Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nvidia Outs Call of Duty: Ghosts System Specs and they are HEAVY
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Nvidia Outs Call of Duty: Ghosts System Specs and they are HEAVY - 10-08-2013, 13:44 | posts: 20,517 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Interesting, Nvidia announced the pending Call of Duty: Ghosts System Specs requirements. And they are stringent alright. Call of Duty: Ghosts will be released November 5th and will run on 64-bit o...

Nvidia Outs Call of Duty: Ghosts System Specs and they are HEAVY
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 10-08-2013, 13:51 | posts: 16,126 | Location: US East Coast

the minimum requirements for processor and graphics card aren't bad....but how many people with the old Core 2 Duo processors actually have 6GB or more of ram? Nice to see game studios starting to push 64bit now though.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 10-08-2013, 13:52 | posts: 7,250

That's going to be a fair chunk of the PC CoD community left unhappy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 10-08-2013, 13:57 | posts: 3,894 | Location: Finland

More or less silly when you look at bf4 requirements these are bit over the top for a game like ghosts -.-
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
miffywiffy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 750ti
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: Z87-DELUXE
Memory: 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Asus D2X
PSU: Corsair 950watt
Default 10-08-2013, 13:57 | posts: 520

We all know it'll be maxed out on 4 year old hardware, Nvidia recommends a 780 for obvious reasons but they probably just say that cause you need the Vram for MSAA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-08-2013, 13:58 | posts: 20,517 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by miffywiffy View Post
We all know it'll be maxed out on 4 year old hardware, Nvidia recommends a 780 for obvious reasons but they probably just say that cause you need the Vram for MSAA.
No COD is using a heavily optimized graphics engine in this round. This should be really good. Just have a peek at some of the screenshots in the news item.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
omnimodis78
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GV-N770OC-4GD
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 EXTREME4
Memory: F3-12800CL9Q-16GBXM
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-08-2013, 14:05 | posts: 55 | Location: Canada

Holy...50GB!? That must be a first in gaming history!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 10-08-2013, 14:10 | posts: 6,570 | Location: Dubai

50GB hdd space will be mostly taken up by the single player and 780 is for all the fancy PC exclusive stuff but 6GB RAM? I was expecting 3 or 4 but damn .. 6? Definitely going for 16GB in my next build.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 10-08-2013, 14:18 | posts: 16,126 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
That's going to be a fair chunk of the PC CoD community left unhappy.
Gotta do something to boost hardware/pc sales...and this will do it for a lot of CoD fans....

Quote:
Originally Posted by omnimodis78 View Post
Holy...50GB!? That must be a first in gaming history!
That makes WoW look small at 24.5GB....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
MAD-OGRE
Ancient Guru
 
MAD-OGRE's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI EVGA 780 Classifieds
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: MSI z68A-GD80 G3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengance
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster SP1000
Default 10-08-2013, 14:20 | posts: 2,896 | Location: Alabama

Very cool stuff!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
mohiuddin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus directcu hd6850
Processor: intel core 2 quad q6600
Mainboard: Intel dg33fb
Memory: 3gb ddr2 667bus
Soundcard:
PSU: GIGABYTE 1200w Odin pro
Default 10-08-2013, 14:29 | posts: 528

I think this would run fine on 7850HD/GTX660 on maximum setting without heavy aa and "THE PHYSX".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
schmidtbag
Master Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x ATI HD5750
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: 700W
Default 10-08-2013, 14:30 | posts: 356 | Location: MA, USA

Oh great, this game is probably going to be the worst yet. I thought Oblivion had way too much time spent on minor details and graphics, but I'm sure this game is nothing but that. I'm sure this game can be beaten in 4 hours.


Kind of funny how optical discs could have a comeback. While I do have a 64GB SSD and a 500GB RAID 0 setup, I'd rather let a blu-ray disc keep all the content if games this size are to be the norm.

On that note, for PC games that required a disc to run, I never understood why they weren't used to load (live) some in-game content, such as music or cutscenes. Both of those take up a considerable amount of disk space but can easily be loaded from an optical disc without slowing down the game. If anything, doing this would improve load speeds, since it's 1 less thing for the HDD to be working on.

