Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mozilla Firefox, new releases, Add-Ons, tips for customisation
Old
  (#1)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default Mozilla Firefox, new releases, Add-Ons, tips for customisation - 10-29-2013, 11:36 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Firefox 33.0.1 Final Stable 32bit download link:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/33.0.1/win32/

Firefox 33.0.1 Final Stable release notes:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/33.0.1/releasenotes/
What’s New

Known Issues

  • unresolved Fix incomplete downloads being marked as complete by detecting broken HTTP1.1 transfers (237623)
    Resolved in v33.0
  • unresolved PDF.js: With some images, wrong colors could show up. Affects a very small number of PDF
  • unresolved Some certificate errors cannot be overridden (1042889)
  • unresolved Windows: On some combination of hardware and drivers, the main window could be black. In this case, update your graphics drivers (1083071)

Add-Ons for Firefox:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/

Themes (skins) for Firefox:
https://addons.mozilla.org/mk/firefox/themes/

Must have Add-Ons for Firefox:
Adblock Plus
Tab Mix Plus
Classic Theme Restorer (Customize Australis) for FF 29.x and newer
All-in-One Sidebar

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; Yesterday at 11:16. Reason: new version of Firefox
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-29-2013, 20:29 | posts: 3,509 | Location: USA

Another update with really no performance gains. I bet its HW accelerations is still buggy too. Not that many site really use HW accelerations, or that you would see performance gains with it on or off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-29-2013, 22:19 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

FF 24.0 has worked perfectly stabile for me on every single PC at home or work, more than 15 PCs with FF 24.0 and OS like Windows XP Pro SP3 32bit, Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit... on holy bunch of different graphic cards from integrated GPUs to Radeon HD 7870 (drivers from 13.10 to latest 13.11 Beta 7) and highly OCed GTX 660 (drivers from 326.41 Beta to latest 331.65 WHQL) and not a single problem with Adobe Flash and HW acceleration in FF 24.0. All rigs are nicely maintained and tuned almost to perfection, maybe because of that, probably that stability thing on these rigs with FF 24.0 has to do nothing with luck I guess...

Also I've tried FF 25.0 today on one old rig (AMD K7 Athlon XP 2500+ 1.83GHz (Barton core), 1GB RAM, Abit NF7, GeForce FX5200...) in service center of my company with installed Windows XP Pro SP3 32bit and FF 25.0 (+ 10 Addons installed) and first impressions are that that FF 25.0 is a bit faster compared to FF 24.0. I`ve used FF 25.0 almost 3 hours on that rig and I`m sure it`s faster than previously installed FF 24.0.
My two cents...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-29-2013, 23:23 | posts: 10,989 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
Another update with really no performance gains. I bet its HW accelerations is still buggy too. Not that many site really use HW accelerations, or that you would see performance gains with it on or off.
I had to disable smooth scrolling because it's far from smooth and ugly looking compared to butter smooth IE11. Resizing, scrolling and rendering in general is just so damn slow. No matter what benchmarks say. It's unresponsive when loading pages too.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-29-2013, 23:27 | posts: 3,509 | Location: USA

Then you would be one of the few people that ARNT bitch to NVidia about FF freezes, cause they refuse to turn off HW accelerations be glad about that. I have not use HW acceleration in FF for over a year now, Do to fact with it on I get complete system freezes with any Voice chat program up and running the moment I go to bookmarks.

But most people refuse to turn HW acceleration off in FF and rather revert drivers. Even FF own DEV have mentions many time to people in there own forums if you have system freezes with it on TURN HW acceleration OFF cause its buggy. Part FF issue part Nvidia issue, but most people just want to blame nvidia.

Chrome and IE HW acceleration have no problems compared to FF
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-29-2013, 23:28 | posts: 10,989 | Location: Finland

I've never, ever had Firefox crash/BSOD that was caused by NVIDIA driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 10-29-2013, 23:29 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
Not that many site really use HW accelerations, or that you would see performance gains with it on or off.
Huh?
The hardware acceleration is mainly for rendering webpages, and it's entirely from the browser itself.
There's no need for the webpage to contain specific code in order to 'use' hardware acceleration.

Moreover, performance gain is relative to your system spec.
The faster the system the more negligible the difference is because the aim of the acceleration is just to offload rendering work from the CPU to the GPU.


And no, I've never had problems with FF hardware acceleration.
Thanks to my relatively old card, I guess.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-29-2013, 23:30 | posts: 3,509 | Location: USA

Didn Say CRASH or BSOD I said FREEZE up go read nvidia forums, Like i said HW in FF is buggy there own devs admit to this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 10-30-2013, 01:17 | posts: 6,889 | Location: Dubai

Yeah .. there have been issues lately. 331.65 release notes have a mention about it. Try it out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 11-15-2013, 17:06 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

....

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 02-04-2014 at 14:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 02-04-2014, 14:22 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

First message on this thread updated with FF 27.0 final link...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-04-2014, 16:10 | posts: 9,236 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
First message on this thread updated with FF 27.0 final link...

