Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gpu utilization low
Old
  (#1)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980 SLI
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard: MSI x79-gda plus
Memory: 32GB DDR3 2133Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: 750
Default Gpu utilization low - 10-02-2013, 01:23 | posts: 78

So what's the point of an sli profile, if the game still never uses more than 50-60% each card?

Max I ever see is ~75%, but that is never consistent.

Any tips?

Last edited by Deasnutz; 10-02-2013 at 01:46.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Uncle Dude
Maha Guru
 
Uncle Dude's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 G1 SLI
Processor: 2600k/H100i @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: Vengeance 16GB@1866
Soundcard: Avid Eleven Rack
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 10-02-2013, 04:01 | posts: 2,260 | Location: USA

Could do with some more info, such as which games and resolution - and I presume you're not using v-sync.

Many games SLI profiles "work", meaning each card is utilized equally (recently, ArmA 3 and State of Decay), but are not optimized, and may result in worse performance and/or stuttering/hitching. Also, if you gaming at 1080p or less, there's a good chance you are cpu-bound by any and all cores; thus the gpus are left waiting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 10-06-2013, 19:59 | posts: 1,141 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

it's called cpu bottleneck.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
elite69
Master Guru
 
elite69's Avatar
 
Videocard: not shore
Processor: core i5 later
Mainboard: asus later
Memory: ddr3 later
Soundcard: on board.pioneer
PSU: tacens v-850
Default 10-07-2013, 07:38 | posts: 349 | Location: portugal

first psu brand and seem a bit weack cpu bottleneck na.Second ram brand and speed,and third mcp info man, it could be lack of power or slow ram but in what games you see that low gpu usage?
   
Reply With Quote
 
S
Old
  (#5)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980 SLI
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard: MSI x79-gda plus
Memory: 32GB DDR3 2133Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: 750
Default S - 10-07-2013, 22:48 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by elite69 View Post
first psu brand and seem a bit weack cpu bottleneck na.Second ram brand and speed,and third mcp info man, it could be lack of power or slow ram but in what games you see that low gpu usage?
Mainly bf3/4. Mem is 2133 corsair 11/11/11/30 2t. Benches at 28GB/s throughput. Psu is a cooler master 750w, I believe. Not really sure where I'd get more CPU without going Xeon octa. P9X79 Pro

It may just be this game, I'm thinking distance type draws are single threaded

Thx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
nizzen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 780ti classy SLI
Processor: 4960x@ ~4800
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Black x79
Memory: G.Skill 2666cl10
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP1300 + C-1200i
Talking 10-07-2013, 22:58 | posts: 216

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deasnutz View Post
Mainly bf3/4. Mem is 2133 corsair 11/11/11/30 2t. Benches at 28GB/s throughput. Psu is a cooler master 750w, I believe. Not really sure where I'd get more CPU without going Xeon octa. P9X79 Pro

It may just be this game, I'm thinking distance type draws are single threaded

Thx
Look @ gpu load when going from 1333mhz memory to 2666 memory.

4770k @ 4800mhz.

Bf3 @ ultrasettings 1080p

http://www.diskusjon.no/index.php?sh...887&p=20783473

Stock cpu @ the same place is about 62-65 fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
drbaltazar
Banned
 
Videocard: amd 7950 3gb
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: asus p8z68-v-le
Memory: channel flex 1x2gb+1x8gb
Soundcard: microsoft lx-3000
PSU: 700w
Default 10-08-2013, 03:27 | posts: 416 | Location: french part of america

Y'a there is a huge curve or diminishing return in RAM!it was tested this month .best?max supported by cpu.in your case ddr2 1600

Noise and all that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980 SLI
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard: MSI x79-gda plus
Memory: 32GB DDR3 2133Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: 750
Default 10-08-2013, 04:44 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by drbaltazar View Post
Y'a there is a huge curve or diminishing return in RAM!it was tested this month .best?max supported by cpu.in your case ddr2 1600

Noise and all that!
Explain again please? My cpu will support quad channel DDR3 up to 2400 OC.

Right know, I'm only using dual channel with DDR3 2133, 16GB.

From the link up above, I'm gathering that higher throughput is best?

I guess I could downclock to 1600 and lower latency if it's suggesting the opposite.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nizzen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 780ti classy SLI
Processor: 4960x@ ~4800
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Black x79
Memory: G.Skill 2666cl10
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP1300 + C-1200i
Default 10-08-2013, 11:24 | posts: 216

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deasnutz View Post
Explain again please? My cpu will support quad channel DDR3 up to 2400 OC.

Right know, I'm only using dual channel with DDR3 2133, 16GB.

From the link up above, I'm gathering that higher throughput is best?

I guess I could downclock to 1600 and lower latency if it's suggesting the opposite.
Higher frequency is better in bf3/4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980 SLI
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard: MSI x79-gda plus
Memory: 32GB DDR3 2133Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: 750
Default 10-09-2013, 00:05 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by nizzen View Post
Higher frequency is better in bf3/4
Not sure how much higher I need to go from 2133 ddr3. I'll also assume it's not a CPU bottleneck with a 4930k @ 4.5.

The only conclusion seems to be poor drivers. Oh well, the 290x should be available any day now, and my 780's will go fairly quickly on eBay.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
elite69
Master Guru
 
elite69's Avatar
 
Videocard: not shore
Processor: core i5 later
Mainboard: asus later
Memory: ddr3 later
Soundcard: on board.pioneer
PSU: tacens v-850
Default 10-11-2013, 06:20 | posts: 349 | Location: portugal

just like i said cpu puting you down dont belive so try this last drivers or fresh instal of Windows.Just tel something in gta 4 you have low gpu usage aswel?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
milamber
Maha Guru
 
milamber's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4Gb MSI GTX 980 Gaming OC
Processor: Intel i7-3820 @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: 16Gb Gskill Sniper @1666
Soundcard: Logitech Z623 / onboard
PSU: Corsair AX-850
Default 10-11-2013, 09:59 | posts: 890 | Location: Australia

I've got this problem with AC3. I thought I'd get a constant 60fps with 780 SLI (compared to 680 SLI where it dipped as low as 40fps sometimes). But I'm getting max 50% on both GPUs and it's still dipping below 60fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.