Last edited by schmidtbag; 10-08-2013 at 14:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
zer0_c0ol
Maha Guru
 
zer0_c0ol's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290xCF
Processor: intel 3930k
Mainboard: rampage iv extreme x79
Memory: 8 gigs kingston hyper x d
Soundcard: audigy 2zs gold
PSU: antec 850 w
Default 10-08-2013, 14:34 | posts: 1,924 | Location: mostar(BIH)

50 gb no way.... this is bigger then max payne 3 and conan
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Fluxeor
Master Guru
 
Fluxeor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-270X Toxic
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ stock.
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR31600
Soundcard: SB Z + Superlux 681
PSU: 650W OCZ ZS Series
Default 10-08-2013, 14:45 | posts: 276 | Location: Edinburgh

That recommended GPU, clearly this time round they're featuring tesselated, gpu physics driven fully rendered fur on the dog.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 10-08-2013, 14:54 | posts: 1,862 | Location: Dominican Republic

It will come in a blu ray disc or what?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 10-08-2013, 15:01 | posts: 7,250

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Gotta do something to boost hardware/pc sales...and this will do it for a lot of CoD fans....
True enough. Although it might have the adverse effect of making a chunk switch to the new consoles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
On that note, for PC games that required a disc to run, I never understood why they weren't used to load (live) some in-game content, such as music or cutscenes. Both of those take up a considerable amount of disk space but can easily be loaded from an optical disc without slowing down the game. If anything, doing this would improve load speeds, since it's 1 less thing for the HDD to be working on.
Some did.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Razor 116
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K 4.7GHz @ 1.280v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ ZS 750W
Default 10-08-2013, 15:30 | posts: 16 | Location: UK

The requirements were actually released by nVidia, so I would take the recommended GPU being a GTX 780 with a huge spoonful of salt. This is COD after all I'm sure those "Next Gen" fish don't require a GTX 780 lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 10-08-2013, 15:38 | posts: 16,126 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
True enough. Although it might have the adverse effect of making a chunk switch to the new consoles.
True. Can't really blame them though. You can buy a console cheaper than a GTX780....or a complete mid-range computer.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 10-08-2013, 16:02 | posts: 318 | Location: Mississippi

BS from Nvidia that is all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
David3k
Newbie
 
Videocard: GPU
Processor: CPU
Mainboard: Motherboard
Memory: RAM
Soundcard: Audio
PSU: PSU
Default 10-08-2013, 16:03 | posts: 21 | Location: Location

TXAA at all levels looks considerably worse than SMAA T2x at greater performance impact, and SMAA 4x looks much better than TXAA at similar cost.

Despite SMAA T2x being free for anyone to implement (they just ask for the named credit for the use of it, I think) TXAA has a GPU company backing it (despite the fact that SMAA performs better on even their own GPUs), pushing for studios to use it.

FXAA is nice, despite being a little blurry, because it has minimal performance cost, while SMAA 1x Medium looks much sharper and cleaner at the same time for only minimally more costly than FXAA. FXAA is figuratively the free PPAA technique.

I have not seen a single comparison of TXAA and SMAA T2x/S2x/4x that has TXAA coming out on top.

So, overall, it really is a huge shame that SMAA isn't getting more visibility, despite the fact that it is an amazing AA filter at every level.
   
Reply With Quote
exactly
Old
  (#21)
Arroco
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 5850 1gb
Processor: AMD 1090t 6core
Mainboard: AsRock 890FX
Memory: Corsair 16Gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: Cougar 700W
Default exactly - 10-08-2013, 16:11 | posts: 2 | Location: Holland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
BS from Nvidia that is all.
as allways
comparing the 550ti with a R 5870 ,when the 5850 is superior to the 550ti
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-08-2013, 16:27 | posts: 23,814 | Location: NZ

Hilbert the recommended specs only list GPU....any word on CPU & RAM?

Damn.....50GB install.....SSD will be handy.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-08-2013 at 16:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 10-08-2013, 16:31 | posts: 5,675 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by omnimodis78 View Post
Holy...50GB!? That must be a first in gaming history!
I think Metal Gear Solid 4 filled up an entire Blu-Ray. Not sure if it was a single or dual layer blu-ray though. So it could of been 24GB or 50GB in size. This was due to the fact it had fully uncompressed audio.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
FordLynx07
Member Guru
 
FordLynx07's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: Core i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 10-08-2013, 17:29 | posts: 79 | Location: Philippines

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohiuddin View Post
I think this would run fine on 7850HD/GTX660 on maximum setting without heavy aa and "THE PHYSX".
I believe this too. And that 50Gb of hardisk space will kill my 128gb ssd...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mohammad.Taheri
Master Guru
 
Mohammad.Taheri's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX760-DCU2
Processor: Intel Core I5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus P8-H77V
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Soundcard: VIA HD & Edifier C2
PSU: Super Flower 900w Gold
Default 10-08-2013, 17:37 | posts: 249 | Location: Tehran, Iran

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arroco View Post
as allways
comparing the 550ti with a R 5870 ,when the 5850 is superior to the 550ti
5870 a lot more powerful than 550ti!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.