Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nvidia G-Sync
Old
  (#1)
NobleKing
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 4770k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS HERO Z87
Memory: G.Skill 8gb (2x4GB) 2133
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default Nvidia G-Sync - 10-18-2013, 18:56 | posts: 57

Does anyone know if this G-Sync will work on Radeon Cards? I am considering getting a R9 290x or wait for the new 780Ti. I know I will need a monitor with G-Sync built in, but I need to know if it will work on future AMD cards.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Barry J
Maha Guru
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Videocard: X2 EVGA 660ti SC SLi 3D
Processor: i5 4690K H100i @4.5 1.3v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII Hero
Memory: 16GB 1600 4x4GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w G2
Default 10-18-2013, 18:59 | posts: 1,643 | Location: Ipswich UK

Buy for today get the 290x if that's what you want there is always something new coming GTX 780ti I would wait for reviews

Nivdia didn't share physX maybe they will share maybe not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
NobleKing
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 4770k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS HERO Z87
Memory: G.Skill 8gb (2x4GB) 2133
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 10-18-2013, 19:05 | posts: 57

I guess its for Nvidia Only =(
http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/art...er-free-gaming

With a NVIDIA G-SYNC monitor, screen tearing, input lag, and even most eyestrain-inducing stutter are simply gone. All it takes is a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost or better GPU, and a NVIDIA G-SYNC enabled monitor – age old frustrations will be eliminated, and games such as Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag, Batman: Arkham City, Call of Duty: Ghosts, and Watch Dogs will be enhanced with NVIDIA-exclusive features, resulting in the definitive experience.


Beginning later this year, NVIDIA G-SYNC will be available as monitor module you can install yourself, or buy pre-installed in one of the best monitors currently available. Next year, G-SYNC monitors will be available on the shelves of your favorite e-tailers and retailers, in a variety of screen sizes and resolutions, eventually scaling all the way up to 3840x2160 (“4K”).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-18-2013, 19:12 | posts: 1,822

"and a NVIDIA G-SYNC enabled monitor"

LOL, oh we can buy the module to get the dynamic refresh rate?Man, that's bs.

So, as long as my game stays within the minimum fps i am good with v-sync. Most pcs can play with minimum 60fps these days and the stuttering/tearing does not bother me at all. And with v-sync off same thing because i can cap my fps when i need to.

But hey, it's a good feature.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 10-18-2013 at 19:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
NobleKing
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 4770k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS HERO Z87
Memory: G.Skill 8gb (2x4GB) 2133
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 10-18-2013, 19:32 | posts: 57

http://techreport.com/news/25531/nvi...pu-render-rate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Shadowdane
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 10-18-2013, 22:26 | posts: 795 | Location: Virginia

Yah it's hardware technology people not a software tech... this modifies the refresh rate to directly match the render rate of your GPU. This method would basically eliminate all input lag, stutter and tearing!!

With a standard monitor it refreshes at a set rate, for example 60hz you get one refresh every 16.6667ms with Vsync. Or tearing if your running without VSync. With this new G-Sync tech it will render each frame immediately as it's rendered by your GPU. Well up to the refresh rate limit on your monitor. Sucks it takes new hardware to accomplish this, but there is no way around the set refresh rates on current monitors.

I'm all for introducing new tech like this!! VSync has been around since the days of CRTs. There is no reason to use a set refresh rate on LCDs, it just doesn't make sense.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Pny gtx 780 sli
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 10-18-2013, 23:33 | posts: 57

Will this be added to 120hz monitors? Personally, I would prefer +60fps gaming.

