Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ASUS Announces Adoption of NVIDIA G-SYNC Technology
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default ASUS Announces Adoption of NVIDIA G-SYNC Technology - 10-21-2013, 10:04 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

ASUS is excited to announce that it will adopt NVIDIA G-SYNC technology into its next generation monitor lineup. NVIDIA G-SYNC, a significant innovation in display technology, provides an excellent ga...

ASUS Announces Adoption of NVIDIA G-SYNC Technology
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
geogan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD7990 6GB
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6Gb
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Tagan BZ Modular 800W
Default 10-21-2013, 13:26 | posts: 106

Hello Asus,

What resolution is this monitor?

We want monitors with more than 1920 x 1080 (1080p)

We want at least 1440p in (preferably) a 27" model.

I am in the market for an upgrade to my Dell 24" 1920 x 1200 monitor and if you produce a 1440 27" model which includes this G-Sync technology I'll buy one from you.

I DON'T want to downgrade to a 1920 x 1080 G-Sync model.

Regards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 10-21-2013, 13:46 | posts: 3,641 | Location: UK

This is Guru3d not Asus. I also don't think that Asus read things on this site or at least not that I have seen so why write hello Asus? Lol!

The only people your telling is us not Asus. You do know that right geogan?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-21-2013, 13:47 | posts: 1,242 | Location: London

27inch should be standerd by now, 1440p at 144hz is what I am after
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-21-2013, 13:48 | posts: 1,242 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
This is Guru3d not Asus. I also don't think that Asus read things on this site or at least not that I have seen so why write hello Asus? Lol!

The only people your telling is us not Asus. You do know that right geogan?
You would be supprised evga come here quite often so what makes you think Asus won't?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 10-21-2013, 13:49 | posts: 3,641 | Location: UK

27inch is only needed as standard depending if you WANT it.

You always go for the right sized TV or monitor depending on the size of your room/seating distance.

I do not need a 27inch monitor as I am practically on top of my monitor as I sit at a desk.

EDIT: It's the way he has written it to Asus and this is Guru3d. It's silly. Go write it to Asus not to us!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-21-2013, 13:49 | posts: 1,242 | Location: London

Hello nvidia
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 10-21-2013, 13:50 | posts: 4,904 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGgamesplayer View Post
You would be supprised evga come here quite often so what makes you think Asus won't?
ASUS had a PR guy on here at one point. Not seen him round in a while, though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-21-2013, 13:51 | posts: 1,242 | Location: London

Fair play well I will rephrase, 27" for my standard
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-21-2013, 13:55 | posts: 1,242 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
ASUS had a PR guy on here at one point. Not seen him round in a while, though.
Thanks for helping us clear that up BLEH!,
I think it's essential for manufacturers and technology inovaters to check forums such as guru3d as it's were customers with more then half a brain post thoughts and experiances.

Last edited by RPGgamesplayer; 10-21-2013 at 13:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-21-2013, 14:13 | posts: 1,353 | Location: Australia, QLD

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
You always go for the right sized TV or monitor depending on the size of your room/seating distance. I do not need a 27inch monitor as I am practically on top of my monitor as I sit at a desk.
The more I am on top of my monitor the better. How anyone would not prefer a 27" monitor I don't understand, makes for a better experience. Just push it back a bit if its rubbing up against your eye balls.

Another thing, I wish someone would make one of these in 1440p, 120hz and not TN panel. I mean seriously its 2013, we've been in 120hz TN 1080p land for way too long. Do these manufacturers even realize that high res is in demand now. Hence the whole 4k business. 4k being over the top but hey, the opportunity is there to make lots of $$$ with 1440p 120hz (IPS, PLS or anything above TN) that includes g-sync.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Riffmaster
Member Guru
 
Riffmaster's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 Lightning Extreme
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.4
Mainboard: MSI X58 Eclipse SLI
Memory: GSkill 3x4gb @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 10-21-2013, 14:14 | posts: 95 | Location: QC, PH

This is like 100 bucks more than the same model without g-sync.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-21-2013, 14:14 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

ASUS partnering with Nvidia.... when did that happen?

