Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Radeon R9 290x - not living up to the hype
Old
  (#1)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default Radeon R9 290x - not living up to the hype - 10-31-2013, 11:58 | posts: 12

Hi there,

after having read a lot of raving reviews about AMD's new flagship card, the Radeon R9 290x, I went ahead and ordered the Gigabyte BF4 Edition.

I've installed it in my rig, running an Intel i7-2600k@3.40GHz with 8 GB of RAM and the latest Catalyst Beta for Windows 8.1. My resolution is 1080p.

Now, the performance I'm getting in most games pretty much sucks!

For example in Battlefield 4 I'm getting an average of 40 FPS, with all settings cranked to Ultra. And even when I set everything to Low, there's hardly any noticable improvement.

In Arham Origins it's almost the same, until I turn off MSAA.

I've already checked the CPU, which remains around 50-60% during a game of BF4 and the same goes for the memory.

So, what's the deal here?

Does anybody else have this card? How's the performance for you? Is it the drivers or could it be a bottleneck somewhere?

I mean, for me this is even worse than the BF4-beta, which I played on an GTX 660 TI... so it's a huge disappointment!

Can somebody help? Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DarthElvis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 TF Gaming
Processor: AMD 8350 @ 4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 890fx 2.0
Memory: 8GCorsair Vengeance 1866
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: Seasonic 850W
Default 10-31-2013, 12:37 | posts: 199

Did you wipe all traces of your previous Nvidia drivers?

BTW, don't even mention bottleneck. You have no bottleneck. Your 290x would be getting the same performance as your inferior Nvidia card, not worse.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 12:43 | posts: 3,034 | Location: UK

7-2600k@3.40GHz

Get that thing océd man, 4ghz at minimum.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 13:27 | posts: 26,634 | Location: Hampshire UK

Still, that 290x should run bf4 with ultra settings at 60fps no problem.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 10-31-2013, 13:27 | posts: 18,700 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Overclock your cpu 4.5ghz and post back
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 13:29 | posts: 12

Thanks for the quick help, guys!

No, I don't really think, I'm having a bottleneck with this setup, but I'm in desperate need for a solution, since I had high hopes, that this card would kick some serious ass.

I booted into safe mode and removed all the NVIDIA-stuff with the help of DriveSweeper and CCleaner. Then I installed the latest Catalyst Beta 8.

Beyond that I just configured my in-game settings and that's it.

BTW, the in-game performance test in BF4 always results in 'Bad - Try different graphics settings for better performance', although everything will be set to the highest values, when I select 'auto'.

Damn, this sucks! Any further ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-31-2013, 13:37 | posts: 3,291 | Location: Lebanon

Again the bottleneck talk. Again.

Quite a sensationalist title too.

Try Beta 7 and Beta 6 drivers. Try using DDU for (old remnant) driver removal.

Don't bother overclocking your CPU to solve this issue and have an added variable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 10-31-2013, 13:42 | posts: 5,940 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Again the bottleneck talk. Again.

Quite a sensationalist title too.

Try Beta 7 and Beta 6 drivers. Try using DDU for (old remnant) driver removal.

Don't bother overclocking your CPU to solve this issue and have an added variable.
Although I bet if he tested 3DMark Firestrike with his current settings and then overclocked his CPU to at least 4.2-4.5GHz, which should be extremely easy on that chip, his score would jump up pretty significantly and his game performance would also jump up in not just BF4 but in other games too. His GPU simply is not getting the juice it wants.

OP, reduce your resolution in BF4 and in other games and set graphics to low and I bet you will get hardly any performance increase meaning your CPU is bottlenecking your card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 13:56 | posts: 12

Well, I'm not interested in keeping some obscure bottleneck-myth alive, so sorry, if I made that impression! I just don't know too much about the technical aspects, that's why I'm here, you know?!

Quote:
OP, reduce your resolution in BF4 and in other games and set graphics to low and I bet you will get hardly any performance increase meaning your CPU is bottlenecking your card.
Well, that's exactly the case!

I have already googled how to overclock this processor, but I'd really love to avoid it, since it will be drawing more power and I'm currently using a 600W PSU only.

Are there any other methods for testing if the CPU is the problem? I wouldn't have thought this could be the case, but okay... would 3D Mark help in figuring this out?

Definitely going to test other driver versions.

Thanks again!

Last edited by tibitabo; 10-31-2013 at 14:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Babel-17
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS IceQ HD 7950
Processor: Intel i7-2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Dell 460 watt
Default 10-31-2013, 14:13 | posts: 73

What are the power settings that ensure no needless throttling? I'd check those and check the fan to make sure its working. And I'd make sure that I had the right drivers and make sure I'd cleaned out the old ones.

Good luck!

Edit: P.S. Make sure you have no videos/flash running in the background/in a browser. That lowers your clocks. Grab Afterburner and add the module to monitor gpu usage. Run a demo/game and quickly exit to desktop and check what was your clock speeds and gpu usage.

Last edited by Babel-17; 10-31-2013 at 14:18.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 14:45 | posts: 12

Thank you, I'm already using Fraps for monitoring... what do you mean by power settings? Clock speed, etc. or are you talking about Windows' energy management?

Thanks!

Last edited by tibitabo; 10-31-2013 at 15:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 10-31-2013, 16:06 | posts: 18,700 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Sandy bridge does not use a lot of power. You would be fine overclocking that 2600k. Thats what the k model is for overclocking.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 16:07 | posts: 26,634 | Location: Hampshire UK

what TK said, overclocking that cpu won't really draw that much more power. it's when you oc certain gpus when you see some crazy power draw. Anyway, what was your graphics score in 3dmark11 OP? if it's between 8-10k, then we can eliminate a bad gpu performance and your problem 100% lies with cpu and lack of ram.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 10-31-2013, 17:39 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Seriously 3.4Ghz is not even in the ball park of enough for 64 player BF3, never mind BF4.

