Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SLI Problem + Maximus V Extreme (Black PCIe Slot)
Old
  (#1)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default SLI Problem + Maximus V Extreme (Black PCIe Slot) - 09-15-2013, 05:39 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

So this is frustrating me.

Optimally for airflow, I want to use the black PCIe slot of my Maximus V Extreme...but when I install my second video card, it doesn't detect it. I've messed with all the Preset settings in the bios (also tried different Gen1,Gen2,Gen3 modes) and no dice. Any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 09-15-2013, 06:00 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

So I had to remove my Creative Titanium HD and boom, second card is now being identified and running at native 8x speed (vs PLX)...I guess I have to find another audio solution other than onboard...just not sure what/how?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 09-15-2013, 06:15 | posts: 13,251 | Location: USA

That board has a x4 slot, so stick the sound card in it. Put your GPUs in the 1st and 3rd slot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 09-15-2013, 06:41 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
That board has a x4 slot, so stick the sound card in it. Put your GPUs in the 1st and 3rd slot.
I had it that way initially and it all worked BUT the secondary video card was running in 8x PLX mode instead of native...now in the black 2B slot it runs 8X native and it's much smoother (I see no microstuttering at all). I'm in kind of a bind as to what to do. Maybe a newer sound card is PCIE 3.0 compliant? Not sure on that.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Megabiv
Master Guru
 
Megabiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX580 SLI (h²o)
Processor: i7 950 - 3.84Ghz (h²o)
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: 24GB Geil 1600mhz (6x4gb)
Soundcard: XonarD2X¦Microlab Solo7C
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 09-15-2013, 10:30 | posts: 262 | Location: Worcester UK

Have a look in the manual (I know I know..) and see if it mentions any specific configurations to use when running multiple GPU's and PCI-E cards.

For example my X58 Sabertooth has 3x PCI-x16 slots. It will happily run slots 1 + 2 at x16 and slot 3 at x4 (but only at x1 if another PCI-E slot it used).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
keromyaou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC x2
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar
PSU: Coolermaster 1250W
Default 09-15-2013, 12:42 | posts: 94

I use Asus Maximus V Extreme myself. I have two Titans in slot 1 and 4 (native PCI-E). And I also have a Asus Xonor audio card in 4xPCI-E lane (slot 6). They all work fine. GPU-Z recognizes as two 8xPCI-E (ver 3.0). I don't know in which lane you exactly put your audio card. But at least for me, this configuration works fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 09-15-2013, 16:34 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megabiv View Post
Have a look in the manual (I know I know..) and see if it mentions any specific configurations to use when running multiple GPU's and PCI-E cards.

For example my X58 Sabertooth has 3x PCI-x16 slots. It will happily run slots 1 + 2 at x16 and slot 3 at x4 (but only at x1 if another PCI-E slot it used).
Haha, I did. It recommends me to set it up the way I have it now for Native performance. What it doesn't tell you is that if you use another card in the PCIe slots, it'll break it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keromyaou View Post
I use Asus Maximus V Extreme myself. I have two Titans in slot 1 and 4 (native PCI-E). And I also have a Asus Xonor audio card in 4xPCI-E lane (slot 6). They all work fine. GPU-Z recognizes as two 8xPCI-E (ver 3.0). I don't know in which lane you exactly put your audio card. But at least for me, this configuration works fine.
I did that but then card 2 is running in PLX and slower, micro stuttering is in effect.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
keromyaou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC x2
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar
PSU: Coolermaster 1250W
Default 09-15-2013, 18:27 | posts: 94

I see. Interesting. How did you detect if PLX is being used or not? Are you sure that there are definitely differences between two 8xPCI-E (native) only and two 8xPCI-E (native) plus one 4xPCI-E in terms of micro stuttering?

According to Wikipedia, Z77 board has main PCI-E lanes and secondary PCI-E lanes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGA_1155). The main PCI-E lanes are either 16x1 or 8x2 (3.0) while the secondary lane is 8x1 (2.0). I thought that the 4xPCI-E lane (3.0, slot 6) was based on the secondary PCI-E (2.0). I don't know precisely how PLX works for the main and the secondary PCI-E lanes. If Z77 board has one 16xPCI-E (3.0, main) and one 8xPCI-E (2.0, secondary) natively, I don't think that PLX is required for two 8xPCI-E (3.0) and one 4xPCI-E (3.0) configuration.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 09-15-2013, 19:00 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

Quote:
Originally Posted by keromyaou View Post
I see. Interesting. How did you detect if PLX is being used or not? Are you sure that there are definitely differences between two 8xPCI-E (native) only and two 8xPCI-E (native) plus one 4xPCI-E in terms of micro stuttering?

