Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PSU requirement for Sapphire R9 280X
Old
  (#1)
Dumaw
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280X 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 3550
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair GS 700
Default PSU requirement for Sapphire R9 280X - 10-18-2013, 15:21 | posts: 18

Hi guys

I'm planning on getting a Sapphire R9 280X later this month and it says it requires a 750w power supply?

Is this correct? I found it a lil bit odd so I decided to come here and ask you guys for some help.

I currently own a Corsair GS 700w PSU, and I do not intend to replace my PSu soon.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PieEyedPiper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
Processor: Xeon X3360 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K Deluxe
Memory: 4GB DDR2 G.Skill @1100MHz
Soundcard: SB Z / Logitech 5.1 550w
PSU: Kingwin LazerP 550w
Default 10-18-2013, 15:31 | posts: 260

I'd imagine a suggestion like that is complete nonsense.

The thing is, everyone wants fast for cheap and since a psu won't make you fast the layman will purchase an inexpensive unit. Inexpensive units to not live up to expectation in most cases, thus the exorbitant suggestion of a 750w psu.

..just a stab in the dark.


p.s. I would run 7970's in xfire without blinking with my current psu. It's all about quality.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-18-2013, 15:59 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Yeah only need (quality) 500W for one. Where did the 750W recommendation come from?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-18-2013, 16:02 | posts: 26,069 | Location: Hampshire UK

You'll be fine with the psu you have.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Dumaw
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280X 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 3550
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair GS 700
Default 10-18-2013, 16:03 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Yeah only need (quality) 500W for one. Where did the 750W recommendation come from?
Its on the Sapphire website

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...=&lid=1&leg=0#

If I was not supposed to post link here I'm sorry.

I did find this odd considering its a single card.
For instance, on the Gigabyte website for the same card it says 600w PSU requirement.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 10-18-2013, 16:04 | posts: 1,824

Quote:
Originally Posted by PieEyedPiper View Post
p.s. I would run 7970's in xfire without blinking with my current psu. It's all about quality.
lol, it's all about quality but lets not exaggerate that much. You surely have a $170 550W PSU but two 7970 CF=500W peak, lets say 80W for HDDs/fans/motherboard and 100W for the CPU. How would that work for you?

It is conceivable that 650 watts of continuous loading is safe for the unit but hey, 500+80+100=680W, probably too risky i would say. But hey, it's yours to do what you want.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 10-18-2013 at 16:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-18-2013, 16:46 | posts: 26,069 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PieEyedPiper View Post

p.s. I would run 7970's in xfire without blinking with my current psu. It's all about quality.
nah, you wouldn't. 45.5A on the +12v rail. Yeah I guess you could, if you kept everything at stock, but then you're limiting yourself big time in performance. a good overclock on a 7970 (talking around 1200/1600 or above) will draw a lot of power.

Last edited by eclap; 10-18-2013 at 16:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
chilly willy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Vapor-X R9-270X
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.4ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 AM3+
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair tx650
Default 10-18-2013, 21:59 | posts: 503 | Location: chicago area

there is an easy way to figure out if your power supply is good enough...
A gpu can use no more than 300w max. Unless you have a super overclock and are running furmark or intense compute apps you will NEVER get to 300w with an otherwise properly functioning card.

Typical tdp of a cpu is between 77-125 watts for high end cpus from amd and intel. server cpus from intel can get up to 140ish and the obnoxious fx9000 series from amd can sit at 225w tdp. but chalk those off the list for now.

tdp is the absolute max something can draw under normal usage scenarios.

cpu+gpu maxes=377-425+ around 10-25% tops for other components chipsets, drives, fans, sound cards or other pci devices = 471-531.25w TOPS

ANY decent 550 watt power supply or higher will support ANY cpu/single gpu setup. Providing there are enough amps on the +12v rail(s). Ideally I always go for a power supply with a single strong +12v rail it makes high amperage a sure thing. amps+volts=watts.

when i got my corsair tx650 im using back in maybe 2006-2007ish i only got the 650 because it was 3$ more than the 550.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 10-18-2013, 22:19 | posts: 8,824 | Location: UK

As said above, your PSU will be fine, im running an overclocked 7970 on a 550w PSU, and welcome to the forums Dumaw
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-18-2013, 22:38 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dumaw View Post
Its on the Sapphire website

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...=&lid=1&leg=0#

If I was not supposed to post link here I'm sorry.