SERIOUSLY - there is nothing to debate here.

With my old 3570K I needed 4.5 to hold 60FPS, 4.4 was not quite enough and would get the occasional 58 overlooking certain busy places.

4.5 - do it, it's piss easy and a sick waste of a 2600K

That's not adding another variable yas - it's removing one.


Seriously I don't over clock because it's fun, or I can, I over clock because many games need it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tibitabo View Post

I've already checked the CPU, which remains around 50-60% during a game of BF4 and the same goes for the memory.
Seriously, no, check per core and I bet your maxing out ONE core - I can tell you right now, 2600K @ 3.4Ghz is NOT ENOUGH for BF4 - PERIOD!

Last edited by StealBalls; 10-31-2013 at 17:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 10-31-2013, 17:53 | posts: 5,940 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealBalls View Post
Seriously 3.4Ghz is not even in the ball park of enough for 64 player BF3, never mind BF4.

SERIOUSLY - there is nothing to debate here.

With my old 3570K I needed 4.5 to hold 60FPS, 4.4 was not quite enough and would get the occasional 58 overlooking certain busy places.

4.5 - do it, it's piss easy and a sick waste of a 2600K

That's not adding another variable yas - it's removing one.


Seriously I don't over clock because it's fun, or I can, I over clock because many games need it.




Seriously, no, check per core and I bet your maxing out ONE core - I can tell you right now, 2600K @ 3.4Ghz is NOT ENOUGH for BF4 - PERIOD!
Seriously I don't over clock because it's fun, or I can, I over clock because many GPU's need it.

There that is better
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 18:04 | posts: 12

Alright, I've done some Firestrike benchmarks, using the current catalyst beta 8, while incrementally overclocking my CPU and I've achieved an increase from 7511 to 8292 in the overall score.

The increase of the CPU clock - now running at 4,6 GHz - improved my Physx-score, while the graphics score of 11162 remained unchanged...

I also switched to ubermode, which didn't result in any noticable difference.

I will now test different drivers!

Thanks guys!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 18:15 | posts: 26,634 | Location: Hampshire UK

11162 is about right for a stock 290x in fire strike gpu score. post back with whatever you have issues with later.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 10-31-2013, 18:17 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibitabo View Post
Alright, I've done some Firestrike benchmarks, using the current catalyst beta 8, while incrementally overclocking my CPU and I've achieved an increase from 7511 to 8292 in the overall score.

The increase of the CPU clock - now running at 4,6 GHz - improved my Physx-score, while the graphics score of 11162 remained unchanged...

I also switched to ubermode, which didn't result in any noticable difference.

I will now test different drivers!

Thanks guys!
4.6? that's a cracking o/c! well done, hopefully sensible vcore!

Them chips NORMALLY o/c GREAT! so u should be doing great for BF4.

BF4 is CPU CRAAAAAAZY BABY!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 18:22 | posts: 26,634 | Location: Hampshire UK

2600k + 290x in bf4 sounds pretty nice to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Humanoid_1
Master Guru
 
Humanoid_1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290X Gaming
Processor: Xeon X5650 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-OC
Memory: 24GB G.Skill TridentX2400
Soundcard: XFiGamer Pro/MordantShort
PSU: Antec 650 Platinum
Default 10-31-2013, 19:14 | posts: 234 | Location: Out There!

I suspect BF4 smoothness has detained our OP from this thread for a while
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 10-31-2013, 19:19 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
2600k + 290x in bf4 sounds pretty nice to me.
I'm feeling that also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 10-31-2013, 20:22 | posts: 18,700 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibitabo View Post
Alright, I've done some Firestrike benchmarks, using the current catalyst beta 8, while incrementally overclocking my CPU and I've achieved an increase from 7511 to 8292 in the overall score.

The increase of the CPU clock - now running at 4,6 GHz - improved my Physx-score, while the graphics score of 11162 remained unchanged...

I also switched to ubermode, which didn't result in any noticable difference.

I will now test different drivers!

Thanks guys!
test that oc with prime 95 blend avx instruction set. if you get a bsod 0101 or 0124 nudge up the vcore a step or 2 and test again. minimum 4hrs preferably overnight
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
tibitabo
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon R9 290x
Processor: Intel Core i72600k@3.4GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600W/Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 22:46 | posts: 12

Thanks for your help, guys! Gonna test it more thorougly tomorrow...

Quote:
I suspect BF4 smoothness has detained our OP from this thread for a while
Unfortunately not! But I've decided to focus on the game for now and finally have some fun!

It's still far from perfect, even when I switch to the lowest settings.

But I think it might be more of an issue of optimization on AMD's as well as DICE's part. Some maps run very fluidly until you come across an area, which results in a massive fps drop for no apparent reason.

Anyway, at least I can see the potential!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 10-31-2013, 23:58 | posts: 3,034 | Location: UK

Maybe your psu is ****ty. 290x is kinda hungry. Also My game runs way better than yours yet I have a lower cpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 11-01-2013, 00:01 | posts: 26,634 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesGaizu View Post
Maybe your psu is ****ty. 290x is kinda hungry. Also My game runs way better than yours yet I have a lower cpu.
good point, which corsair model is it? Although I'm pretty sure all of them should be fine for a 290x. Anyway, if all fails, there's a windows re-instal

Des come play! Me and Revan just had a good round
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.