Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Free Firewalls working in Windows 8.1?
Old
  (#1)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default Free Firewalls working in Windows 8.1? - 09-22-2013, 13:03 | posts: 796

Since the release of Windows 8.1 RTM a few of my regular programs have stopped working, one being Comodo Free Firewall as Windows 8.1 will not allow it to install.

Tried the following free Firewalls and found them to be incompatible with Windows 8.1:

Comodo Firewall Free
ZoneAlarm Free Firewall 2013 (Lets you install in Windows 8.1 then complains when it runs)
Agnitum Outpost Free

Currently found the Free version of Online Armor to be compatible as it's installed and running without any obvious issues so far.

Anyone else running a free firewall under Windows 8.1?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 09-22-2013, 13:06 | posts: 6,575 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea, the Windows firewall is more than enough
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-22-2013, 13:23 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Windows 7 firewall Control. They need to rename it... But it works with Windows 8.1

http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/index.html

The free version can be used in conjunction with the built in Windows firewall. I use the paid version, and have Windows firewall switched off, as this is much more powerful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 09-22-2013, 13:42 | posts: 4,361 | Location: Spain

Comodo works "perfectly"

you only have to change the exe name of the installer, then also change the exe name of "cis.exe" to "cis2.exe" and "cistray.exe" and "cistray2.exe" and use "mklink cis.exe cis2.exe" and "mklink cistray.exe cistray2.exe" <-- or the other way around

Also maybe (idk if totally needed):
Run regedit, go to this value
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Network
On the right side you will see MaxNumFilters REG_DWORD change it's value from 1 to 8. Reboot your machine and then install Comodo internet security and if you already did , Do it again.

If you don't have the above DWORD, you can simple create a new one by right click selecting New \ DWORD name it MaxNumFilters and change it's value to 8.


There's also a unofficial comodo 6.3 which works out of the box, but i prefer the previous one, looks safer

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 09-22-2013 at 13:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-22-2013, 15:08 | posts: 796

I believe Windows Firewall blocks all incoming connections by default unless it's in the firewall rule and allows all outgoing connections by default unless you specifically make a rule, so any spyware can 'phone home' and Windows Firewall won't alert you. Had this issue before even when the 'Notify me' option was ticked I never got notified? I know it's a powerful firewall but it's not very user-friendly. Online Armor is notifying me about outbound connections just like Comodo did, if Windows Firewall did that I'd probably stick with that.

Windows 7 firewall Control is a bit of a misnomer as it's compatible with XP up to 8.1, not just 7 and there is a free version

So far these FREE firewalls are compatible with Windows 8.1:

Windows 7 Firewall Control
Online Armor Free

@Black_ice_Spain: Read about that on the Comodo forums and decided not to bother, if you have to start circumventing compatibility checks to get programs installed you might run into unknown issues. Better to wait for a compatible BETA or Final Release of Comodo Firewall.

You could also check if your program is compatible at the Windows Compatibility Center: http://windows.com/compatibility
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-22-2013, 17:39 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
I believe Windows Firewall blocks all incoming connections by default unless it's in the firewall rule and allows all outgoing connections by default unless you specifically make a rule, so any spyware can 'phone home' and Windows Firewall won't alert you. Had this issue before even when the 'Notify me' option was ticked I never got notified? I know it's a powerful firewall but it's not very user-friendly. Online Armor is notifying me about outbound connections just like Comodo did, if Windows Firewall did that I'd probably stick with that.

Windows 7 firewall Control is a bit of a misnomer as it's compatible with XP up to 8.1, not just 7 and there is a free version

So far these FREE firewalls are compatible with Windows 8.1:

Windows 7 Firewall Control
Online Armor Free

@Black_ice_Spain: Read about that on the Comodo forums and decided not to bother, if you have to start circumventing compatibility checks to get programs installed you might run into unknown issues. Better to wait for a compatible BETA or Final Release of Comodo Firewall.

You could also check if your program is compatible at the Windows Compatibility Center: http://windows.com/compatibility
Windows 7 Firewall Control blocks everything you could think of. Not too sure on the free version but the paid for version is the best software firewall you can buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-22-2013, 17:59 | posts: 796

It's free versions I'm interested in, the link to W7FC shows the comparison of all versions, free just gets application firewall, block notifications and IPv6 support.

The free version of Online Armor has quite a bit more available, not just firewall: Web Shield, Keylogger Detection, Host file modification and Program Control.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-22-2013, 18:16 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
It's free versions I'm interested in, the link to W7FC shows the comparison of all versions, free just gets application firewall, block notifications and IPv6 support.

The free version of Online Armor has quite a bit more available, not just firewall: Web Shield, Keylogger Detection, Host file modification and Program Control.
It all depends on what you are looking for I guess. Things like web shield and keylogger stuff is hit or miss. If you have big selection of applications all with different rule sets. You would spot any unusual internet activity when it tried to get passed the firewall.

It's also worth remembering that the free version of W7FC is used along side the Windows firewall, both of them running.

Last edited by Ghosty; 09-22-2013 at 18:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-22-2013, 18:58 | posts: 796

Also depends if you want to pay! With more software being 'rent' than 'buy' nowadays you never feel you own it as you have to pay yearly subs to keep using it, particularly for definitions if you have a paid Anti-Virus.

At least W7FC has a 'perpetual licence', but does that cover new versions?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-22-2013, 19:03 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Also depends if you want to pay! With more software being 'rent' than 'buy' nowadays you never feel you own it as you have to pay yearly subs to keep using it, particularly for definitions if you have a paid Anti-Virus.

