Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
wifi boost?
Old
  (#1)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default wifi boost? - 09-11-2013, 09:20 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

Hi guys , is there a way for me to boost my router wi fi speed?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default 09-11-2013, 09:33 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

ho yeah my router is a TG799VN V2 5GHZ (XTREAM)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 09-11-2013, 11:33 | posts: 613 | Location: Croatia

You get the inet speed you pay for, so that means no.
But if you meant boosting the signal strength, thats another pair of shoes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default 09-11-2013, 17:11 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

dah , I already pay , the problem is that I donīt the speed I am paying for .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 09-11-2013, 19:09 | posts: 3,484 | Location: Australia

If you have a 300 MBPS router, it is very difficult to connect at that rate! You will find that even if you are getting that speed to begin with, it may drop off the more data you try and transfer. The way around this is to get better signal strength.

Better signal strength can be achieved it a multitude of ways. The antennas on a router (even external or internal) can be at least slightly directional, so turning the router around on the spot can give you a fractionally better signal (if you have a wifi settings program on your computer that can measure receive/transmit signals, both in speed, strength, and quality (the Windows speed identifier is useless for this purpose).

If the router has external antennas, try moving them around slightly if possible, sometimes an off-axis orientation (not perfectly vertical or horizontal) can be beneficial. Try moving the router, sometimes 30 cm difference is all that is required for the signal to change noticeably.

If there are a lot of signals around you, and you have external antennas for your router and computer, put the antennas in a horizontal axis as most people have them in the vertical axis. This will reduce interference from your neighbours.

Choose channels that are least used. Sometimes setups without any other signals around can work on some channels better than others, so try switching that around a bit. Apart from that, there really isn't much you can do. A 'more extreme' option is to play around with signal reflection using aluminium foil; this can work really well but it can be hit or miss if you don't know what you are doing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default 09-12-2013, 00:03 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

thank you thatguy91 , I will try that . I use both cable and wi fi , om desktop I have cable I get the right speed 100Mb but on my laptop wi fi I just get 15mb , bommer .
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.