Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Xbox One CPU gets 150 MHz boost
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Xbox One CPU gets 150 MHz boost - 09-04-2013, 07:22 | posts: 21,306 | Location: Guru3D testlab

The Xbox One was given a bit of a performance boost before going into full production, according to Yusuf Mehdi, corporate vice president of marketing and strategy for Microsoft's Interactive Enterta...

Xbox One CPU gets 150 MHz boost
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
miffywiffy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 750ti
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: Z87-DELUXE
Memory: 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Asus D2X
PSU: Corsair 950watt
Default 09-04-2013, 08:31 | posts: 540

Can't polish a turd.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 09-04-2013, 08:45 | posts: 917

So to make their specs look better compared to the PS4, they've added 150 MHz?

cue "Well the Xbox One has a faster cpu than the PS4"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 09-04-2013, 08:52 | posts: 23,432 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

nice! so it has faster gpu and cpu now
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lantian
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gainward gtx 670 2gb
Processor: intel pentium g3258@4.7
Mainboard: z87x-ud5
Memory: 2x4gb 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster gx 750w
Default 09-04-2013, 09:12 | posts: 86

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
nice! so it has faster gpu and cpu now
actualy there is no hope for its gpu sice it was 1,23 tflops from xbox gpu and 1,8 tflops from ps4 a bit of OC wont make it faster , just not that much slower but there is no way they could gain the extra 0,6 tflops just by OC
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 09-04-2013, 09:26 | posts: 3,814 | Location: The Netherlands

The damage is already done and it will take a while untill MS is over it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
mohiuddin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus directcu hd6850
Processor: intel core 2 quad q6600
Mainboard: Intel dg33fb
Memory: 6gb ddr2 800bus
Soundcard:
PSU: GIGABYTE 1200w Odin pro
Default 09-04-2013, 09:32 | posts: 545

Wow. A revolution in gaming history.
How could they achieve this enormous level of overclocking.
We are simply stunned.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
S_IV
Member Guru
 
S_IV's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 Windforce/660 phsx
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Soundcard: Philips HTR-9900 7+1 HT
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 09-04-2013, 09:43 | posts: 136 | Location: Istanbul

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svarog View Post
The damage is already done and it will take a while untill MS is over it.
^This.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 09-04-2013, 10:44 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Imo they are were doomed when they decided to use a 7790 equivalent performance wise as reported.

They could had use a 7870 equivalent which in the desktop cards its power consumption is barely 20-30W more and that card can play FC3 easily over 30-40FPS@19x10 maxed with 2xAA.

And with their own expert tweaking/optimizing I'm pretty sure they could have even lowered the consumption probably and even ante its performance.

Heck they could had shoot for a 7950 and tweak/optimize the hell out of it and lower its consumption. It would still be better that all previous mentioned. Same goes for the PS4.

I know my thoughts on this are not exact science but I believe I made my point.

PS3=30FPS@720P while the new Xbone/Ps4 will be 30FPS@19x10. Oh well, as long as the eye candy and smoothness is there people wouldn't even notice/care.

Last edited by Koniakki; 09-04-2013 at 10:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-04-2013, 10:46 | posts: 4,265 | Location: Serbia, NS

Oh, what an overclock. Now it's a beast!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kosh_neranek
Master Guru
 
kosh_neranek's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI MSi GTX 660Ti PE@1190
Processor: Intel Core i7-3930K @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Memory: 16 GB 2133MHZ G.Skill
Soundcard: TRITTON 720+
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 09-04-2013, 10:47 | posts: 207 | Location: Dublin

Quote:
Originally Posted by miffywiffy View Post
Can't polish a turd.
GREAT comment, couldn't define it any better
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 09-04-2013, 10:48 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
Oh, what an overclock. Now it's a beast!
I think I read somewhere that OC qualifies for a Top 3 world record position "somewhere" over at HWBot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
zaxevil
Newbie
 
zaxevil's Avatar
 
Videocard: Matrix HD 7970 Platinum
Processor: Core i7-3930K @4.0GHz
Mainboard: Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: GSkill 32GB 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX860i Platinum
Default 09-04-2013, 11:01 | posts: 3

hi, i'd like to join here. i'd just knew that the cpu runs 1.75GHz (not above 2GHz though) so with 1.75GHz does it reach 60FPS in every game? interesting
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 09-04-2013, 11:06 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaxevil View Post
hi, i'd like to join here. i'd just knew that the cpu runs 1.75GHz (not above 2GHz though) so with 1.75GHz does it reach 60FPS in every game? interesting
You did already. Good for you. Really? No. Hmm, interesting specimen.

Welcome zaxevil to Guru3D.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Andrew LB
Master Guru
 
Andrew LB's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 780 ti @ 1,143mhz
Processor: i5-4670K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z87 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 09-04-2013, 11:39 | posts: 432 | Location: Peoples Republic of Kalifornia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post

PS3=30FPS@720P while the new Xbone/Ps4 will be 30FPS@19x10. Oh well, as long as the eye candy and smoothness is there people wouldn't even notice/care.
Actually Battlefield 4 on PS4 is only 720p. lol. Yet somehow on Xbox One it's 1080p.


I've been doing some reading over at Beyond3d. They are incredibly knowledgeable over there when it comes to the inner workings of hardware. http://beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=62867
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 09-04-2013, 11:54 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

BF4 will display at 1080p on both consoles but it is upscaled 720p and will be at 60FPS the XBone is not getting a better version of BF4 what you heard was spin.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 09-04-2013, 11:56 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew LB View Post
Actually Battlefield 4 on PS4 is only 720p. lol. Yet somehow on Xbox One it's 1080p...
If Xbox One can run it at 1080p then obviously the PS4 can too. Also I was more referring to the majority of the games on the 30FPS@19x10.

