Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
R9 280X To Be Silently Replaced In November ?
Old
  (#1)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default R9 280X To Be Silently Replaced In November ? - 10-25-2013, 19:09 | posts: 9,230 | Location: UK

Quote:
According to info from Ocaholic.ch, AMD is still working on an R9 280X version based on an updated Tahiti XTL GPU which should be ready sometime in November and silently replace the R9 280X currently running on the Tahiti XT2 GPU.

AMD apparently plans to do a "running change" which means that there will be no announcements for the new GPU or even a name change for the R9 280X graphics card and the only way to differentiate these cards is to check out the BIOS version. As always, these rumors should be taken with a grain of salt since nothing is carved in stone and AMD can simply use the new GPU to launch a new graphics card under a different name but currently AIB partners have been told that it will be a running change.

According to the same source, Tahiti XTL should have a lower power consumption and thus cooler. Unfortuantely, it is still not clear if there will be any specification changes, higher clocks or changes in the feature set. Eventually someone will spot it when it hits retail/e-tail in November.
http://www.fudzilla.com/home/item/32...tahiti-xtl-gpu
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-25-2013, 19:33 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

I think it would make many R9-280X owners annoyed if it were true, and not just say, a bios update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-25-2013, 22:49 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

I'm one of them, btw! It would be good to get clarification on this. Now there are rumours the revised chips will have TrueAudio as well, but still cost the same? If that part is true, I'd rather sell my card now before the value plummets - nobody will want a second hand R9-280x that hasn't got the XTL features, especially if the XTL has TrueAudio and runs cooler!

Now if the rumour is bull, and it really is just a bios update enabling some power saving features etc that wasn't quite ready for launch, then I'd be happy with that .

I should point out that in reviews of existing R9-280X's, where the GPU is listed, they all say Tahiti XTL. Now, if this isn't the case, this will create a crapload more confusion because people may look up reviews of a certain card, see the 'Tahiti XTL' and think all is good, purchase it thinking they have the revised XTL when in fact they're getting the stock clearance XT2.

Look here:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,1.html
(AMD RADEON R9 280X GPU (Tahiti XTL)

and here:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,1.html
(AMD RADEON R9 280X GPU (Tahiti XTL)

just for example, but the same goes on every other review where they state what Tahiti revision it is.

Maybe Hilbert will have to do some review editing...

I would post links for other examples from other sites, but I don't feel like listing just about every R9-280X review out there.

Last edited by thatguy91; 10-25-2013 at 23:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 10-25-2013, 22:59 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

280x Ti
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-25-2013, 23:04 | posts: 10,987 | Location: Finland

There's one issue with this: memory controller. Didn't they say themselves that it's not designed to run highly clocked GDDR5 (even if castrated to 384-bit width)? Or will they keep 4GB but run lower clocks?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 10-25-2013, 23:05 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

just rumors
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-25-2013, 23:24 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
There's one issue with this: memory controller. Didn't they say themselves that it's not designed to run highly clocked GDDR5 (even if castrated to 384-bit width)? Or will they keep 4GB but run lower clocks?
What's the memory controller got to do with a revised core?

280x is 384bit 3GB anyway not 4GB...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-26-2013, 11:32 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

I did some looking around at different VGA bioses for the 280X, and found the following:

NO REFERENCE to Tahiti XTL:
Asus R9 280X DC II TOP
Asus R9 280X Matrix
Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce OC

SPECIFICALLY STATES Tahiti XTL:
HIS R9 280X IceQ X2 Turbo (TAHITI XTL PCIE 3G/384B GDDR5 DLDVI-I/HDMI)
HIS R9 280X IceQ X2 Boost (TAHITI XTL PCIE 3G/384B GDDR5 DLDVI-I/HDMI)
MSI R9 280X (Gaming) (113-MSITV277MS.314 TAHITI B0 XTL C38650 GDDR5 3GB)
MSI R9 280X (TF Gaming) (113-MSITV277MS.302 TAHITI B0 XTL C38650 GDDR5 3GB)

MIXED REFERENCE:
Sapphire R9 280X (VaporX) (Tahiti B0 XT2_XTL C38650 GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m)

So, if the rumour is correct in respect to only being able to tell by the bios, it would suggest some brands already have the XTL chip, and other brands are using rebranded XT2 chips.

Interestingly enough straight from the Guru3D reviews!
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,9.html

Look at the idle temp and load temp of the cards that have Tahiti XTL in the bios (HIS R9-280x IceQ X2 Turbo, MSI R9-280x Gaming) compared to those that don't reference Tahiti XTL (Asus R9-280X DCII Top, Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce OC).

The HIS and MSI cards with Tahiti XTL bios reference: (1050/1050)
Idle: 30C, 30C
Load: 62C, 68C

The Asus (with that fancy new cooler) and Gigabyte without the Tahiti XTL reference: (1070/1100)
Idle: 31C, 34C
Load: 69C, 75C

Could just be coincidence that the ones with the Tahiti XTL reference run cooler True, the Asus and Gigabyte are clocked slightly higher, but this wouldn't account for the temp differences.

Another interesting aspect is that although the Asus and Gigabyte are clocked higher, and the Asus having the RAM as 1600 MHz instead of 1500 MHz, their performance results are almost identical to each other... Although the clocks are very similar, I would have though the Asus and Gigabyte nudge forward a bit more than they have. In fact, the Asus, despite being clocked 20 MHz higher and 100 MHz on the RAM, is fractionally slower than the lower clocked HIS and MSI. Only the Gigabyte gets ever so fractionally ahead in some tests (remember clocked 50 MHz higher), but you also have to remember the Gigabyte runs significantly hotter, by 4C at idle up to 13C under load.

