Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help With 4770k and MSI MPOWER MAX overclock
Old
  (#1)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default Help With 4770k and MSI MPOWER MAX overclock - 10-11-2013, 04:21 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

I would like to do better than what I have done. I believe 4.6-4.8 may be do-able. Windows 8 64 bit. 16 Gb ADATA 2400 MHZ RAM easily picked up on motherboard after enabling XPM. Using the intel and Msi extreme overclock utility (desktop software) because its easier for me. Any tweaks, advice, opinions etc. would help! All of my current stable settings are highlighted in yellow on the far right. Might have to zoom in a few times. Oh one more thing, Im cooling with the kraken x60 AIO which is so far keeping it frosty.

Thanks in advance!




Batch L315B357 Malaysia chip =/

Last edited by kRoOkEd; 10-11-2013 at 05:25.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
theimported1
Master Guru
 
theimported1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 Classified HC SLI
Processor: 4770K h20
Mainboard: MSI Z87 MPower Max
Memory: Gskill Trident X 16GB
Soundcard: XONAR XENSE+PC350
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Default 10-11-2013, 04:48 | posts: 440 | Location: NE USA

What are your temps?
What are you load testing with, how long etc...

4.4 is pretty good IMO, but depending on temps you may be able to push it some more.

On my H100 I am stable at 4.3. After about an hour of prime my max temp is high 70's low 80's.

I can clock stable at 4.5 but temps are just too much. I may be able to take the chip higher, we will soon see.

Out of curiosity what batch do you have?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-11-2013, 05:17 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by theimported1 View Post
What are your temps?
What are you load testing with, how long etc...

4.4 is pretty good IMO, but depending on temps you may be able to push it some more.

On my H100 I am stable at 4.3. After about an hour of prime my max temp is high 70's low 80's.

I can clock stable at 4.5 but temps are just too much. I may be able to take the chip higher, we will soon see.

Out of curiosity what batch do you have?
I wasn't stable after all =(. Had to up the voltage to 1.25 to get stable at 4.4. hit almost 80 on the hottest core.

Updated OP to reflect changes and answer your batch question =)

Last edited by kRoOkEd; 10-11-2013 at 05:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-11-2013, 17:57 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

nobody?

Need some tweaks, all I know really is just to up the multiplier and vcore...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.2ghz G0
Mainboard: EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Memory: Corsair XMS2 xtreme 1GBx4
Soundcard: XONAR DG/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 10-11-2013, 18:19 | posts: 3,853 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kRoOkEd View Post
nobody?

Need some tweaks, all I know really is just to up the multiplier and vcore...
Not to be a dick, but don't you think you should read some guides on how to properly overclock your rig instead of asking us to do it for you as a shortcut? There are plenty of guides out there that tell you exactly what each voltage does and all that good stuff. For all you know, I could tell you to run your processor at 1.5v, which would probably kill it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-11-2013, 19:09 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Nothing unusual in that screenshot, although I dont see Vccin - input voltage.

-Default Vccin is 1.80v maybe try 1.85 - 1.90v with cpuv 1.22 -1.24v, apparently higher Vccin makes lower cpuv.
It didnt help me 4.7Ghz @ 1.285v, but I saw lower Vccin below 1.75v caused instability at 1.28v.
-Disabled Vccin is at 1.70v.


Imo your chip isnt such a good OC'er, well I need 1.153v for 4.4Ghz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-12-2013, 05:07 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Nothing unusual in that screenshot, although I dont see Vccin - input voltage.

-Default Vccin is 1.80v maybe try 1.85 - 1.90v with cpuv 1.22 -1.24v, apparently higher Vccin makes lower cpuv.
It didnt help me 4.7Ghz @ 1.285v, but I saw lower Vccin below 1.75v caused instability at 1.28v.
-Disabled Vccin is at 1.70v.


Imo your chip isnt such a good OC'er, well I need 1.153v for 4.4Ghz.
I have the input voltage at 1.85. Thanks. Your right this doesn't seem to be a good oc'er. Either that, or im doing something wrong. Didn't touch much but vcore, ratio, and put memory to xmp. Some people have worse chips. 4.4 @ 1.25 doesn't seem too bad....

Last edited by kRoOkEd; 10-12-2013 at 07:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-12-2013, 15:34 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoter man1 View Post
Not to be a dick, but don't you think you should read some guides on how to properly overclock your rig instead of asking us to do it for you as a shortcut? There are plenty of guides out there that tell you exactly what each voltage does and all that good stuff. For all you know, I could tell you to run your processor at 1.5v, which would probably kill it.
I've read the guides. Asking isn't a shortcut, but something everyone does when they need a lil help. Then when I'm on the right track, my ears will be open for anyone else who needs help. If you would like to share a good link to a good guide that can be helpful. Ive read the one that reads "3 step guide to overclocking haswell"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-12-2013, 16:59 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by kRoOkEd View Post
I have the input voltage at 1.85. Thanks. Your right this doesn't seem to be a good oc'er. Either that, or im doing something wrong. Didn't touch much but vcore, ratio, and put memory to xmp. Some people have worse chips. 4.4 @ 1.25 doesn't seem too bad....
Did you test with fixed or adaptive cpu voltage? Because adaptive/offset can use extra 0.07-0.09v.

For example 1.15v will be 1.22v in avx apps; Linx, Prime95, IBT, OCCT, Aida64 stress., so if you plan to test around those apps use fixed voltage.

Also a good trick, try per-core overclock.
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1592713

Im now testing
core1 47x
core2 47x
core3 47x
core4 46x

total adaptive 1.260v, btw it auto adjusts at each multi.