Benq has great anti-ghosting and low response time features, which would go great with this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 10-18-2013, 23:34 | posts: 23,432 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

the demo panels were running @ 144hz http://www.anandtech.com/show/7436/n...via-smoothness
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 10-19-2013, 01:43 | posts: 1,240 | Location: London

If they work on tv mod kits and all monitor mods this will hit off nicely me thinks, quite simply amazing if it works as intended

Last edited by RPGgamesplayer; 10-19-2013 at 02:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Riffmaster
Member Guru
 
Riffmaster's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 Lightning Extreme
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.4
Mainboard: MSI X58 Eclipse SLI
Memory: GSkill 3x4gb @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 10-19-2013, 02:11 | posts: 93 | Location: QC, PH

Does this eliminate motion blur too?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-19-2013, 05:55 | posts: 3,497 | Location: USA

eh, i hope make kits for all monitor in general There is nothing wrong with my VS248h. But then No Hit to performance when Vsync cant be kept is great idea... this is long time coming I will buy a new monitor but for this tech but only if it stay and not some fad.

But seriously I been want a new way to keep from seeing tearing for 10+ years. this might be it

Last edited by tsunami231; 10-19-2013 at 06:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 10-19-2013, 07:30 | posts: 23,432 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

In case you guys want to see it >> http://www.twitch.tv/pcper/b/471256002?t=11m00s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 10-19-2013, 09:48 | posts: 2,344 | Location: Netherlands

Linus from Linustech was looking along how Tim Sweeney was messing with the demo, basically torturing it with lowest minimum and highest maximum framerate, according to the FRAPS counter, the thing went from 30 to 50-ish continuously yet basically stutter, lag, acne free.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CalinTM
Maha Guru
 
CalinTM's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Geil Black Dragon 8Gb XMP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Enermax Platimax 850W
Default 10-19-2013, 10:56 | posts: 1,124 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Ok, so this device how do we install it ? In our monitors ?

And this basically does that it makes the refresh rates of your monitor to be dynamic ? (I think work only with 120hz monitors, since 60Hz has only 60).


This is a bad thing. Imagine in a game you play on 120Hz and you have 90fps, when your fps drops down to eg: 60fps then your refresh rate from 120hz smoothness drops down also ? So you can have more sluggish 60fps to the cost of removing some minor flicker ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 10-19-2013, 11:35 | posts: 2,344 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalinTM View Post
Ok, so this device how do we install it ? In our monitors ?
The first version is just a hokey DIY mod for ONE particular €300 Asus TN panel, modified by some nVidia buddies IN THE US, and if you're situated in the EU, you'll need a plug adapter to plug the US plug into a euro socket.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
CalinTM
Maha Guru
 
CalinTM's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Geil Black Dragon 8Gb XMP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Enermax Platimax 850W
Default 10-19-2013, 11:49 | posts: 1,124 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Please explain, what means hokey DIY mod ? Is not that chip they are showing in the picture ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 10-19-2013, 12:10 | posts: 3,048 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texter View Post
The first version is just a hokey DIY mod for ONE particular €300 Asus TN panel, modified by some nVidia buddies IN THE US, and if you're situated in the EU, you'll need a plug adapter to plug the US plug into a euro socket.
G sync chip is integrated directly into the monitor, so it can control it. Far as I can tell they won't be no separate chip to DIY yourself.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CalinTM
Maha Guru
 
CalinTM's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Geil Black Dragon 8Gb XMP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Enermax Platimax 850W
Default 10-19-2013, 12:15 | posts: 1,124 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Ok so i have a capable XL2411T for that g-sync but i can't use g-sync because they don't give the chip ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
elpsychodiablo
Master Guru
 
elpsychodiablo's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 460 HAWK
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v3@3.7
Mainboard: ASRock B85M Pro4
Memory: 16GB 1600/8-8-8-21
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Modstream 600W
Default 10-19-2013, 15:36 | posts: 232 | Location: at Bill Gates Dog House

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
the demo panels were running @ 144hz http://www.anandtech.com/show/7436/n...via-smoothness
Not exactly

It was running at a 144Hz Monitor yes
But the Demonstration was locked at 60Hz on the Monitor without g-sync!

If they let it run at 144Hz with Vsync off there will have 0 difference between g-sync and the 144Hz Monitor if the FPS dont go over 144hz.

