Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Palit jetstream GTX 770 not detected
Old
  (#1)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default Palit jetstream GTX 770 not detected - 10-07-2013, 17:47 | posts: 7

Hi All.

May be you can help me to shed some light on my mysterious problem.
Since a while my computer does not recognize my GTX 770 anymore on a regular basis during boot. After several restarts it is recognized as a GTX 660 both in the Device Manager and Nvidia control panel, but then runs stable, and it seems without any lack of performance. In the NVidia it also displays the correct graphics clock rate, etc. only it writes GTX 660 instead of GTX 770.

When did that occur?
Not 100% sure. Either when I installed a razor Nostromo or during some update by the Nvidia Experience software. Of course I am not sure if this is related in any way.

What did I do so far.
1.
Uninstalled the razor Nostromo.
Uninstalled the display driver. Used driver Fusion (safe mode)
Installed the driver 320.49 again. this time only the driver and PhysX
did not help
2.
Same procedure..unistall. driver fusion (safe mode)
Installed the driver 327.23. Only the driver and PhysX
did not help
3.
updated graphics card bios
did not help
4.
Reinstalled win 8
Installed driver 327.23. Only the driver and PhysX
did not help

Also may be note worthy.
In case the Nvidia card is not recognized but a generic VGA I see the whole boot sequenze coming up. Otherwise the screen stays black and I arrive at the Win 8 login screen directly.

System spec.
CPU: i7-2600K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0 (bios version not sure)
HD: Samsung SSD 830 128 Gb
Sound: Realtek onboard
OS: Win8 Pro, 64-bit

Anybody any idea? How could I get my computer starting up properly again and recognizing my GTX 770? I mean it used to work perfectly fine.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
chuchicoupe
Newbie
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 670
Processor: amd fx-6300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 10-07-2013, 18:41 | posts: 28

might be a gtx 660...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 10-07-2013, 18:52 | posts: 6,500 | Location: USA

did you purchase it from ebay or something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BillieGDJoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
Processor: Phenom II X4 960T@3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A88-M EVO
Memory: Corsair Vengence 8GB 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750W
Default 10-07-2013, 19:37 | posts: 17 | Location: Brazil

The BIOS flashed in the card is correct? Are you sure itīs a 770 (physically)?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6416
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-07-2013, 20:20 | posts: 587 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Here is GPU-Z screenshot for my Palit GeForce GTX 660 2GB GDDR5, standard (non-OC version) with MSI Afterburner turned off:


Run GPU-Z and compare specs and clocks.

Your card must be this:
http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=2141

...my card is:
http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=2019


Edit
You probably used BIOS + BIOS updater from Palit link below 327.23 drivers, try to flash one of five BIOS's from this link here ...but use only last five with JetS.tream under the name.

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 10-07-2013 at 20:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-07-2013, 20:44 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillieGDJoe View Post
The BIOS flashed in the card is correct? Are you sure itīs a 770 (physically)?
100% Sure. It is a GTX 770. It was shown as such before in the device manager and nvidia control panel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-07-2013, 20:53 | posts: 7

100% sure I bought a GTX 770. It was shown as such before my computer started not to recognize my card anymore. I updated the bios after that not before.

cuda cores 1536
graphics clock: 1150MHz
Memeory rate 7010 Mhz
memory interface 256-bit
memeory bandwidth: 4096 MB
Video Bios version 80.04.C3.0013
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6416
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-07-2013, 21:27 | posts: 587 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Weird indeed ... Did you tried to flash latest BIOS for that card? http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/1...48-130704.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BillieGDJoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
Processor: Phenom II X4 960T@3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A88-M EVO
Memory: Corsair Vengence 8GB 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750W
Default 10-07-2013, 21:27 | posts: 17 | Location: Brazil

Only way to be sure is physically checking the board, this information can be manipulated by BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6416
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-07-2013, 21:43 | posts: 587 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillieGDJoe View Post
Only way to be sure is physically checking the board, this information can be manipulated by BIOS.
Palit GeForce GTX 770 JETSTRE@M (2048MB GDDR5) has a much longer PCB compared to Palit GeForce GTX 660 (2048MB GDDR5), no way that anyone can fake that and mount that 3-fan JetStre@m cooler on Palit GTX 660 PCB with ease.