Just got it through the auto-update, thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 02-04-2014, 16:21 | posts: 7,033 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Updated, thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-13-2014, 23:54 | posts: 9,236 | Location: UK

Just auto-updated to 27.0.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-14-2014, 00:24 | posts: 9,165 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
I had to disable smooth scrolling because it's far from smooth and ugly looking compared to butter smooth IE11. Resizing, scrolling and rendering in general is just so damn slow. No matter what benchmarks say. It's unresponsive when loading pages too.
I agree, IE11 just CRAPS on all the other browsers right now. Just a shame there isn't a good selection of addons.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Elite3540
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon™ HD 6650M OC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM
Mainboard: Acer Mobo
Memory: 8 GB DDR3 Memory
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: 6-cell Li-ion battery
Default 02-14-2014, 18:07 | posts: 566 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Just auto-updated to 27.0.1
Yup, me too but manually, I was so happy to see a new update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 02-17-2014, 09:24 | posts: 12,135 | Location: England

When will Firefox be getting Media Source extensions so that YouTube supports 1080p (and 480p) when using HTML5? Chrome seems to work fine with HTML5, no problems, but I've noticed that many YouTube videos that support 1080p only have a maximum of 720p on Firefox v27.0.1. I've switched back to Flash for now so that I can watch 1080p on Firefox as that is the main browser I prefer to use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 03-18-2014, 11:49 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Mozilla Firefox 28.0 final is available for download:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...es/28.0/win32/
...yet not available via auto update.

Release notes:
http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/28.0/releasenotes/

edit
What set of Add-ons are you guys using with Firefox? Here is my list:

Adblock Plus 2.5.1 (Funboy's Adblock list + EasyList + Malware Domains + Easy Privacy)
All-in-One Sidebar 0.7.21
Colorful Tabs 22.5
Download Youtube Videos as MP4 1.7.18
Easy Youtube Video Downloader Express 7.22
Firefox Showcase 0.9.5.10
SearchPreview 7.0
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.1.3.1
Tab Scope 1.5


Also as a download Add-on for my office rigs I'm using:
DownThemAll! 2.0.15
...but as a download Add-on on home & kids computers I've been using:
Download Status Bar 7.6.5

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 03-18-2014 at 15:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 03-18-2014, 21:27 | posts: 9,236 | Location: UK

Got it via auto update this afternoon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pseekodz
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X GAMING TF 3GB
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asrock z77 extreme 4
Memory: 8GB CORSAIRVENGEANCE 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler master GX550w
Default 03-29-2014, 12:14 | posts: 27

thanx for share
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-28-2014, 20:36 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

First post updated with links for final Mozilla Firefox 29.0, it's also available via autoupdate feature, but...

But I hate new look, it looks like some stupid Chrome clone and you can`t (regularly) move tabs below adress bar via: about:config >>> browser.tabs.onTop ...and it`s so anoying for me to go all way to the top with mouse pointer just to select another tab.

But here is solution for that problem, AddOn: Classic Theme Restorer (Customize Australis)
link: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...themerestorer/

Install it and restart Firefox, go to: Tools >>> Add-Ons ...chose: Classic Theme Restorer >>> Options ...and in menu: Main ...below: Tabs ...choose: Tabs not on top - set [tabsnotontop=false] ...confirm with: OK ...and tabs are again where thay belong: below adress bar.
You can also change a lot of other stuff via Classic Theme Restorer: curved or squared tabs, colours for tabs... nice AddOn for sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-28-2014, 20:42 | posts: 7,033 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I`ll stick with 28, I tried the classic theme restorer on 29 beta and it was still missing a few things that pre-29 FF version have such as double clicking on the tab bar to open a new tab, which I use all the time - with FF29 even with theme restorer, that just maximises and minimises the whole browser

Don't like the new menu or anything else about 29 really - gonna hold off and hope that Mozilla return the option of the classic theme
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 04-28-2014, 21:05 | posts: 9,236 | Location: UK

Just auto-updated to v29, changes are fine with the theme i use, FX Chrome.

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 04-28-2014 at 21:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 04-28-2014, 21:10 | posts: 6,889 | Location: Dubai

Guys, use Palemoon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-28-2014, 21:56 | posts: 623 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
I`ll stick with 28, I tried the classic theme restorer on 29 beta and it was still missing a few things that pre-29 FF version have such as double clicking on the tab bar to open a new tab, which I use all the time - with FF29 even with theme restorer, that just maximises and minimises the whole browser

Don't like the new menu or anything else about 29 really - gonna hold off and hope that Mozilla return the option of the classic theme
Solution to your problems with mouse left double click:
Add-On: Tab Mix Plus ..I've been using it for ages, there is no better Add-On for tabs management
link: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/d...xpi?src=search
set these options like this:


These are settings I use in Classic Theme Restorer, did some changes so that FF 29.0 now looks (for my taste) even better than previous 28.0:

FF 29.0 >>> Classic Theme Restorer >>> Main
 Click to show spoiler



...or maybe like this:


FF 29.0 >>> Classic Theme Restorer >>> Special

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 09-19-2014 at 10:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.