Have I really been asleep this whole time....lol

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-21-2013 at 14:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-21-2013, 14:17 | posts: 3,049 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
ASUS partnering with Nvidia.... when did that happen? lol
partnered with them for 3D vision screens

it's understandable $100 more since the G Sync chip is around $70 ish, slap on extra $30 as their cut for fitting it an providing warranty for it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 10-21-2013, 14:22 | posts: 6,889 | Location: Dubai

$400 for a TN panel monitor? Neah.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-21-2013, 14:25 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
partnered with them for 3D vision screens.
Oh yeah, ofc lol..

Guess these new monitors will be aimed squarely at gamers.,
$100 is steep though for.....what? Not everyone notices microstutters and tearing so this will be a user subjective experience methinks rather than objective.

Be interesting to see if it takes off or crashes and burns....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-21-2013 at 14:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 10-21-2013, 14:27 | posts: 5,421 | Location: FLA,USA

Will they offer a g-sync replacement board for retrofitting older ASUS monitors. Would love to put this on my e-IPS ASUS panel.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Oh yeah, ofc lol..

Guess these new monitors will be aimed squarely at gamers.,
$100 is steep though for.....what? Not everyone notices microstutters and tearing so this will be a user subjective experience methinks rather than objective.

Be interesting to see if it takes off or crashes and burns....
Not everyone notices stutter but tearing is really noticeable if you don't see it your blind.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-21-2013, 14:28 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
Will they offer a g-sync replacement board for retrofitting older ASUS monitors. Would love to put this on my e-IPS ASUS panel.
Howabout older CRT's? lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 10-21-2013, 14:30 | posts: 3,322 | Location: Lebanon

Some Korean monitors can get to 1440p 144Hz if you tighten up the timings and get a good cable / GPU DVI port. However, side effects crop up quickly above ~120Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-21-2013, 14:39 | posts: 1,353 | Location: Australia, QLD

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Some Korean monitors can get to 1440p 144Hz if you tighten up the timings and get a good cable / GPU DVI port. However, side effects crop up quickly above ~120Hz.
Using one. G-sync would be good with it, but not particularly wanting to open it up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 10-21-2013, 14:42 | posts: 4,904 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGgamesplayer View Post
Thanks for helping us clear that up BLEH!,
I think it's essential for manufacturers and technology inovaters to check forums such as guru3d as it's were customers with more then half a brain post thoughts and experiances.
No problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
$400 for a TN panel monitor? Neah.
My thoughs exactly. 1440p >>>>>>>>> 1080p, even with mad anti-stutter chip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Some Korean monitors can get to 1440p 144Hz if you tighten up the timings and get a good cable / GPU DVI port. However, side effects crop up quickly above ~120Hz.
Need one hell of a GFX setup to be pushing 120 FPS on 1440p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
vazup
Member Guru
 
Videocard: r9 280X
Processor: i5 4590S
Mainboard: ASRock H81M-ITX
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 10-21-2013, 20:20 | posts: 138

Well I hope they will also offer 2560x1080 and 1080p monitors my eyes are getting really tired when watching on a high ppi monitor in evening/night (text too small for a lot of things)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Xendance
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 570
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Soundcard: X-FI Platinum+7.1 system
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default 10-21-2013, 20:21 | posts: 5,457 | Location: Funland aka Happycamp aka Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Howabout older CRT's? lol
The tech requires LCD displays, since the pixels on those are always on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SC | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 10GB DDR3
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 10-21-2013, 21:23 | posts: 4,179 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

YAY now we get the peak of TN panel technology...


Now make a 1440p 240hz monitor with gsync.


Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Some Korean monitors can get to 1440p 144Hz if you tighten up the timings and get a good cable / GPU DVI port. However, side effects crop up quickly above ~120Hz.
Never heard of one that can be pushed past 134hz.


My overlord can do 120hz stable tightened up timing profile.



Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Need one hell of a GFX setup to be pushing 120 FPS on 1440p.
Doesn't matter, even 60fps on 120hz cuts noticable tearing in half due to faster frame time.

Last edited by MM10X; 10-21-2013 at 21:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Davy1shoe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 690GTX x 2
Processor: Intel Core i7 975 @4.5
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12gb ddr3
Soundcard: G35 headphones
PSU: Dell 30inch\Enermax 1400w
Default 10-21-2013, 22:53 | posts: 262 | Location: New Jersey

Will be buying the first 30 inch screen that comes with this tech. was going to buy a 4k screen but save money and buy one of these new screens.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.