Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help Plz: 7990 or R9 290x?
Old
  (#1)
brigada
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD
Processor: fx 9590
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200
Default Help Plz: 7990 or R9 290x? - 11-18-2013, 07:43 | posts: 4

Hello everyone, if you can have to help me, I'm undecided, for purchasing a: 7990 or 290x r9. I want a graph, to avoid having to change it in time. i can play it all in, 60 more fps. I hope you can, help me, the 7990, I have crazy fps shooting. Not to do ... Thanks i await your responses.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 11-18-2013, 07:49 | posts: 1,555 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Both can pull 60fps on reasonable settings. Instead of 7990 grab two 7970/50 as it comes cheaper and have same/better performance.

If you do not have 2 free PCIe slots, then get 7990. As there is chance you will have r9-290x with Black Screen Crashes.

It's not necessarily defective card, but none the less some people have issue some don't.
While 7990 is safe and powerful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 11-18-2013, 10:49 | posts: 2,062 | Location: Estonia

Yeah I think I'd agree with that. Or wait for custom 290/x to come out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-18-2013, 12:47 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Well for pure performance it's a no brainer....7990 is much faster. Or 7950/70/280x in CF as mentioned above.

Also I would not touch a reference card....def wait for custom imho. Who knows, AMD may even come out with a refreshed core in 4mths time like with Tahiti.
lol.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-18-2013 at 12:51.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 11-18-2013, 12:50 | posts: 1,822

The 7990(CF 7970) is better if only 3GB(not 6) is enough and if the games support CF. 290x use 4GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-18-2013, 12:53 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dPlayer View Post
The 7990(CF 7970) is better if only 3GB(not 6) is enough and if the games support CF. 290x use 4GB.
How many games do you know of that use over 3GB of vram and don't support CF?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 11-18-2013, 12:54 | posts: 9,284 | Location: UK

I wouldn't buy a 290 at present, they seem to be faulty, black screen crashes as said above.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-18-2013, 15:36 | posts: 26,734 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
How many games do you know of that use over 3GB of vram and don't support CF?
I can answer that, but I'm sure you know the answer. I haven't seen a single game getting anywhere near 3gb vram, no matter what settings I throw at these games. Haven't really messed with Skyrim mods etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 11-18-2013, 15:59 | posts: 1,822

Who said anything about higher settings? How about higher resolution to start with?! You don't even know what is the OP resolution so...

I don't know if he is an experienced user so that was a nice way to tell him that the 7990 uses only 3gb and not 6 as it is advertised.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-18-2013, 16:05 | posts: 26,734 | Location: Hampshire, UK

No matter what settings you use, you'll struggle to get anywhere near 3gb vram usage. At resolutions up to 1600p.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
AcidSnow
Master Guru
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek R9 290X
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUStek P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB 6-6-6-18 @ 1333MHz
Soundcard: 5.1 Klipsch
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 11-18-2013, 18:01 | posts: 326 | Location: Texas

The cheapest I've seen a 7990 was yesterday during one of Amazon's Lightning Deals, it was by Sapphire for $550.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
brigada
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD
Processor: fx 9590
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200
Default 11-18-2013, 20:54 | posts: 4

or is more good purchase a Crosffire Saphire Toxic R9 280x? this crosffire
is better than 7990?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 11-18-2013, 21:01 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by brigada View Post
or is more good purchase a Crosffire Saphire Toxic R9 280x? this crosffire
is better than 7990?
For many reasons yes. But it has the same performance as the 7990.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
brigada
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD
Processor: fx 9590
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200
Default 11-18-2013, 21:56 | posts: 4

who is more good: asus 7990 or saphire 7990?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-18-2013, 22:21 | posts: 26,734 | Location: Hampshire, UK

280x would be better, yes, performance would be some 10%+ better too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 15:21 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Both can pull 60fps on reasonable settings. Instead of 7990 grab two 7970/50 as it comes cheaper and have same/better performance.

If you do not have 2 free PCIe slots, then get 7990. As there is chance you will have r9-290x with Black Screen Crashes.

It's not necessarily defective card, but none the less some people have issue some don't.
While 7990 is safe and powerful.
I have a Sapphire R9 290 that easily overclocks to non-overclocked R9 290X, and I have NO issues with stuttering, black screens, or portions of black screen, even when overclocked.