In the same time the G-Sync Monitor havent 60Hz limit it just take what he needs.

It was not just a unfair compare, they are just fooling everyone, too.

I say g-sync is wasted on a 144hz Monitor if your pc cant go ofter 144fps without vsync, but it could be kick ass on IPS/PLS/MVA Panels.
Overlord Computer will intregrate g-sync in their IPS Monitors. That could be intresting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 10-19-2013, 16:12 | posts: 23,432 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by elpsychodiablo View Post
Not exactly

It was running at a 144Hz Monitor yes
But the Demonstration was locked at 60Hz on the Monitor without g-sync!
Where does it say that ? it says they capped it at 60fps not 60Hz
you can do that yourself in inspector or msi afterburner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
elpsychodiablo
Master Guru
 
elpsychodiablo's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 460 HAWK
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v3@3.7
Mainboard: ASRock B85M Pro4
Memory: 16GB 1600/8-8-8-21
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Modstream 600W
Default 10-19-2013, 16:15 | posts: 232 | Location: at Bill Gates Dog House

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Where does it say that ? it says they capped it at 60fps not 60Hz
you can do that yourself in inspector or msi afterburner.
I sold much of this Monitors from Asus and i can tell you no tearing until your fps dont hit over 144fps.

But games like Ghost Racon Online which is Caped at 60Hz it have tearing because the Hz is caped!
With Vsync off it looks like crap as the presentation.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 10-19-2013, 16:18 | posts: 1,545 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riffmaster View Post
Does this eliminate motion blur too?
No, trick of real smoothness is to have motion blur exactly as long as time between 2 frames, then it feels smooth as possible.

If you remember Split Second racing game with destructible maps...
It was port from consoles, had 30fps cap and motion blur exactly same as you would get with 33ms shutter camera.
Game was very impressive in smoothness department. Games like crysis have motion blur set for very long time interval hoping to give real life feeling, but they fail.

In general as I play CS on 120Hz I can see separate frames as I turn around, because difference is too big. Proving that there is room for 240Hz+ screen in gaming industry.
But if Cs had motion blur added with time length of 1/120s = 8.33ms then I would effectively be unable (prevented) to see distinct frames.

Successful game should get time between frames and use motion blur at that level, because no v-sync g-sync can give you feeling of smoothness at 40fps game without motion blur.

Therefore while nV shown probably very good tearless frame pacing, they made sure to use software rendering techniques which conceal low fps effect of seeing distinctive images for too long.

Reality is that no matter what v/g-sync you use at 40fps, you end up with worse experience than 120fps@120Hz/144fps@144Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 10-19-2013, 16:18 | posts: 23,432 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by elpsychodiablo View Post
I sold much of this Monitors from Asus and i can tell you no tearing until your fps dont hit over 144fps.

But games like Ghost Racon Online which is Caped at 60Hz it have tearing because the Hz is caped!
With Vsync off it looks like crap as the presentation.
Well ill be looking forward to hilberts review when he gets a unit in december. (hopefully) i dont think it they fooled people , i think it works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
elpsychodiablo
Master Guru
 
elpsychodiablo's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 460 HAWK
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v3@3.7
Mainboard: ASRock B85M Pro4
Memory: 16GB 1600/8-8-8-21
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Modstream 600W
Default 10-19-2013, 16:20 | posts: 232 | Location: at Bill Gates Dog House

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Well ill be looking forward to hilberts review when he gets a unit in december. (hopefully) i dont think it they fooled people , i think it works.
I want to see a Guru3D or Anandtech Review, too.
Everything other is Marketing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Scout
Member Guru
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Sapphire Vapor-x
Processor: i7 980x
Mainboard: Asus R3 Extreme
Memory: 12gb ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 10-19-2013, 19:27 | posts: 131

this will at least hopefully make amd get more serious with the frame pacing tech or get something better, for now capping fps at 60~and forcing vsync on works perfectly fine as long as fps don't drop bellow 60
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.