Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
System randomly fails POST with overclock.
Old
  (#1)
Xion999
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9550
Mainboard: XFX nForce 790i Ultra
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR31600
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W BFG Dual 12V
Default System randomly fails POST with overclock. - 10-11-2013, 20:48 | posts: 449

Hey guys. I recently attempted to overclock my CPU in order to squeeze a bit more performance out of it before I upgrade. However, even though the overclock is perfectly stable in windows (several hours gaming/prime95), it will randomly fail to boot, and I am greeted with the long beep.

Any suggestions?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-11-2013, 21:20 | posts: 511 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Did you disabled C1E in BIOS?
Disabling SpeedStep also can help to improve stability in some cases.

Edit
Did you checked Vdroop, also it can be a problem while cold start.
You need to give us more info about OC: FSB, multiplier, Vcore...

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 10-11-2013 at 21:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Xion999
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9550
Mainboard: XFX nForce 790i Ultra
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR31600
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W BFG Dual 12V
Default 10-11-2013, 21:28 | posts: 449

All CPU thermal functions are disabled.

Core voltage wil not stay the same as setting--volatage set at 1.356 but sets at 1.31 in bios and as much as 1.328 in windows (per CPU-Z).

FSB is set to 1600 over stock 1333, with multiplier at 8X.

All spread spectrum options are disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-11-2013, 21:37 | posts: 511 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Do you have a random boot problems only on cold start (after not using PC for some time) or sometime problem appears after Windows restart?

That long beep you are mentioning is that just a long beep or there are some short beeps involved?

Tried to reseat RMS's, graphic card, PSU connectors...etc?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Xion999
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9550
Mainboard: XFX nForce 790i Ultra
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR31600
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W BFG Dual 12V
Default 10-11-2013, 21:42 | posts: 449

Just one long beep. Only seems to happen on cold start.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-11-2013, 22:00 | posts: 511 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

My bet is on damaged/exhausted VRM caps on motherboard or damaged caps in PSU, after few resets or turn on/off sessions they manage to achieve enough capacity so that sistem can boot.

Check 7 caps on that XFX nForce 790i Ultra below 8-pin (4+4) connector left from the CPU socket if they are leaking or swelled, rest of the VRM caps around CPU socket are solid caps and it will be impossible to conclude if they are damaged just by looking at them.

Also open PSU and look for some leaked/swelled caps. If you find some remove that PSU and try with some other branded PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Xion999
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9550
Mainboard: XFX nForce 790i Ultra
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR31600
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W BFG Dual 12V
Default 10-11-2013, 22:12 | posts: 449

All caps are intact. System runs flawlessly at stock clocks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 10-11-2013, 23:17 | posts: 17,818 | Location: New Jersey, USA

unstable overclock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Xion999
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9550
Mainboard: XFX nForce 790i Ultra
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR31600
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W BFG Dual 12V
Default 10-12-2013, 06:20 | posts: 449

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
unstable overclock?
100% stable in windows. It just won't POST sometimes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rl66
Master Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aspeed + Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon X5680 x2
Mainboard: Asus Z8PE D12
Memory: 48 Go RDIMM
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 10-12-2013, 18:24 | posts: 500 | Location: France

i used to have a EVGA i780 more or less the same as yours exept it was on DDR2 with a q9550...

i had the same as you until i raise a bit cpu voltage but when i done that the chipset start to go to frie pan temp (ok it was 4.2ghz stable on watercooling at 1.5v bit too much lol).

try to work with different config of voltage/fsb, sometime with 1mhz less cpu accept lot lower voltage and you can't even see the difference and you will always pass the start bios without fail.

of course disable C1 and stepspeed as useless in OC.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
fuma86
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560Ti
Processor: i5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabte Z87-HD3
Memory: Kingston DDR3 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 10-13-2013, 02:02 | posts: 71 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion999 View Post
Hey guys. I recently attempted to overclock my CPU in order to squeeze a bit more performance out of it before I upgrade. However, even though the overclock is perfectly stable in windows (several hours gaming/prime95), it will randomly fail to boot, and I am greeted with the long beep.

Any suggestions?
My sugestion : load default setting and check if random boot fail continue , if not it's OC fault and link to BEEP code : http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.