Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ManuelG, Any News On a PCI-E 3.0 driver for Nvidia and X79 Now Ivy-E is out?
Old
  (#1)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default ManuelG, Any News On a PCI-E 3.0 driver for Nvidia and X79 Now Ivy-E is out? - 09-11-2013, 16:36 | posts: 521 | Location: UK

Are you guys working to incorporate PCI-E Gen 3.0 in the next WHQL Nvidia driver for X79 motherboards now that IvyBridge-E i7 4960 and i7 4930 are out?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 09-11-2013, 16:46 | posts: 13,222 | Location: USA

PCI-E 3.0 should be enabled by default now that IB-E has full support
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 09-11-2013, 17:17 | posts: 521 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
PCI-E 3.0 should be enabled by default now that IB-E has full support
And yet, it is not because NVidia did not include official PCI-E 3.0 support in their drivers for x79 motherboards as far as I was aware.

For instance, I have EVGA Dark X79 motherboard with Ivy-E CPU 4960X. In the motherboard my settings have been set to PCI-E 3.0 but when I boot into windows and check in NCP/Help/System Info, it says all 3 of my GPU's are running in PCI-E Gen 2 @ x8.

GPU-Z also confirmed the same and showed I was running my GPU's in PCI-E 2.0.

The only way around this to get it to bump into PCI-E 3.0 was to use the Reg Hack provided on one of Nvidia's websites.

So no, NVidia drivers do not yet include native PCI-E 3.0 support even with CPU's that fully support it such as the Ivy-E processors
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 09-11-2013, 17:24 | posts: 9,036 | Location: Toledo

Support is coming, probably in the next driver.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 09-11-2013, 17:36 | posts: 521 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Support is coming, probably in the next driver.
That'd be really cool not to need reg hacks anymore
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 09-11-2013, 17:54 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenMaster View Post
That'd be really cool not to need reg hacks anymore
I'm sorry but why did we need them in the first place? I think that's bang out of order myself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bradders684
Master Guru
 
Bradders684's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Matrix GTX 580P
Processor: Phenom II 1100T @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Corsair Ven 8GB@1600C8
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek (ALC889)
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Default 09-11-2013, 19:42 | posts: 542

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealBalls View Post
I'm sorry but why did we need them in the first place? I think that's bang out of order myself.
This is the reason the gave:

Quote:
GeForce GTX 680 and GTX 670 GPUs support PCI Express 3.0. They operate properly within the SIG PCI Express Specification and have been validated on multiple PCI Express 3.0 platforms. Some motherboard manufacturers have released an updated SBIOS to enable the Intel X79/SNB-E PCI Express 2.0 platform to run at up to 8GT/s bus speeds. We have tested GeForce GTX 680 and GTX 670 GPUs across a number of X79/SNB-E platforms at 8GT/s bus speeds, but have seen significant variation in signal timing across different motherboards and CPUs. Therefore we have decided to only support and guarantee PCI Express 2.0 bus speeds on X79/SNB-E with our standard release drivers. Native PCI Express 3.0 platforms (like Ivy Bridge) will run at 8GT/s bus speeds with our standard release drivers.
I think you should post your question here as well RavenMaster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ragtag
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX Titan SLI
Processor: I7-4930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Memory: Kingston Beast 2400 16Gb
Soundcard: Auzentech Hometheater 3D
PSU: Fortron Aurum 1000w
Default 09-11-2013, 20:19 | posts: 209 | Location: Norway

Waiting for this myself. New 4930K is great
Works fine with the patch though but it would save a reboot after installing new drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 09-11-2013, 20:31 | posts: 13,222 | Location: USA

Why isn't it active for IB-E, when the 3570k/3770k has it enabled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ragtag
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX Titan SLI
Processor: I7-4930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Memory: Kingston Beast 2400 16Gb
Soundcard: Auzentech Hometheater 3D
PSU: Fortron Aurum 1000w
Default 09-11-2013, 20:48 | posts: 209 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Why isn't it active for IB-E, when the 3570k/3770k has it enabled?
Those are not LGA 2011
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 09-11-2013, 21:25 | posts: 9,036 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Why isn't it active for IB-E, when the 3570k/3770k has it enabled?
IB-E is still using LGA 2011, which was actually the first platform of them all to get PCIE-3.0 support. The problem was that the PCI-E controller predated any actual 3.0 cards or devices, and wasn't actually validated for use with any of them. This coupled with variance in the implementation on motherboards meant Nvidia didn't want to bother.