At least W7FC has a 'perpetual licence', but does that cover new versions?
If they bring out a major new version you have to pay for it. For example you have 5.0, and 6.1 is release you would have to buy it, but you also get a 20% discount if you have a paid for previous version. If they bring out a version that is 5.1 or 5.2 then you would get that free. Once you buy a version it's perfectly fine, and you don't really need to upgrade unless you really like something they included in a later release.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-22-2013, 21:24 | posts: 796

That follows most companies upgrade policies, free upgrades within same version but pay for next major version.

Also found Jetico Personal Firewall (Paid) is Windows 8.1 compatible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-22-2013, 21:31 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
That follows most companies upgrade policies, free upgrades within same version but pay for next major version.

Also found Jetico Personal Firewall (Paid) is Windows 8.1 compatible.
There is a beta version of Windows 8 Firewall control, which will probably be out soon. If you were to buy, it would be better to wait till this was released.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-23-2013, 19:35 | posts: 796

Their forum has pre-release versions of 6.0.7.43 including the free x86/x64 versions so might try the free x64 version in an Windows 8.1 Hyper-V.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-23-2013, 19:44 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

If you have any questions, PM me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 09-23-2013, 22:38 | posts: 16,428 | Location: US East Coast

IF I need something more than the included Windows Firewall, I install TinyWall. It's not actually a firewall, but provides better control over the built-in Windows firewall. It provides inbound and outbound control as well as alerts.

According to what I've read from several security vendors, they're not actually permitted to disable the Windows Firewall in Win8, but instead they simply provide a UI for controlling the Windows Firewall.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
grufferator
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon HD7850 1G
Processor: Intel Core i3 2120
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PV 2.0
Memory: Corsair 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: GlacialPower GP-AL650A
Default 09-24-2013, 17:19 | posts: 11

I use Windows 8 Firewall Control Plus (paid version) for free together with Norton Antivirus 21.1.0.5 Beta. A popup shows from time to time remindimg me I should buy it. There are no other restrictions.

You can download it here: http://sphinx-soft.com/download/prer...Plus-Setup.exe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-25-2013, 15:43 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Windows 8 (6.1) Firewall control has been released now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 09-25-2013, 20:01 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I don't get why you don't just use Windows Firewall? Compared to Windows XP's useless firewall, Windows Firewall from Vista onwards actually work a lot better. In some cases, even better than Linux's iptables.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-25-2013, 21:00 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
I don't get why you don't just use Windows Firewall? Compared to Windows XP's useless firewall, Windows Firewall from Vista onwards actually work a lot better. In some cases, even better than Linux's iptables.

deltatux
I don't like the layout and how it works. Sometimes it doesn't show a pop up for a new application straight away. You can also be playing a game and the pop up for allowing the application will be showing in the background, not blocking anything. Personal choice I guess, but for me WFC blocks all outgoing traffic, and gives an instant pop-up. Which I like a lot.

Last edited by Ghosty; 09-25-2013 at 21:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 4gb @1250mhz
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 09-25-2013, 21:41 | posts: 1,735 | Location: Israel - Haifa

New comodo 6.3 is out support win 8.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BarryB
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 09-25-2013, 22:44 | posts: 796

Thanks yosef, just downloaded!

Had a problem uninstalling Online Armor though, tried the 'uninstall or change a program' route but just got a box saying something about closing Online Armor then nothing. Couldn't reboot so had to do the 4sec power button shutdown. Rebooted and thankfully it uninstalled!!

Couldn't get Comodo running initially as it said the firewall wasn't functioning properly? Found out I had done the 'MaxNumFilters' trick to try to get the previous version of Comodo firewall working but it just wouldn't work under 8.1 so uninstalled but forgot to delete the MaxNumFilters entry from the registry. After deleting that from the registry and uninstalling/re-installing Comodo it's now working
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 09-26-2013, 13:41 | posts: 16,428 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
I don't get why you don't just use Windows Firewall? Compared to Windows XP's useless firewall, Windows Firewall from Vista onwards actually work a lot better. In some cases, even better than Linux's iptables.

deltatux
For Windows8 the "signed" 3rd party firewalls do nothing but add a custom UI to control the Windows firewall. MS doesn't actually allow the Windows Firewall to be disabled in Windows8.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-26-2013, 15:15 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
For Windows8 the "signed" 3rd party firewalls do nothing but add a custom UI to control the Windows firewall. MS doesn't actually allow the Windows Firewall to be disabled in Windows8.
I didn't know that. I have WIndow 8 firewall turned off. Checked the inbound and outbound rule set, and yes you are correct. The fact that you can't turn it off is a bit rubbish.

EDIT* You can completely disable Windows Firewall by going to services and disabling it that way.

Last edited by Ghosty; 09-26-2013 at 15:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 09-26-2013, 15:56 | posts: 16,428 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
I didn't know that. I have WIndow 8 firewall turned off. Checked the inbound and outbound rule set, and yes you are correct. The fact that you can't turn it off is a bit rubbish.

EDIT* You can completely disable Windows Firewall by going to services and disabling it that way.
The user can disable it, but the security companies aren't permitted to do so themselves. The Windows Firewall has a ****load of configuration options available that aren't generally exposed to the user for security reasons. Instead, you have to use 3rd party applications to expose those options, which can be both good and bad as we all know. MS does allow 3rd party security software to provide additional features to work in conjunction with the Windows Firewall though.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-26-2013, 16:03 | posts: 3,377 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
The user can disable it, but the security companies aren't permitted to do so themselves. The Windows Firewall has a ****load of configuration options available that aren't generally exposed to the user for security reasons. Instead, you have to use 3rd party applications to expose those options, which can be both good and bad as we all know. MS does allow 3rd party security software to provide additional features to work in conjunction with the Windows Firewall though.
Is disabling Windows firewall a good idea. I like the idea of it not running, whilst I use a 3rd party one. But is it truly disabled via services?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.