Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I think i should lay off the english.
Old
  (#1)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7770 [1100/1300]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default I think i should lay off the english. - 09-30-2013, 23:19 | posts: 1,330 | Location: Portugal

Ok, so im Portuguese and the only language we speak here is portuguese. Ive been writing a lot of english for the past 2 years and now it seems i have developed a problem. Im speaking portuguese and all of a sudden i want to say something in portuguese but only remember the english word for the whatever im thinking. That happens A LOT. Just this morning i wanted to say mo(hand) and couldnt remember the word; like wtf, how can i forget that.

Anyway its a fact i have some burned fuses, but theres a lot of non-english speaking folks here in the forum; im wondering if this happens to anyone else.

And what are your thoughts on this silliness?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 09-30-2013, 23:26 | posts: 26,644 | Location: Hampshire UK

Happens to me all the time, only in 3 languages. English pops up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 09-30-2013, 23:34 | posts: 2,151 | Location: far,far from home

i am speaking (getting my IT certifications in) spanish at (work/school),i am thinking in my native language and speaking in it with my wife,i post on the forums in english and i am trying to get some german classes.
happens a LOT to misplace or misuse words,and my friend is always thinking that i have some nuts rattling loose.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 09-30-2013, 23:37 | posts: 4,900 | Location: London

I have this problem when in other countries, mainly France, not so much in Germany as my German is better than my French and many Germans will actually speak English to you, but never in England, thankfully (native language).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 10-01-2013, 00:04 | posts: 915

I imagine heavy weeaboos or anime/manga translators have that issue, only for them it's intentional. (actually anime even mixes English/Japanese all the time. Whether it be text, or dialog.)

If you watch a lot of foreign films, or even just youtube vids (being subscribed to a foreign Let's Player) you can start picking up mannerisms or speech patterns.

Kent Paul
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPIqZ8B4_hc

I think that's when I started saying "Oh, piss off" from playing Vice City.

Also, StewieTech, I would of never guessed English wasn't your first language. Even this being forums you come off really fluent.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 10-01-2013, 00:53 | posts: 7,439 | Location: Canada, Quebec

I speak French english and that's enough for me lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
elkosith
Maha Guru
 
elkosith's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9600 GT :(
Processor: Intel E7300 @ 3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Memory: DDR2 800 2 x 1GB
Soundcard: Topping D2 + Blow4
PSU: 420 Watts
Default 10-01-2013, 04:32 | posts: 1,193 | Location: Indonesia

Nope, I don't have that missing words problem. My native language is Indonesian, and I don't use English extensively. I only speak English to my students (it's a must, school's rule). To my colleague, it's a mix between Indonesian and English.

At home, nobody speak English. My wife can speak English a bit, but her pronunciation is weird and often makes grammar mistakes, so I don't like speaking English with her.

Last edited by elkosith; 10-01-2013 at 05:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
EspHack
Maha Guru
 
EspHack's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI/HD5770/1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-980X
Mainboard: Intel DX58SO
Memory: DDR3/1600MHz/16GB/4 stick
Soundcard: ASUS XonarDX/Logitech G51
PSU: EPS Super Flower 750w
Default 10-01-2013, 04:48 | posts: 1,840

happens a lot when im thinking about tech, you know.. the thing that made me learn this lenguage in the first place, i think it is pretty normal
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 10-01-2013, 07:41 | posts: 16,752 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

I'm 100% Norwegian, but at least at least half of my thought activity is in English. It's ****ed up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 10-01-2013, 09:47 | posts: 4,263 | Location: Serbia, NS

Ofc it happens, i always use english when i can't remember the words.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
S3nt3nc3
Master Guru
 
S3nt3nc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 @ 1270/1680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: GA-Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: DDR3 8GB CorsairVengeance
Soundcard: ATH A900 + Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 10-01-2013, 11:01 | posts: 267 | Location: far away from u

Happens to a lot of people i know from work. For me it's not forgetting words but dropping foreign words randomly in sentences without realizing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 10-01-2013, 11:02 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

I think in English even though it's not my native language. When speaking another language I often end up having to translate from English because the thought that pops up is in English, I don't immediately remember the words in another language, that really annoys me. So I have your problem +1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 10-01-2013, 11:24 | posts: 915

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
I think in English even though it's not my native language.
Now that is interesting!