But anyway, Nvidia should have something ready by next driver. This was pulled from the Anandtech article:

"NVIDIA tells us that it plans to enable PCIe 3.0 on all IVB-E systems. Current drivers (including the 326.80 beta driver) treat IVB-E like SNB-E and force all Kepler cards to PCIe 2.0 mode, but NVIDIA has a new driver going through QA right now that will default to PCIe 3.0 when it detects IVB-E. SNB-E systems will continue to run in PCIe 2.0 mode."

Unless of course you use the reg hack which works in most cases.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 09-11-2013, 21:45 | posts: 1,537 | Location: shropshire,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenMaster View Post
And yet, it is not because NVidia did not include official PCI-E 3.0 support in their drivers for x79 motherboards as far as I was aware.

For instance, I have EVGA Dark X79 motherboard with Ivy-E CPU 4960X. In the motherboard my settings have been set to PCI-E 3.0 but when I boot into windows and check in NCP/Help/System Info, it says all 3 of my GPU's are running in PCI-E Gen 2 @ x8.

GPU-Z also confirmed the same and showed I was running my GPU's in PCI-E 2.0.

The only way around this to get it to bump into PCI-E 3.0 was to use the Reg Hack provided on one of Nvidia's websites.

So no, NVidia drivers do not yet include native PCI-E 3.0 support even with CPU's that fully support it such as the Ivy-E processors
3.0 is deactivated in desktop mode
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 09-12-2013, 09:20 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
SNB-E systems will continue to run in PCIe 2.0 mode."
Snore.

Still selling my entire PC btw if anybody wants it.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=381248
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ManuelG
NVIDIA Rep
 
ManuelG's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA Geforce GTX Titan
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770S
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 09-14-2013, 08:12 | posts: 320 | Location: Santa Clara, California

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenMaster View Post
Are you guys working to incorporate PCI-E Gen 3.0 in the next WHQL Nvidia driver for X79 motherboards now that IvyBridge-E i7 4960 and i7 4930 are out?
Current plan is to enable PCI-E 3.0 with next major driver branch for Geforce GTX Titan and Geforce GTX 780. We may revisit more GPUs after that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ragtag
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX Titan SLI
Processor: I7-4930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Memory: Kingston Beast 2400 16Gb
Soundcard: Auzentech Hometheater 3D
PSU: Fortron Aurum 1000w
Default 09-14-2013, 08:30 | posts: 209 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelG View Post
Current plan is to enable PCI-E 3.0 with next major driver branch for Geforce GTX Titan and Geforce GTX 780. We may revisit more GPUs after that.
That's good news. Thanks for letting us know
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 09-14-2013, 09:26 | posts: 521 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelG View Post
Current plan is to enable PCI-E 3.0 with next major driver branch for Geforce GTX Titan and Geforce GTX 780. We may revisit more GPUs after that.
Awesome news, thank you very much
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Bradders684
Master Guru
 
Bradders684's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Matrix GTX 580P
Processor: Phenom II 1100T @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Corsair Ven 8GB@1600C8
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek (ALC889)
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Default 09-14-2013, 09:59 | posts: 542

What's wrong with enabling it for the 6 and other 7 series cards? call me paranoid but it looks like they are using it as a feature to increase GPU sales of their top 2 cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Angushades
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 680SLI EK COOLED
Processor: I7 3770K @4.5 EK COOLED
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 8GB G.Skill-2133 CL9
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
PSU: Enermax 1250W
Default 09-26-2013, 23:04 | posts: 126 | Location: Australia

Itís not going to make any difference though with anything to the entire system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
MMXMMX
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 TI SC
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930k
Mainboard: Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16 GB GSkil DDR3-1866 CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: Antec 750W
Default 09-27-2013, 03:36 | posts: 72

I have PCI expres 3.0 by default in win 8 acording to GPU-Z
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
AdamK47
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Verite V1000 & Voodoo 4MB
Processor: Pentium 166C
Mainboard: Intel 430HX
Memory: 24MB EDO SIMM
Soundcard: AWE64
PSU: Enermax 200W
Default 09-27-2013, 05:37 | posts: 184 | Location: Earth

I'm running a 4960X with an ASRock Extreme11. I'm getting 16x/16x/16x @ PCI-E 3.0 with my three GTX Titans. The Extreme11 uses dual PLX chips though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Deasnutz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Pny gtx 780 sli
Processor: Intel 4930k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 10-01-2013, 07:00 | posts: 46

Pcie3.0 is now enabled for 780 and Titan cards only.

Confirmed on 4930k & 780
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.