Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
400w PSU enough?
Old
  (#1)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 400w PSU enough? - 10-18-2013, 17:55 | posts: 1,170 | Location: Southampton, UK

My mate is currently running a 2500k with a 560ti (no OC) on a corsair 400w PSU. he has no crashes or issues running this. He wants to upgrade his card to a GTX 670 but the recommended minimum PSU for the 670 is 500w (same as his 560ti) would it be worth a gamble that the power supply will hold up?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 10-18-2013, 18:00 | posts: 2,856 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

No one here will recommend even trying that on a 400W PSU. It probably won't have enough on the 12V rail for that card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 10-18-2013, 19:36 | posts: 1,170 | Location: Southampton, UK

Actually my clown of a mate gave me the wrong specs, he has a 600w so all should be good, cheers anyways
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 10-18-2013, 19:42 | posts: 2,856 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

lol oh ok. You guys still may want to check the voltage on the 12V rails just to be sure. I've seen some garbage no name 600W PSU's that only deliver 450W or so and have crap on the rails. If its a decent brand, he has absolutely nothing to worry about though!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.