Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Battlefield 4 Recoil Stutter On NVidia Hardware
Old
  (#1)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default Battlefield 4 Recoil Stutter On NVidia Hardware - 10-30-2013, 02:38 | posts: 378

Hi everyone I would just like to bring some attention to a bug that effect not only battlefield 4 but BF3 and MOHW as well.

First let me list specs:
i7 3960X @ 4.8GHz
16GB DDR3 2133MHz
EVGA 780 Classified SLI
Windows 7 64bit

The issue is that whenever I fire a weapon in the game the game sort of stutters for a second while the weapon settles down during the recoil animation. Fraps doesn't register anything (I play with vsync on so my fps is always capped to 60). Now before you say its a problem with my system. There are many other people that experienced this in BF3 and I'm sure there probably still experiencing it now in BF4.

Here are some other threads about the issue...

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3...4490198831054/ [battlelog.battlefield.com]

It seems this mainly affects nvidia users. The only way I have found to get rid of it is to limit the game to 30 fps. It seems like the reloading and recoil animation are stuck at 30fps or something.

To reproduce this go in to the game and set vsync to on. Then change the games settings so that you can mantain 60fps if neccesary. Now go to someplace quite and aim at a wall, start side strafing left or right and fire the gun as your strafing until you empty the clip (Keep strafing during the recoil/reload animation). Its kind of hard to notice if your not used to it but as you empty the clip and the gun settles and the reload animation starts you should notice the stutter I am talking about. It is most apparent if you look at the debris/particles coming from where your bullets are impacing the wall. The effect is more noticeable with motion blur enabled, so I suggest turning it to %100, and the stutter I am talking about becomes even more apparent. I would use the starting engineer gun (the one that looks like an ump-45, MXR4 I think its called) as the problem is easier to notice since the gun has the highest recoil out of the starting weapons.

This problem has been around for a while, I've seen it on every nvidia system I have played on. I've tried in the past to contact NVidia and EA about this to no avail. The point of this post is just to raise awareness and see if I can get anyone else with NVidia cards to confirm this. I will admit it is much less noticeable in BF4 and MOH, than it is in BF3 but it is still there none the less. Between me and all the posters in the thread I posted above, alot of different things have been tried to fix this to no avail.

Anyways if anyone is willing to do my little experiment and report back, that would be awesome. Especially windows 8 users, I am really interested to know if the problem exists in Windows 8 as well.

I would have posted this in the BF4 thread but this issue also affects other games so I figured it deserved its own thread. I posted this on the BF4 forums also but no one has responded.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 10-30-2013, 03:32 | posts: 4,928 | Location: Washington DC

I've played many many hours of BF3 and just got done playing about 4 hours of BF4 and have never encountered this issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bluedog
Maha Guru
 
Bluedog's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: i7 3770K/Corsair H60
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X
Soundcard: SB -Z|Klipsch Pro 2.1
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 10-30-2013, 03:53 | posts: 2,690 | Location: Near New Orleans, La.

Not seeing it either. Been pretty amazed at how well the game has played and look so far.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default 10-30-2013, 03:57 | posts: 378

That's interesting, although to be honest all of the other nvidia users I have that I have talked to that had this problem had gtx 5 series cards and higher.

Also does the game keep a constant 60 fps for you? And do you use vsync.

Edit:
Also curios what OS you guys are using?

Last edited by MechWarrior; 10-30-2013 at 03:59.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Bluedog
Maha Guru
 
Bluedog's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: i7 3770K/Corsair H60
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X
Soundcard: SB -Z|Klipsch Pro 2.1
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 10-30-2013, 05:03 | posts: 2,690 | Location: Near New Orleans, La.

I'm running Windows 8.1 with the most recent R331.65 driver. Everything on Ultra except AA at 2x MSAA with the Vsync set to Adaptive in the Control Panel to handle any screen tearing. Pretty much stays around 60 fps @ 1080p.

I was a bit concerned about the 680GTX 2GB before hand but its done surprisingly well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default 10-31-2013, 16:49 | posts: 378

Well, I just tried windowws 8.1 and while the game runs better than it did on win 7, the issue I'm talking about still remains.

I know many other people have this problem, so its not only me. Every other game on my system runs fine. I just don't get it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Kono
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 16:51 | posts: 150

Win7 64bits GTX680 w/ latest driver - No problem here. The BF4 run smooth on Ultra w/ Motion Blur Off (cuz motion blur sux), and v-sync off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default 10-31-2013, 17:24 | posts: 378

I just don't get it. Is it possible you guys just aren't noticing it. Because its almost impossible to notice if you fight the recoil with the mouse. Its really only noticeable when you fire a whole clip without fighting the gun recoil.

Edit:

Odly enought it doesn't happen with a bipod. It seems directly tied to the amount of recoil.

Also maybe stutter is the wrong word to describe this. Its more like the game drops from 60fps down to 30fps for a split second when the gun is settling down from recoil (like I said before though, you cannot fight the recoil with the mouse or else it becomes impossible to notice.

Last edited by MechWarrior; 10-31-2013 at 17:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Kono
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 10-31-2013, 19:32 | posts: 150

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechWarrior View Post
I just don't get it. Is it possible you guys just aren't noticing it. Because its almost impossible to notice if you fight the recoil with the mouse. Its really only noticeable when you fire a whole clip without fighting the gun recoil.

Edit:

Odly enought it doesn't happen with a bipod. It seems directly tied to the amount of recoil.

Also maybe stutter is the wrong word to describe this. Its more like the game drops from 60fps down to 30fps for a split second when the gun is settling down from recoil (like I said before though, you cannot fight the recoil with the mouse or else it becomes impossible to notice.
Did you make some change in the Nvidia Setting? Did you have triple buffering on? I noticed in skyrim, if I were to have AA on the game "ON", and misc setting on Nvidia Control Panel, stutter like you mention exist. May want to check your Nvidia Control Panel setting for conflict. Also, I play with V-Sync Off, so, that's probably why is not demanding my GPU as much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
nonymous666
Master Guru
 
nonymous666's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Processor: i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial 1600mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: SeaSonic X-850
Default 11-15-2013, 16:27 | posts: 464 | Location: Pennsylvania

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4...65670155240408
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default 11-16-2013, 03:54 | posts: 378

Glad you posted that. Like I said it seems to be a pretty widespread problem amongst the people I talk to with NVidia hardware. I actually PMed manuelg and he said he would have the driver QA team take a look. So at least there is some progress.

Here is a post I made on the NVidia forums with a list of other threads about the issue and a 60FPS video I took of the issue.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...idia-hardware/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX680Lightning
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 11-16-2013, 07:34 | posts: 4,494 | Location: Romania

I never had this in MOH or BF3. I MIGHT have it in BF4 because I seem to die MUCH more often and faster in this game and it often happend that I see the enemy, start shooting and before hitting anything I'm already dead, like instantly. It feels like there is a slight stutter in moments like that but I'm not sure if it's the same thing.

And yea, I'm on Windows 8.1 Pro 64, the game ran garbage on Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
MechWarrior
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
Processor: i7-3960x @ 4.8GHz HT On
Mainboard: MSi X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: 16GB RipjawsX 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard for now
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200 watt
Default 11-16-2013, 19:27 | posts: 378

I would be very willing to bet that you are experiencing what I am talking about. Take a look at this video and you will see exactly what I am talking about.

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=73B87...0EB27565%21103
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.