Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
fx-6300 high temp?
Old
  (#1)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default fx-6300 high temp? - 09-15-2013, 01:54 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Idle im at 9c to 14c..while gaming, the highest I have seen it is 58c. Is this okay? I plan on buying an aftermarket cpu cooler such as the ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2. but I was going to wait, should I get it sooner then later?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-15-2013, 02:10 | posts: 24,208 | Location: NZ

CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo would be better....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 09-15-2013, 03:52 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Okay. is 58c too high or can I post pone getting one for now?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 09-15-2013, 04:20 | posts: 13,550 | Location: USA

What are you using to view your temps? That 9c to 14c can't be right.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-15-2013, 05:30 | posts: 24,208 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnipeFrenzy View Post
Okay. is 58c too high or can I post pone getting one for now?
It's OK, you'll need a better cooler though if you intend to overclock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
What are you using to view your temps? That 9c to 14c can't be right.
That will be the core temp reading which doesn't register correctly until about 40c.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 09-15-2013, 05:57 | posts: 13,550 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
That will be the core temp reading which doesn't register correctly until about 40c.
I've been wondering about that. So when I get back on my 8350 I need to make some adjustments and keep an eye on that temp then? Sorry OP, not trying to hijack your thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-15-2013, 06:49 | posts: 24,208 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
I've been wondering about that. So when I get back on my 8350 I need to make some adjustments and keep an eye on that temp then? Sorry OP, not trying to hijack your thread.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=376926

Prob needs to be stickied really.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 09-15-2013, 07:04 | posts: 13,550 | Location: USA

Alright. I think I got it now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 09-15-2013, 15:30 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Im using core temp to view my cpu temps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 09-16-2013, 01:38 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=376926

Prob needs to be stickied really.....
Definitely needs to be a sticky.

As for the thread get a better cooler and make sure you have proper airflow. My zalman 9500 has kept a 6300 below 50C in a case with only an intake and exhaust 120mm fan. My 8320 is on a 212 EVO at 1.392v and during games has never passed 47C
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Sasquatch
Master Guru
 
Sasquatch's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi R9 270x
Processor: FX 6300 Vishera @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: GSKILL Ripjaws 4x8Gb 1866
Soundcard: Onboard & JVC HA-RX700
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 09-17-2013, 06:30 | posts: 372 | Location: Montana

I second the mention of the Hyper 212 EVO. Great cooler & easy to work with. The fan on it might block 1 or 2 of your closest memory slots. If so, just detach the fan & mount it above your memory stick. Not the best for airflow, but I've seen lots of people take a stick out before they thought to move the fan.
With the Hyper 212 EVO I rarely had a value above 50C.

Last edited by Sasquatch; 09-17-2013 at 06:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-20-2013, 19:29 | posts: 24,208 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Alright. I think I got it now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Definitely needs to be a sticky.
Well I just had another read of my OP and realized the quoted article is not very clear. Kinda like it's been translated from Chinese or martian or something.

When I get a minute (read: cbf ) I'll rewrite the info so it's easier for people to understand and maybe get it stickied.

I think I posted something the other day about AMD temps...but it shud be done properly I guess since the subject always comes up...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.