While on the subject, I can't imagine thoughts without language, it's very hard for me to picture that. Although, sometimes I wonder if spoken/written language is too imperfect to get our ideas, memories and feelings across.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Vardant
Member Guru
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 560 Ti OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770-UD3
Memory: Kingston 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi / Mission 5.1
PSU: Seasonic 500W
Default 10-01-2013, 11:27 | posts: 66

Happens to me all the time. I even dream in English from time to time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Miller
Master Guru
 
Miller's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660ti Signature FTW
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: Creative 5.1s/iBasso D2
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 10-01-2013, 12:57 | posts: 742 | Location: Inverness

As a native English speaker I don't have this problem; however, I have a sort-of 'inverted' problem.

I am disabled through illness and the illness leads to me having a very poor memory, getting confused etc. Although I only fluently speak English I love languages. When energy permits I actively study Old English and have a real fondness for Norwegian and German (having studied (and loved) it in school). I also know a little bit of Thai.

My problem is that, due to the confusion I get, I'll be speaking or thinking in English and suddenly find myself needing to use a word but only being able to find its Old English, German or Thai counterpart.

Anyway, credit where it's due to the quality of English you chaps speak. I never fail to be impressed at non-native speakers who pick up the language so well.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7770 [1100/1300]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 10-01-2013, 14:43 | posts: 1,330 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veeshush View Post
Also, StewieTech, I would of never guessed English wasn't your first language. Even this being forums you come off really fluent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller View Post
Anyway, credit where it's due to the quality of English you chaps speak. I never fail to be impressed at non-native speakers who pick up the language so well.
The thing is, if your native language is not english and you try to learn english, its far easier than the other way around. Because english is everywhere. We have basic lessons of english through school and high-school; we go see a movie and they speak english; we play a game - same thing; were a 12 years old kid trying to figure why a certain game is crashing, and we have no choice but to google, read and learn english or were screwed. Were a 18 y.o. collegue student learning C++ and we have to deal with english books. If i wanted to learn, say, french, id have a pretty difficult task at hand too. For you guys that speak english since birth, i understand why it seems difficult to comprehend how one can speak a foreign language so well. Im far from master english though, i always have my location as "Portugal" so people dont try to bust my balls when i make a grammatical error during a discussion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
viren
Maha Guru
 
viren's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 570
Processor: I7 870
Mainboard: P55
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: 7.1 PCI-E
PSU: 800W
Default 10-01-2013, 16:30 | posts: 2,357 | Location: Pune, India

This is normal. I speak three languages, whenever is start speaking in any language and fall short of words i start speaking in the other language.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 10-01-2013, 18:22 | posts: 12,669 | Location: Southampton, UK

I forget English words all the time, which is a problem because I don't speak any other languages...


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
CronoGraal
Ancient Guru
 
CronoGraal's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9450 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 750W TX
Default 10-01-2013, 18:28 | posts: 3,827 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias View Post
I forget English words all the time, which is a problem because I don't speak any other languages...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 10-01-2013, 19:06 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias View Post
I forget English words all the time, which is a problem because I don't speak any other languages...
Lol...me to...(I ain't as think as you drunk I am)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 980 SC & GTX 770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 10-01-2013, 19:24 | posts: 421 | Location: Belgium

Never had a problem with that altough in the 90ties i worked on a Nato base with alot of American soldiers,English became my second language due to speaking it daily.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
waxbytes
Member Guru
 
waxbytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 760 2Gb
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: ASUS z87 plus
Memory: 16 GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: XFi XtremeGamer.
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750W
Default 10-01-2013, 19:46 | posts: 124 | Location: Canada.

You guys are lucky. I only speak english so when I forget a word I come to complete stop and feel stupid.

It must be nice to have a second vocabulary to fill in the blanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
death__machine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 7790 Turbo
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 G45
Memory: 8GBx2 2133MHZ DDR3 Viper
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec HCG 750W
Default 10-01-2013, 20:00 | posts: 795 | Location: Dubai

I don't even think in my native language most of the time.

Its all mixed up. I speak Hindi at home, English with colleagues and on the web, Read Arabic and speak really basic Arabic AND I have to understand the language that my parents speak in(I don't).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 10-01-2013, 20:02 | posts: 10,978 | Location: Finland

Doesn't happen to me at all while speaking. English is so different and has nothing to do with Finnish.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 10-01-2013, 21:56 | posts: 8,073 | Location: UK

Sounds like you have a really good grasp on English OP, that's brilliant as it takes a lot of effort to get very good at a language.

I find myself thinking in Spanish from time to time, and have had the odd dream or two in it...that's pretty weird but then I love it so it's not a problem.

Went to France recently, that really messed me up. Some very odd stuff was coming out...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.