Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ASUS RT-AC68U dual-band 802.11ac router has personal cloud storage support
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default ASUS RT-AC68U dual-band 802.11ac router has personal cloud storage support - 09-04-2013, 07:36 | posts: 20,451 | Location: Guru3D testlab

ASUS announced the launch of the RT-AC68U - the world's first dual-band 802.11ac router with blisteringly fast combined AC1900 data rates of 1900Mbit/s and personal cloud storage support. 802.11ac is...

ASUS RT-AC68U dual-band 802.11ac router has personal cloud storage support
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
VolkNasty
Member Guru
 
VolkNasty's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 MSI GTX580 Lightning
Processor: Intel i7 3930k OC 4.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD65(8D)
Memory: DDR3/2133/4 + 4
Soundcard: Bose 3.1
PSU: TermalTake 1050
Default 09-04-2013, 14:20 | posts: 53 | Location: USA

When? My Cisco/Linksys E4200 is dying. This is a day 0 buy for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
MasterBash
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC/ACX
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 09-04-2013, 14:34 | posts: 578

USB3 on that router, nice. Hopefully the CPU is fast, and it still needs a good amount of fast ram too.

Last edited by MasterBash; 09-04-2013 at 14:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 09-04-2013, 18:44 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

How is this different from Aicloud on other Asus wifi routers (i got a RT-N16 and it got:
Cloud Disk:
To create a cloud disk, you need to install a USB storage device into this router, then turn Cloud Disk ON. Use the router login account to log into the default cloud disk.
Smart Access:
Smart Access gets the settings of your Network Place such as user accounts, share folders, and others. This allows you to access your home network ( Network Place/Samba ) anytime, anywhere.
The WOL (Wake-On-LAN) feature lets you wake up a computer from any device in the network.
Smart Sync
To start smart sync, you need to sign up for an ASUS webstorage account, then turn Cloud Disk and Smart Sync. Ensure that you installed a USB storage device into this router.)
so what is new.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 09-04-2013, 18:59 | posts: 6,534 | Location: Dubai

Does this thing force you to create a cloud account before allowing you to mess around with the settings like Belkin/Linksys?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
rocca
Newbie
 
rocca's Avatar
 
Videocard: i4500+4330 512GDDR3
Processor: C2D SU9400 1.4ghz@2.0ghz
Mainboard: Acer 3810TG
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3 1333@1000mhz
Soundcard: ( ≖‿≖)
PSU: 65W
Default 09-04-2013, 23:28 | posts: 43 | Location: Romania

http://wikidevi.com/wiki/ASUS_RT-AC68U

mediocre, at best

what these guys are basically saying is that the router does a regular 1300mbps, like most, and they just add up the 2.4ghz band like it's going to matter when you're on the 5ghz one

also it's broadcom, so i'd stay away from this one. pretty bad 3rd party firmware support

cloud? ha, good one

Last edited by rocca; 09-04-2013 at 23:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Enticles
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7970 3GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte-UD3-990FX
Memory: DDR3 32GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 Headset
PSU: Corsair M600
Default 09-04-2013, 23:44 | posts: 57 | Location: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

im in the process of RMA'ing an RTAC66U... might bug asus about a cheap upgrade
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.