Last edited by thatguy91; 10-26-2013 at 12:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-26-2013, 12:13 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

^Could also be to do with higher clocks on DCII and WF. Anyway Tahiti is still Tahiti whichever way you look at it.......

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-26-2013 at 12:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-26-2013, 12:22 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

True I was thinking that, which is why I looked into it further and re-edited the post. The higher clocks do not represent higher performance, it's almost as if they need that extra clock speed to make up for a slight deficit in performance...

It's probably just coincidence, but the fact remains the HIS and the MSI specifically state Tahiti XTL in the bios.

Last edited by thatguy91; 10-26-2013 at 12:28.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-26-2013, 12:33 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

ffs I can't believe they're still using Elpida chips.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 10-28-2013, 07:09 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Why do I think this is gonna fall under the radar.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-28-2013, 11:08 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealBalls View Post
Why do I think this is gonna fall under the radar.
Probably true! It could just be that there is a bios update coming out and it was misreported, or in fact some brands don't already have Tahiti XTL and will be getting them as a running update later. As I said in my earlier post, I truly believe that at least HIS and MSI are using the Tahiti XTL chip. The article specifically states that you can only tell by the bios, and the bios of the HIS and MSI specifically state Tahiti XTL .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
danfim
Master Guru
 
danfim's Avatar
 
Videocard: 280X (placeholder)
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Pro
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Toughpower 1200W
Default 10-28-2013, 14:49 | posts: 376 | Location: Finland

Sapphire 280X Toxic uses the XTL chip already, I think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
DarthElvis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 TF Gaming
Processor: AMD 8350 @ 4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 890fx 2.0
Memory: 8GCorsair Vengeance 1866
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: Seasonic 850W
Default 10-28-2013, 17:41 | posts: 199

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
I'm one of them, btw! It would be good to get clarification on this. Now there are rumours the revised chips will have TrueAudio as well, but still cost the same? If that part is true, I'd rather sell my card now before the value plummets
The solution to this is simple. Burn the fker out and RMA it. It would serve them right for pulling a stunt like that. Having said that, it's probably a non-issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-28-2013, 19:04 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

Well, seems mine claims in the bios that it is a Tahiti XTL, just like Stealballs's 280x's as discussed in this thread:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=382843

So the rumour is probably a load of bull, or it's possible that HIS and MSI are using XTL's and Asus and Gigabyte etc are using XT2's currently...

The fact mine says Tahiti XTL specifically in the bios, as discussed (it's missing from Asus and Gigabyte) I guess I can assume I do have XTL and the other rumours of things like TrueAudio is just crap. Like Stealballs said, the MSI and HIS do run really cool and quiet already.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-28-2013, 19:42 | posts: 10,987 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
What's the memory controller got to do with a revised core?

280x is 384bit 3GB anyway not 4GB...
Did I read it too quickly (I can be pretty damn selective at times...)? I somehow got this impression that it was about castrated 290 chips.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 10-28-2013, 20:02 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

The story was about 280x chips, which are effectively an update rebranded HD7970 GHz edition chip. The rumour was that the current R9-280x's are direct rebrands of the HD7970 GHz, whereas the updated R9-280X's (Tahiti XTL) will use a slightly updated chip (supposedly basically the equivalent of a new CPU stepping). There were rumours of TrueAudio etc, but I believe that to be complete and utter bull.

It appears though that at least some brands of R9-280X's use the Tahiti XTL's straight out, like my HIS and Stealballs MSI's. It is possible however that not all R9-280x's use these chips currently... I said possibility, if there is any shred of truth about this rumour then I see this as the most likely scenario.

They say mid November you will see the cards right? Geez, they pumped out a crapload of GPU's in just a month, right? no lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 11-24-2013, 16:54 | posts: 236

So does anyone have the "new" revision yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 11-25-2013, 02:29 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

My card's bios says Tahiti XTL, so yes? Lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 11-25-2013, 11:06 | posts: 236

It's probably still a lottery. I wonder when those cards can realistically start to show up on regular basis. Probably not sooner than Q1/2014.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
ASLayerAODsk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x R9 280x Gb/His
Processor: Intel i7 4820k 3.7/3.9 WC
Mainboard: Asus P9X79LE
Memory: DDR3 16G Patriot 1600
Soundcard: XonarSTX/NAD7120/B&WDM610
PSU: CMaster SilentPro 1Kw
Default 11-25-2013, 13:52 | posts: 695 | Location: Canada

hmm..I wonder where this will land me?

gigabyte r9-280x OC Windforce here, just bought it a few days ago, love it so far now I HAVE to upgrade my cpu..and my moniter 29" UW
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
bwat47
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 280x 3gb
Processor: i5-2500
Mainboard: Biostar TZ68A+
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD/Logitec Z523
PSU: Antec EA750
Default 11-28-2013, 23:57 | posts: 39 | Location: Vermont

I'm pretty happy with the price-performance ratio of my 280x so this doesn't really bother me. for 299 this card was a good buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 11-29-2013, 08:33 | posts: 236

(possible) lower power consumption is a big deal for me, because I value silence over performance. Unfortunately I don't think I have the patience to wait for months when I am trying to play BF4 on 5850...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 11-29-2013, 08:47 | posts: 4,041 | Location: Australia

I believe the his turbo and msi gaming 280x's are xtl as I said earlier, and they 'coincidentally' run cooler lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.