Also Palit GTX 660 has only one additional 6-pin power supply connector, Palit GTX 770 JetStre@m has 1x 6-pin & 1x 8-pin.

Even my granny can't be fooled to mix up those two.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Talking 10-07-2013, 21:48 | posts: 1,822

Photo or it didn't happen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6416
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-07-2013, 22:04 | posts: 587 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Maybe one lost Palit GTX 660 soul is haunting your graphic card. Time for egsorcizm... Just joking...

I've seen so much weird things about PC hardware in my career but never something like that, that can't happen without some manual edit of graphic card BIOS or without manual editing of NVidia drivers cfg files.

Like 3dPlayer mentioned before show us some proof for that, I'm geting suspicious...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Rapyer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z68P8 VLX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DD3 1600hz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-08-2013, 10:47 | posts: 159

and we never heard from op again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-08-2013, 16:58 | posts: 7

Ok guys. Let's please not debate if I have a GTX770 or not...one more time It was recognized as GTX770 before and was running stable since may or so. Now I have the hickup during start recognizing it most of the time as generic VGA. Once it is running it is shown as GTX 660.
Any idea how I can solve this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BillieGDJoe
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
Processor: Phenom II X4 960T@3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A88-M EVO
Memory: Corsair Vengence 8GB 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750W
Default 10-08-2013, 19:04 | posts: 17 | Location: Brazil

If you have 100% sure itīs a 770 (physically), then my money is on VGA BIOS problem ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
chuchicoupe
Newbie
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 670
Processor: amd fx-6300
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 10-08-2013, 19:30 | posts: 28

BIOS too. Try this http://www.palit.biz/palit/download....te=vga&id=2141
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6416
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 10-08-2013, 21:12 | posts: 587 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

I say RMA that card to save your nerves, if that card is acting weird after flashing to latest BIOS probably the BIOS chip is faulty. Do a revert to latest BIOS from Palit.biz and send that card to RMA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-09-2013, 12:49 | posts: 7

Hm...k I will try to get it installed into another computer.
Bios of GTX 770 is updated
Bios of the motherboard is updated. After that win8 run into a problem and I had to restore the whole thing.
Still the same....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-12-2013, 09:26 | posts: 7

After bios update and win8 reinstall it was starting up now without problems but still the GTX 660 was shown.

-Changed power settings to High performance
-Installed Unigine Heaven benchmark to test performance.
-Got message that MSVCP100.dll is missing. So I installed the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64).
-Run the benchmark despite the GTX 660 naming, the result was comparable to other GTX 770 setups which I found online.

In the meanwhile windows asked for a system update to be installed and oh wonder the computer started up and recognized my card again as GTX 770. Strangely at the moment that happened my intel 3000 onboard graphics adapter dissapeard from the device manager....

UNINSTALLING THE INTEL 3000 ONBOARD GRAPHICS IS THE SOLUTION
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 10-12-2013, 10:02 | posts: 1,492

Quote:
UNINSTALLING THE INTEL 3000 ONBOARD GRAPHICS IS THE SOLUTION
Not this again...
Anyways, why windows always has issues when the BIOS has Intel CPU graphic enable...

PS:It is not onboard, it is onCPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
kupupkupu
Newbie
 
Videocard: palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0
Memory: 8Gb/2x 4Gb
Soundcard: onboard realtek
PSU: 700w
Default 10-12-2013, 13:08 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenYeeHua View Post
Not this again...
Anyways, why windows always has issues when the BIOS has Intel CPU graphic enable...

PS:It is not onboard, it is onCPU.
Right, CPU
Before the Bios was set to use PCI 16 slot as preferred one. When I installed the Gtx 770 into my existing win 8 system there was no problem whatsoever... And all of a sudden big time failure. Next time they should give a warning: we will update your nicely running system, please expect your computer running unstable afterward.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 10-12-2013, 15:03 | posts: 1,492

lol, but with windows 8.1, they also having some issues.
Like if you are running Dxdiag, you will see the information from HD3000 but not GTX 770, and it is showing the graphic as GTX 770.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gtx 770

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.