I did find this odd considering its a single card.
For instance, on the Gigabyte website for the same card it says 600w PSU requirement.
It's OK to link.


Jeez you weren't kidding, Sapphire have gone insane;

Quote:
  • 750 Watt Power Supply is required.
  • 1000 Watt Power Supply is recommended for CrossFireX™ System
Crazy stuff.... lol

They prob just covering their asses from the people who buy $30 PSU's....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-18-2013 at 22:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
nivrob
Newbie
 
Videocard: h87 pro
Processor: i5 4670k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550
Default 10-19-2013, 21:34 | posts: 3

will 550vx cosair hold up for r9 280x?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-19-2013, 21:41 | posts: 26,069 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by nivrob View Post
will 550vx cosair hold up for r9 280x?
Should be ok, unless you run massive overclock
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
nivrob
Newbie
 
Videocard: h87 pro
Processor: i5 4670k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550
Default 10-19-2013, 22:12 | posts: 3

gigabyte ver will work ok?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-19-2013, 22:38 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by nivrob View Post
gigabyte ver will work ok?
What do you have now?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
nivrob
Newbie
 
Videocard: h87 pro
Processor: i5 4670k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550
Default 10-19-2013, 22:45 | posts: 3

cosair 550vx i got it like 4 years
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PieEyedPiper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
Processor: Xeon X3360 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K Deluxe
Memory: 4GB DDR2 G.Skill @1100MHz
Soundcard: SB Z / Logitech 5.1 550w
PSU: Kingwin LazerP 550w
Default 10-21-2013, 16:50 | posts: 260

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dPlayer View Post
lol, it's all about quality but lets not exaggerate that much. You surely have a $170 550W PSU but two 7970 CF=500W peak, lets say 80W for HDDs/fans/motherboard and 100W for the CPU. How would that work for you?

It is conceivable that 650 watts of continuous loading is safe for the unit but hey, 500+80+100=680W, probably too risky i would say. But hey, it's yours to do what you want.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
nah, you wouldn't. 45.5A on the +12v rail. Yeah I guess you could, if you kept everything at stock, but then you're limiting yourself big time in performance. a good overclock on a 7970 (talking around 1200/1600 or above) will draw a lot of power.
I'm glad you guys are so sharp.

Really, I was just trying to make a point but your points are certainly valid.

I don't have another card to test it with, but I'd surely do it with confidence. Just not with 1200MHz core clocks.. Stock for sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 10-21-2013, 17:02 | posts: 26,069 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PieEyedPiper View Post
I'm glad you guys are so sharp.
I'm not sharp at all. It's just that I have no life so I spend a lot of time browsing the forum
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Ecurb
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon 290X 4GB @ XFire
Processor: i7 4930k @ 4.6 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32 GB Ripjaws-X @ 2400
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence One
PSU: Lepa G1600-MA 1600W
Default 10-21-2013, 22:41 | posts: 37 | Location: Australia

Just installed a little 450W (Silverstone ST45SF 450W) in my mates PC which is running a 2600K OC and the 280X without a problem. This is a good quality little guy. My general rule of thumb for PSU is if it's not reviewed and reviewed well on JonnyGuru don't get it I had a cheap 750W Corsair PSU that cooked some kit a while back and from then on its been good component PSU only. So good 450W plus will be fine for what you want.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 10-21-2013, 22:56 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

I think some of these manufacturers list overkill wattage requirements because they assume the average PC user is not buying a top of the line modular PSU with XXX amount of continuous power. So if a card really requires a good 400W PSU (whole system included), the manufacturer might say it requires 550W, just to be on the safe side for the general consumer! Then a run of the mill cheapo "550W" PSU could run it w/absolutely no problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PieEyedPiper View Post
I'd imagine a suggestion like that is complete nonsense.

The thing is, everyone wants fast for cheap and since a psu won't make you fast the layman will purchase an inexpensive unit. Inexpensive units to not live up to expectation in most cases, thus the exorbitant suggestion of a 750w psu.

..just a stab in the dark.


p.s. I would run 7970's in xfire without blinking with my current psu. It's all about quality.
On a 550W? You would start blinking when your PSU sets fire to your entire PC from overloading it with two 7970's lol. You may not want to go by this guys advice OP.