What this means is, when there is single threaded app or full 3core/light 4core it will run at 4.7ghz if its multi threaded to the max it will be at 4.6Ghz.
Also it uses less volts; full 4core 4.7ghz needs 1.285v, now this 3 core 1.260v, 4 core at 4.6ghz 1.237v similar to my full 4.6ghz @ 1.235v.

Last edited by -Tj-; 10-12-2013 at 20:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-13-2013, 03:19 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Did you test with fixed or adaptive cpu voltage? Because adaptive/offset can use extra 0.07-0.09v.

For example 1.15v will be 1.22v in avx apps; Linx, Prime95, IBT, OCCT, Aida64 stress., so if you plan to test around those apps use fixed voltage.

Also a good trick, try per-core overclock.
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1592713

Im now testing
core1 47x
core2 47x
core3 47x
core4 46x

total adaptive 1.260v, btw it auto adjusts at each multi.

What this means is, when there is single threaded app or full 3core/light 4core it will run at 4.7ghz if its multi threaded to the max it will be at 4.6Ghz.
Also it uses less volts; full 4core 4.7ghz needs 1.285v, now this 3 core 1.260v, 4 core at 4.6ghz 1.237v similar to my full 4.6ghz @ 1.235v.
I have it set on fixed. You actually inspired me to be a little more meticulous. I originally used the onboard OC genie and added some tweaks from there. After you saying your voltage is so low, I actually lowered the voltage and tweaked the RAM a bit and Im fully stable at 4.3ghz with only 1.166vcore. That's a 10 minute passed test on AIDA64. Im still going. And thanks for the link! Will read soon!

Last edited by kRoOkEd; 10-13-2013 at 05:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-13-2013, 17:36 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

So, uli can get 4.2 @1.155 vcore, 1.85input voltage, voktages @ fixed and memory in xmp 2400 1.65v stable and 4.3 @1.66 all stable and the same. Trying anything higher I hit a wall. Can there really be a jump from 4.3 1.66vcore to say 1.22 @4.4?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-13-2013, 18:41 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Maybe it has kinda below average memory controller?

Set ram to 2133mhz and try higher OC


btw; you can keep Vccin at 1.80v for voltages below 1.30v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-13-2013, 20:12 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Maybe it has kinda below average memory controller?

Set ram to 2133mhz and try higher OC


btw; you can keep Vccin at 1.80v for voltages below 1.30v.
Thanks. Will try when I get home later. I have a feeling your right. Much appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-14-2013, 16:49 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

had to dial up to 1.21vcore for 4.4ghz. Memory only seems to work at its best with the xmp profile enabled. Lower frequencies don't seem to help. that's still better than my initial 1.248. Maybe I can hit 4.5 soon....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-14-2013, 19:46 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

You can keep XMP enabled, just change memory divider. I can select from 1600-3000mhz.

I found this z77 mpower uefi, should be similar by you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-14-2013, 20:39 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
You can keep XMP enabled, just change memory divider. I can select from 1600-3000mhz.

I found this z77 mpower uefi, should be similar by you
Yes, that is similiar. Ive tried all of the presets. Im going to try again later to move up to 44x then find a voltage that will boot fine with that, then pick a memory preset and hope it works well with it, then test. ThoSe are the steps ive been taking. Hopefully thats correct. Appreciate your help once again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-14-2013, 20:40 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Ill take bios pictures later and post
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-14-2013, 21:00 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Check if you have something like this and change to 2133mhz while XMP enabled.



This is how i set it atm for 4.7Ghz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-15-2013, 20:30 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Ive tried just about everything from these pictures. The msi board definitely has their settings isted a bit differently, with different terms, but all in all I tried to adjust and pinpoint each setting and couldnt find stability. Its either the board or the cpu is limited. Its an OC board but this is too frustrating for me. Ive spent a week now overclocking. Can only reach 100% stability while gaming at 4.2. Grrrrrrrr
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-17-2013, 22:41 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Funny I thought I was stable at 4.5 after being stable in aida64, then as soon as I played tomb raider it crashed. Just funny sometimes I was sold on the stability!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 10-17-2013, 23:51 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

In that case you need some extra volts, 0.05v should be enough.. Ie 1.260v to 1.265v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-19-2013, 00:26 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Kk ill give it a try. Whats the voltage on your 4.7 oc? Did u get a good oc'er/batch?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 10-20-2013, 16:45 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Ahhh so I seee... you set your vcore for .992 and set it for 1.28v adaptive so that way it can drop down voltage when the clock speed drops then use up to 1.28 as/if needed during max frequency
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kRoOkEd
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 78oTi Superclocked
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Z87 MSI MPOWER MAX
Memory: 16GB 2400MHz ADATA 2x8GB
Soundcard: Creative SOund Blaster Z
PSU: Cooler Master V1000
Default 02-02-2014, 14:44 | posts: 29 | Location: NYC

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
In that case you need some extra volts, 0.05v should be enough.. Ie 1.260v to 1.265v
Hey tj. I know it's been a while.. just wanna say I'm 100% stable at 4.4 1.28 and 2133ram. Chip won't go higher tho. Tried for HOURS. Thanks for all the help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 02-02-2014, 15:49 | posts: 5,593 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Hi, I missed your last reply, that is correct @ idle 800mhz its @ 0.712v or 3500mhz its @ 0.992v anything higher it auto selects proper voltage for each multi.


"Hey tj. I know it's been a while.. just wanna say I'm 100% stable at 4.4 1.28 and 2133ram. Chip won't go higher tho. Tried for HOURS. Thanks for all the help. "


Ah i see, so in the end you had to raise from 1.21 to 1.28v?

What if you use higher LLC?

And don't OC cache (uncore) multi at the same time, keep that at max 41-42x @ ~1.15v adaptive or offset.



As for my early numbers I managed to lower 4.6ghz @ 1.230v and 4.7ghz @ 1.280v, guess newer bios helped too.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.