Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
850W PSU for R9 290X Crossfire?
Old
  (#1)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 850W PSU for R9 290X Crossfire? - 10-28-2013, 18:11 | posts: 10

Hi guys,i have a Corsair HX850 PSU,and i want to get 2 R9 290X cards in CF,but if i do i will not have money for any other upgrade,so my question is will it work?I have an Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 mobo,i7 3770K CPU clocked at 4.5 Ghz,8 Gb DDR 3 ram,1 TB HDD+64 Gb SSD for Windows,and a Coolermaster HAF 932 case.I WILL NOT planning to overclock these cards!I will use them both in uber mode,i maybe let the fans go up to 100% if it's too hot,but i will not overclock the cards at all.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 18:23 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

Will be fine but you won't have too much headroom.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-28-2013, 18:26 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Will be fine but you won't have too much headroom.
An can that cause any harm to the PSU or the cards?(or anything else) If not than I'm okay with that,since im not planning to overclock as I said,or install any new hardware for a time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 18:35 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

Nah, but I wouldn't push too much voltage in that 3770K. Power consumption can spin out of control on these chips. What voltage are you running for 4.5GHz?

I don't think you will be able to bear 100% fan on these so consider thermals. Might be best to wait for custom coolers or install two yourself (watch out for height restrictions and airflow)?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-28-2013, 18:50 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Nah, but I wouldn't push too much voltage in that 3770K. Power consumption can spin out of control on these chips. What voltage are you running for 4.5GHz?

I don't think you will be able to bear 100% fan on these so consider thermals. Might be best to wait for custom coolers or install two yourself (watch out for height restrictions and airflow)?
1.248 V.Running the cooler at 100% on the cards will increase the tdp significantly?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 19:05 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

No, i mean the noise. Running the cooler at 100% will keep the clocks up and the temps down; this can slightly decrease power consumption.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-28-2013, 19:07 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
No, i mean the noise. Running the cooler at 100% will keep the clocks up and the temps down; this can slightly decrease power consumption.
Yeah,im okay with the noise so i will do that.Thanks for the answer(s),you were very helpful
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-28-2013, 19:16 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
AMD R9-290X Crossfire - On your average system the cards require you to have a 800 Watt power supply unit as minimum.
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...hmarks,10.html

2x290x=572W
+100 cpu
+80 hdd, fans, board...
total 752W

The HX850 will handle up to 1000W.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...-Review/741/10

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 10-28-2013 at 19:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 19:21 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

CPU will be more than 100W if that voltage is high (don't know about Ivy Bridge voltages). Otherwise yeah your calculations are pretty accurate.

True, HX850 can do 1000W. I have the same PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-28-2013, 19:23 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
CPU will be more than 100W if that voltage is high (don't know about Ivy Bridge voltages). Otherwise yeah your calculations are pretty accurate.

True, HX850 can do 1000W. I have the same PSU.
I read that the hx750W(mine) will go up to 900W.
source: same as the above

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 10-28-2013 at 19:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 10-28-2013, 19:33 | posts: 5,389 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post

True, HX850 can do 1000W. I have the same PSU.
I never knew that. Glad I've got one in the main rig that puts my mind at ease.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 19:40 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

You're on water, too, that brings power consumption down. Plus, 670s.

You're welcome OP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-28-2013, 19:43 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
You're on water, too, that brings power consumption down. Plus, 670s.

You're welcome OP.
Water brings temperatures down, what do you mean by power consumption down?They use more fans, fan controller panel, and a pump or 2.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 10-28-2013 at 19:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 10-28-2013, 22:34 | posts: 5,389 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dPlayer View Post
Water brings temperatures down, what do you mean by power consumption down?They use more fans, fan controller panel, and a pump or 2.
Yeah I have 12 fans and one D5 pump, both my 670's run at 1.212V and my CPU is at 1.4V when it ramps up so I was a bit worried that I was pushing it on only 850W.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-28-2013, 23:11 | posts: 3,255 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dPlayer View Post
Water brings temperatures down, what do you mean by power consumption down?They use more fans, fan controller panel, and a pump or 2.
Can bring GPU power consumption down 30W or more in many cases. Bitcoin miners watercool for that.

Less heat = less transistor leakage = less current drawn - less power drawn.

IBM watercooled one supercomputer of theirs to bring down power consumption 10%.

The pumps and fans use a fraction of the power they save, especially when running fans at less than 100% and a pump on low with low-restriction waterblocks and radiators.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-29-2013, 01:54 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Can bring GPU power consumption down 30W or more in many cases. Bitcoin miners watercool for that.

Less heat = less transistor leakage = less current drawn - less power drawn.

IBM watercooled one supercomputer of theirs to bring down power consumption 10%.

The pumps and fans use a fraction of the power they save, especially when running fans at less than 100% and a pump on low with low-restriction waterblocks and radiators.
I see, thanks for the reply.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-29-2013, 16:21 | posts: 10

Well i have the cards,I tested heaven bench,crysis 3,3D mark 11,hitman absolution,everything was fine until i started a metro last light test...screen froze,i restarted,and BSOD...Could be a driver error,or the PSU is not enough?Or something else?This PSU is 3 years old i bought it around the summer of 2010.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-29-2013, 16:25 | posts: 3,029 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1llrzzZ View Post
Well i have the cards,I tested heaven bench,crysis 3,3D mark 11,hitman absolution,everything was fine until i started a metro last light test...screen froze,i restarted,and BSOD...Could be a driver error,or the PSU is not enough?Or something else?This PSU is 3 years old i bought it around the summer of 2010.
probably just driver issue


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-29-2013, 16:54 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
probably just driver issue
I hope so :/ after the bsod windows offered me a repair option and warned me that recently installed programs could be removed,it removed catalyst,i reinstalled and i did not see my second card in cf...i restarted again,now it sees it again.Some info on the BSOD:"The system has rebooted without first shutting down properly. This error could occur is because the system does not respond, or collapse unexpectedly terminated the power supply" Not sure if this is accurate,im from hungary,so the messsage was in hungarian,i just used google translator"
- EventData

BugcheckCode 0
BugcheckParameter1 0x0
BugcheckParameter2 0x0
BugcheckParameter3 0x0
BugcheckParameter4 0x0
SleepInProgress false
PowerButtonTimestamp 0

Last edited by K1llrzzZ; 10-29-2013 at 17:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 10-29-2013, 19:21 | posts: 1,946 | Location: Estonia

Yeah, try some clean reinstall of the drivers. See if that solves it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
K1llrzzZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X CF
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR 3
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-29-2013, 19:35 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
Yeah, try some clean reinstall of the drivers. See if that solves it.
Yeah,i hope it will,and i hope that my cards aren't deficient,or one of them...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.