I'm pretty sure that would be the case since that GPU horsepower is barely enough for 1080p@2xAA/FXAA for hot/demanding titles. Now less demanding ones is another story of course.

And lets not even forget the ones coming in the next couple years. Which we can safely assume that would be even more demanding probably, unless they would be really, really good optimized.

Last edited by Koniakki; 09-04-2013 at 12:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 09-04-2013, 12:02 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post

I'm pretty sure that would be the case since that GPU horsepower is barely enough for 1080p@2xAA/FXAA for hot/demanding titles. Now less demanding ones is another story of course.
You guys keep forgetting that this is a console 1.86Tflops in a console could be as powerful as 3Tflops in a PC because of optimization.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 09-04-2013, 12:08 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
You guys keep forgetting that this is a console 1.86Tflops in a console could be as powerful as 3Tflops in a PC because of optimization.
Lets hope so. Then we can have amazing ****ty ports instead of the normal variation ones.

Oh well, I wish good luck to both consoles. Also lets not forget that the companies who made them are Multi-Billion ones. So I'm sure the ones made/design the consoles knew what they were doing. Right?

But if history is any indication, and taking the PS3 as example and all its "difficulties" to program/develop, YLOD etc etc I hope they avoid similar fiascos.

But it actually simpler now with the x86 architecture(not counting unifying parts, ram etc) that the more GPU horsepower, more frames, smoother gameplay and larger headroom for eye candy.

Time will tell when they are released and run through their paces for a good few months at least.

Last edited by Koniakki; 09-04-2013 at 12:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 09-04-2013, 12:15 | posts: 26,663 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by lantian View Post
actualy there is no hope for its gpu sice it was 1,23 tflops from xbox gpu and 1,8 tflops from ps4 a bit of OC wont make it faster , just not that much slower but there is no way they could gain the extra 0,6 tflops just by OC
You're missing the point, they'll advertise it as faster because of higher clocks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 09-04-2013, 12:35 | posts: 10,165 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaxevil View Post
hi, i'd like to join here. i'd just knew that the cpu runs 1.75GHz (not above 2GHz though) so with 1.75GHz does it reach 60FPS in every game? interesting
Doubt it, still missing the shaders compared to the ps4.

And it's up to the developers if they want to target 60fps or 30fps and a prettier game anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
zaxevil
Newbie
 
zaxevil's Avatar
 
Videocard: Matrix HD 7970 Platinum
Processor: Core i7-3930K @4.0GHz
Mainboard: Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: GSkill 32GB 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX860i Platinum
Default 09-04-2013, 13:27 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
You did already. Good for you. Really? No. Hmm, interesting specimen.

Welcome zaxevil to Guru3D.
yo bro thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
Doubt it, still missing the shaders compared to the ps4.

And it's up to the developers if they want to target 60fps or 30fps and a prettier game anyway.
well, i'm sure the game developer targeting their games to run smoothly in both ps4&Xbone on high resolution. in this case @1080P as one of the major point.

Last edited by zaxevil; 09-04-2013 at 13:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-04-2013, 13:45 | posts: 1,550

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
You guys keep forgetting that this is a console 1.86Tflops in a console could be as powerful as 3Tflops in a PC because of optimization.
A lot of people don't know that and it's really a shame. Perhaps it won't happen this coming generation of consoles but may happen the generation after this. Where a console is far less powerful then PC's yet are nearly equal in IQ/gameplay (60 fps, etc).

It all boils down to getting rid of unnecessary processes to get the image you see on the screen (more simplified then need be but it makes the point). It's called direct to metal. And it's been something consoles have been doing for a long time now. Once development for games is more mainstream (and it's inevitable) you will see games look, play and feel just as you do on the PC.

However, there needs to be a sweet spot for what kind of console is powerful enough. Perhaps it will take 2.5Tflops to 3.0Tflops of power to achieve this. However, it will take a PC almost double that to bring the same experience if game development on the PC environment doesn't change.

Here are some article about it:
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/gra...l-to-directx/2
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...horsepower-amd
http://www.tomshardware.com/news/API...ing,12418.html
http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2011...than-consoles/

The general idea is simple it's API programming versus Direct-to-Metal programming. Furthermore, do to the nature of development on the console (only 2 different arch types) developers can draw 10,000-20,000 or more chunks of geometry in a frame while on the PC (API) can only draw about 3000 or so (or 1/10th) of that without having performance issues. Keep in mind it depends on the kind of game being developed.

Last edited by Eastcoasthandle; 09-04-2013 at 14:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
boodikon
Ancient Guru
 
boodikon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640mb (600 core)
Processor: Amd 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.4 Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe Nforce4
Memory: 4 x 512mb PC4000 Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Tagan 480w silent psu
Default 09-04-2013, 13:57 | posts: 2,794 | Location: England

I thought it would be a lot higher mhz as the xone doesn't have an internal power supply, the ps4 does and is smaller, just thought the xones lack of internal psu would help to cool it, also in gaming terms on an average what kind of performance increase would 150mhz give you on a similar spec pc to the xone.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 09-04-2013, 13:57 | posts: 527 | Location: UK

It's still a DDR3 gpu. PS4 is at least using DDR5
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.