My computer, R9 290 driver version Beta9.2, Corsair TX650M, motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H, RAM G.Skill 1866 CAS 8, Intel i5 3570K, Creative Sound Blaster Z sound card, 180GB Intel SSD, 2 Western Digital Black hard drives, 1 DVD drive/burner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 15:33 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by brigada View Post
Hello everyone, if you can have to help me, I'm undecided, for purchasing a: 7990 or 290x r9. I want a graph, to avoid having to change it in time. i can play it all in, 60 more fps. I hope you can, help me, the 7990, I have crazy fps shooting. Not to do ... Thanks i await your responses.
I can't believe all of the posts I see about black screens and/or stuttering, and they do not even own an R9 290 or R9 290X.

Stop spreading rumors, the least you can do is post a link if someone expresses a problem online.

I own an R9 290 and it plays everything smoothly, clearly, no black screens, no portions of a black screen, no micro-stuttering, and it overclocks easily to R9 290X performance.

Take a look at the charts supplied by Guru3D's own review, which was made BEFORE the newer and much better Beta9.2 driver was released.

Battlefield 4 page:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,20.html

Conclusion page:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,32.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 15:47 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by brigada View Post
who is more good: asus 7990 or saphire 7990?
The last few video cards I have purchased have been Sapphire. They only produce and sell AMD video cards and are therefore dedicated to making only video cards from one company and their Vapor-X and Toxic versions prove it in both cooling and performance.

Make sure you have at least an 850 watt 80 Plus Certified power supply if you purchase a 7990 or a couple of R9 290s.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 16:07 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Also I would not touch a reference card....def wait for custom imho. Who knows, AMD may even come out with a refreshed core in 4mths time like with Tahiti.
lol.
I have a reference R9 290. There are a few "secrets" to keeping it cool.

First, keep room temperature at around 72 degrees F. Second, have a good case with big fans [ I have a Cooler Master HAF 922 that has three 200mm, one 140mm, plus the power supply exhausting air [two of the 200mm fans push air into the case, the rest exhaust]. Check settings in CCC, save the original, and make one for 85 degrees C temperature and 70% fan setting [mine has never gone close to 70%, even in benchmarks].

Finally, and most people will not do this, however, R9 290 and R9 290X have TIM applied by hand, and too much was added; too much causes heat build up. You can use GEILD GC [I have GEILD GC-Extreme] to replace the original TIM after you have properly removed it.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ency,3678.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-19-2013, 16:09 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by swing848 View Post
I can't believe all of the posts I see about black screens and/or stuttering, and they do not even own an R9 290 or R9 290X.

Stop spreading rumors, the least you can do is post a link if someone expresses a problem online.

I own an R9 290 and it plays everything smoothly, clearly, no black screens, no portions of a black screen, no micro-stuttering, and it overclocks easily to R9 290X performance.
Yep u own a 290 and never had a single issue, obviously that makes u a well informed expert. I agree.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-19-2013, 16:30 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by swing848 View Post
I have a reference R9 290. There are a few "secrets" to keeping it cool.

First, keep room temperature at around 72 degrees F. Second, have a good case with big fans [ I have a Cooler Master HAF 922 that has three 200mm, one 140mm, plus the power supply exhausting air [two of the 200mm fans push air into the case, the rest exhaust]. Check settings in CCC, save the original, and make one for 85 degrees C temperature and 70% fan setting [mine has never gone close to 70%, even in benchmarks].

Finally, and most people will not do this, however, R9 290 and R9 290X have TIM applied by hand, and too much was added; too much causes heat build up. You can use GEILD GC [I have GEILD GC-Extreme] to replace the original TIM after you have properly removed it.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ency,3678.html
Lol...here's a "secret" for you.

I'm a Systems Engineer at Fujitsu NZ, now in case you haven't heard of Fujuitsu, they are the worlds 3rd largest IT Managed Services corporation....(Google managed services).

Normally it would not even be mentioned but...somehow I just felt compelled.....must be something u said.


Earlier yesterday we tested a batch of cards for one of our enterprise clients that were found have faulty components. Guess which cards they were? I'll let you figure that out.....
Btw.....there's a thread on the first page of this forum with 11,500 views and a couple hundred post's about 290x black screens, it's not hard to find.

So I seriously suggest you lose that newbie know it all attitude buddy and lose it fast..... mmmk?

