location: Calif.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerSchniffles View Post
Isnt that system doing what mine already does? I mean it only has the white/red RCA plugs....mine has that 2 but its still only mimicing the effects of 5.1 correct?
Get a used Xonar DX or D1 sound card, off eBay.
Or a used Creative Labs Titanium (non-HD) sound card.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.