Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
monitor pixel clock limit R9-280x
Old
  (#1)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default monitor pixel clock limit R9-280x - 11-11-2013, 18:10 | posts: 497 | Location: South Africa

Hi there.

I'm having this qnix monitor and after upgrading from 570sli to R9-280x crossfire I can't seem to overclock my monitor to 96hz anymore. There is nothing wrong with my monitor or so but in games 2560x1440 @ 96hz i get a double image that scans over the screen. Now the thing is i use Toastyx patcher and CRU utility and what I have found out is that setting the pixel clock anything above 330mhz is giving me issues where 330mhz and under is not giving me issues. so i hope amd can fix this drivers or so. oh and I'm running windows 8.1

Last edited by DiceAir; 11-11-2013 at 18:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 11-11-2013, 21:43 | posts: 497 | Location: South Africa

anyone that can help?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 11-11-2013, 22:19 | posts: 16,594 | Location: US East Coast

AMD is not responsible for the overclockability of your monitor...


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-11-2013, 22:49 | posts: 3,306 | Location: Lebanon

Are you using only 1 CF bridge or are you using 2 bridges as is recommended for pixel clocks above 330MHz?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 11-12-2013, 11:08 | posts: 497 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Are you using only 1 CF bridge or are you using 2 bridges as is recommended for pixel clocks above 330MHz?
using 2 bridges. using 1 makes my game run fine but performance suffers cause one gpu will sit at 90% other one at 70%
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-12-2013, 11:12 | posts: 3,306 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
using 2 bridges. using 1 makes my game run fine but performance suffers cause one gpu will sit at 90% other one at 70%
That shouldn't even be happening in the first place. The bridges are supposed to aid with stability and not with performance. If the CF bandwidth is the issue, the cards will still render the frames but fail to deliver them (properly) just like in the case of 7000 series on Eyefinity (which is supposed to be fixed soon).

The second bridge that you are using, have you tried it as the first bridge (only 1) to see if it gives you issues?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 11-12-2013, 18:10 | posts: 497 | Location: South Africa

yes tried that same issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 11-12-2013, 18:19 | posts: 3,306 | Location: Lebanon

What's the PCI-Express version and number of lanes that each is running at? Use GPU-Z and load the render test in fullscreen mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 11-12-2013, 20:29 | posts: 497 | Location: South Africa

in fullscreen mode it still flickers. my pcie is 8x/8x

I even made a video explaining my issue

http://youtu.be/80NDUAyUcRM
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.