There are quite a few people on this great site that are pretty well informed..... certainly a lot more clued up than you appear to be, It's not nice to say they're talking BS.

All cleared up? Great.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-19-2013 at 16:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Like most of us, I also read.
Old
  (#22)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default Like most of us, I also read. - 11-19-2013, 16:44 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Yep u own a 290 and never had a single issue, obviously that makes u a well informed expert. I agree.....
The title explains itself, Like most of us, I also read.

And, I was in the computer field for many years, and owned my own company. I am now disabled.

However, I did everything from design, build, troubleshoot, consultant, among other duties.

I was an expert in the computer field, and retain much of my education and experience.

I do read and build computers for myself, family, and friends, using only quality components. If they want something overclocked, I do that.

I keep up with what is going on in the computer industry and apply that information to what I build, and to advice given to others, including companies.

I was an expert, and although I no longer own my own company am still an expert when compared to the average computer user.

I do not know what your qualifications are, however.

You could have asked me if I was an expert or phrased your comment differently so as to not be inflammatory. As it is your comment leaves a negative connotation.

Last edited by swing848; 11-19-2013 at 17:19. Reason: Typographical error, the word and to an
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Talking 11-19-2013, 17:09 | posts: 1,822

Pill you forgot this:

Deal with it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 17:17 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Lol...here's a "secret" for you.

I'm a Systems Engineer at Fujitsu NZ, now in case you haven't heard of Fujuitsu, they are the worlds 3rd largest IT Managed Services corporation....(Google managed services).

Normally it would not even be mentioned but...somehow I just felt compelled.....must be something u said.


Earlier yesterday we tested a batch of cards for one of our enterprise clients that were found have faulty components. Guess which cards they were? I'll let you figure that out.....
Btw.....there's a thread on the first page of this forum with 11,500 views and a couple hundred post's about 290x black screens, it's not hard to find.

So I seriously suggest you lose that newbie know it all attitude buddy and lose it fast..... mmmk?

There are quite a few people on this great site that are pretty well informed..... certainly a lot more clued up than you appear to be, It's not nice to say they're talking BS.

All cleared up? Great.
Here we go again.

I am familiar with the 290X black screen issue, and it's debate. As to 11,500 views, that only indicates interest, and that interest most likely comes from individuals interested in information about or are considering purchasing a 290X, it does not reflect a negative response nor does it indiciate that 11,500 people that had those forum views actually have had the black screen problem that you mentioned.

I was going to explain something, however, you have already provided your credentials, and I am unwilling to spend [waste] my time debating that issue until I become more familiar with you, at least through text, in an effort to establish good commentary.

Thank you for telling me what company you work for, however, your statement is condescending.

Simply because I have not posted a great deal here, until recently, does not mean I have no education or experience in the hardware field.

I used to frequent ExtremeTech prior to their latest format, and prior to that 3DFiles until they were purchased and incorporated into ExtremeTech.

I do not and cannot spend time on every forum as I make efforts to help other people, it is simply impossible. Even though I am disabled and have more time for helping others, I cannot consume myself visiting every web site and in an effort to help everyone with every problem.

I made no condescending comments to or about you. I suggest that you ponder this and possibly consider a reevaluation of what kind of person I am [as I made no inflammatory remarks about you or your field of study and work].

My only request is that you please make an inquiry prior to making a judgment, let alone an attack upon my person or anyone else if you are unaware of their background, and that you investigate in order to make a more proper conclusion.

I do wish you the best in your work and your life and I am glad that you are outspoken.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
swing848
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD R9 290
Processor: Intel i5 3570, 4.6GHz air
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 1866 CAS 8
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 11-19-2013, 17:51 | posts: 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Earlier yesterday we tested a batch of cards for one of our enterprise clients that were found have faulty components. Guess which cards they were? I'll let you figure that out.....
If your are referring to R9 290 or R9 290X, at the moment, all of those video cards are supplied as reference to every company that sells for them. If your are talking about the 290 series, also I do not know which company you are commenting on.

Further, as you know, or should, if you are the self proclaimed expert that you are, faulty components have come from every computer hardware company and component I can think of, which is just about all of them. Anything mounted on a PCB can be faulty, as you know. Therefore, what is the point you are making as any component has a chance to be faulty?

I could comment in length, however, I do not want to waste my time and digress further from the serious question the OP has asked.

This thread should not be hijacked in your simple effort to trample me.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.