According to Wikipedia, Z77 board has main PCI-E lanes and secondary PCI-E lanes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGA_1155). The main PCI-E lanes are either 16x1 or 8x2 (3.0) while the secondary lane is 8x1 (2.0). I thought that the 4xPCI-E lane (3.0, slot 6) was based on the secondary PCI-E (2.0). I don't know precisely how PLX works for the main and the secondary PCI-E lanes. If Z77 board has one 16xPCI-E (3.0, main) and one 8xPCI-E (2.0, secondary) natively, I don't think that PLX is required for two 8xPCI-E (3.0) and one 4xPCI-E (3.0) configuration.
Yeah, my BIOS let's me know if it's running in native or PLX mode (which is really nice). I can see a difference with FPS style games for sure, it is much smoother when running native 8x mode. I also ran GPU-Z and realized the BIOS' are different from both of my cards (lol). One runs at a higher vcore too. I'm not sure if I should flash them to be identical or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
keromyaou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC x2
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar
PSU: Coolermaster 1250W
Default 09-15-2013, 23:27 | posts: 94

I see. I am curious. Could you let me know which BIOS can provide the information about PLX mode?

I also found this article (http://www.anandtech.com/show/6170/f...k-ecs-and-evga). Please look at the first diagram. 16xPCI-E connectors are directly connected with CPU socket. Meanwhile there are four 1xPCI-E for peripheral devices and one 4xPCI-E for 4xPCI-E (2.0) connector, which are connected to CPU socket through Intel Z77 controller. As far as I understand from this article, PLX works as a switch between 16xPCI-E connectors and CPU socket, which is nothing to do with Intel Z77 controller. The 4xPCI-E (2.0) lane (slot 6) is most likely the one which is connected to Intel Z77 controller. Then occupying this 4xPCI-E lane with an audio card shouldn't have impacts on 16xPCI-E (3.0) lanes (in the same way as occupying 1xPCI-E lanes which are connected to Intel Z77 controller shouldn't have impacts on 16xPCI-E lanes).

If your BIOS shows that PLX is working for the 2nd gpus when 4xPCI-E lane is occupied, I feel that there must be the way to avoid this. In this sense the updating the BIOS for your gpus (or maybe updating drivers for your audio card, and so on) might be worthwhile.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
JJayzX
Master Guru
 
JJayzX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 660 FTW Sig2 Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: RipjawsX 8gb DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 09-15-2013, 23:54 | posts: 339 | Location: RI, USA

The cpu only has 16 lanes available and uses the plx to add more. The sound card also doesn't necessarily need to be 3.0 also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Hav0q
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Dominator Platinum 8+8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 09-16-2013, 00:53 | posts: 540 | Location: Northern California

Quote:
Originally Posted by keromyaou View Post
I see. I am curious. Could you let me know which BIOS can provide the information about PLX mode?

I also found this article (http://www.anandtech.com/show/6170/f...k-ecs-and-evga). Please look at the first diagram. 16xPCI-E connectors are directly connected with CPU socket. Meanwhile there are four 1xPCI-E for peripheral devices and one 4xPCI-E for 4xPCI-E (2.0) connector, which are connected to CPU socket through Intel Z77 controller. As far as I understand from this article, PLX works as a switch between 16xPCI-E connectors and CPU socket, which is nothing to do with Intel Z77 controller. The 4xPCI-E (2.0) lane (slot 6) is most likely the one which is connected to Intel Z77 controller. Then occupying this 4xPCI-E lane with an audio card shouldn't have impacts on 16xPCI-E (3.0) lanes (in the same way as occupying 1xPCI-E lanes which are connected to Intel Z77 controller shouldn't have impacts on 16xPCI-E lanes).

If your BIOS shows that PLX is working for the 2nd gpus when 4xPCI-E lane is occupied, I feel that there must be the way to avoid this. In this sense the updating the BIOS for your gpus (or maybe updating drivers for your audio card, and so on) might be worthwhile.
I figured out a work around...well, not really-I knew it would work I was just avoiding it. I just have to install the video cards in slot 1 and 2B (red/black) and install the sound card in the 4x slot (which gives no room between video card in 2B) which brought my temps up a little but I guess I'll live with it until I pick up some waterblocks.

The bios feature is:

Extreme Tweaker\GPU.DIMM Post:



Pardon the ****ty picture.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
keromyaou
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Titan SC x2
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar
PSU: Coolermaster 1250W
Default 09-16-2013, 02:48 | posts: 94

I am glad to know that you resolved the issue. I do water cooling for both cpu and gpu. I checked out that running games do not increase PLX temperature (around 36-38C), confirming that PLX is not in use.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.