Last edited by DSparil; 10-21-2013 at 23:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 10-21-2013, 23:07 | posts: 10,809 | Location: Finland

^^There's no card that can draw even close to 400W.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
It's OK to link.


Jeez you weren't kidding, Sapphire have gone insane;

Crazy stuff.... lol

They prob just covering their asses from the people who buy $30 PSU's....
Yep. They put that stuff there because people go out any buy those pingpong PSU's with inflated wattage ratings because they think that bigger wattage number is better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 10-21-2013, 23:16 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
^^There's no card that can draw even close to 400W.

Yep. They put that stuff there because people go out any buy those pingpong PSU's with inflated wattage ratings because they think that bigger wattage number is better.
yup, thats what we both just said, and no where did I say that a card alone draws 400W.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-22-2013, 02:30 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecurb View Post
Just installed a little 450W (Silverstone ST45SF 450W) in my mates PC which is running a 2600K OC and the 280X without a problem. This is a good quality little guy. My general rule of thumb for PSU is if it's not reviewed and reviewed well on JonnyGuru don't get it I had a cheap 750W Corsair PSU that cooked some kit a while back and from then on its been good component PSU only. So good 450W plus will be fine for what you want.
Lol...go play FarCry3 for 4hrs on high in DX11 then see if you still think like that.

OK, you saw your mates rig was "running OK" ...great, but doesn't mean it "will run OK".
Overworked PSU's often run just fine.......right up to when they shut down due to overloading, overheating, or overcurrent protection tripping.
Ofc that doesn't always happen either, it may be smaller issues like BSOD, constant reboots, slow post, freezing, lag or choppy fps while gaming.....artifacts.....things like that...without reaching critical mass.

PSU's can be good quality for different reasons, some are efficient, some have fantastic voltage regulation, ripple suppression, or maybe impessive continuous power output on underspec'd units.
None of this will help though if your asking it to to a job it wasn't designed for - he has a gaming rig not an HTPC..

To be honest, you've given your friend a rather mediocre PSU with inadequate power. Another point to note is he has no wattage headroom for upgrading in the future.

Silverstone do make great units as you said, but unfortunately this isn't one of them, it failed 80+ Bronze efficiency tests, has substantial droop under crossloading and uses Teapo caps.

Your mates rig is going to draw maybe ~400W in a decent gaming session, factor which means once heat and droop are taken into account your 450W SS will be constantly working at near 100% capacity.

PSU's work best and last longest when they have headroom, there is no set rule but 20% seems to be the generally accepted figure.....

If it was my mate I'd replace that PSU with something a bit more up to the challenge...maybe the ST55F or one of the new CoolerMaster GX units - they're pretty good now that Seasonic make them.....

Actually I just saw you're in Australia, which means AcBel is another option you should consider. Not the low end crap they make but the M8/R8 M9/R9. They are seriously good bang for buck, I own 3 of them oldest is 7yrs never missed a beat.

That's my 2.5c anyway.... take it or leave it....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-22-2013 at 02:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
MAD5
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SLI Titan EVGA / ASUS
Processor: Core i7 3930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 2400C9
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium HD Focal 70
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 12-12-2013, 06:11 | posts: 183 | Location: Argentina

Well, I saw this post, so I will ask here, 4 way Crossfire X with R9 280X Toxic will work fine with a 1200W psu like the Corsair AX1200i? or Sapphire Pure 1250W? Or I really need more? Like EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 1500? Also, which is the difference between the 2 evga 1500w? all seems the same except some letter and the 100 Price.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-12-2013, 06:40 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD5 View Post
Well, I saw this post, so I will ask here, 4 way Crossfire X with R9 280X Toxic will work fine with a 1200W psu like the Corsair AX1200i? or Sapphire Pure 1250W? Or I really need more? Like EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 1500? Also, which is the difference between the 2 evga 1500w? all seems the same except some letter and the 100 Price.
First can I ask why you want to run quadfire? Are u familiar with quadfire scaling?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 12-12-2013 at 06:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 12-12-2013, 07:41 | posts: 26,069 | Location: Hampshire UK

I would much rather run 290 cfx than 280x quad, scaling after 2 gpus isn't great.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.