Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Brightness control not working :/
Old
  (#1)
Yahyoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Inter Core I5 430M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: acer
Default Brightness control not working :/ - 08-31-2013, 20:59 | posts: 17

Hey guru's

i'm having problem with brightness control on my lappy on W8 with AMD crappy drivers
they broke it since beta 13.2 i think and its aint fixed even on 13.8 B2 and i tried W 8.1 and OMG its even broken on M$ stock driver then i tried the preview driver with no luck

so now the latest driver with working brightness control is 13.1

any help appreciated
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
FunkyMike
Member Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel 3000HD
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: laptop
Default 08-31-2013, 22:08 | posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yahyoh View Post
Hey guru's

i'm having problem with brightness control on my lappy on W8 with AMD crappy drivers
they broke it since beta 13.2 i think and its aint fixed even on 13.8 B2 and i tried W 8.1 and OMG its even broken on M$ stock driver then i tried the preview driver with no luck

so now the latest driver with working brightness control is 13.1

any help appreciated
www.leshcatlabs.net
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Yahyoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Inter Core I5 430M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: acer
Default 08-31-2013, 22:38 | posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike View Post
i don't have switchable graphic

my problem is just brightness control wont work with new AMD drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 08-31-2013, 23:21 | posts: 1,538 | Location: shropshire,UK

"my lappy"...really isn't much info for people to be able to help
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Yahyoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Inter Core I5 430M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: acer
Default 08-31-2013, 23:34 | posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Goose View Post
"my lappy"...really isn't much info for people to be able to help
sorry i mean Laptop

the GPU is AMD 5470M
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
FunkyMike
Member Guru
 
FunkyMike's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 6850m /Intel 3000HD
Processor: 2630QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: laptop
Default 09-01-2013, 02:35 | posts: 62

If you were to check the site it would give you an idea on how to fix your issue .

Very likely that your FTC value is screwed up. Check the manual section & the database for a value that could potentially fit you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Memory: 8GB Patriot Signature
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Tt Toughpower XT 775W
Default 09-01-2013, 10:59 | posts: 4,140 | Location: Serbia, NS

I had the same problem, nothing can fix it. I ended up reinstaling new OS and brightness slider was back.

Try this maybe it will work : http://superuser.com/questions/30872...-suddenly-gone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Yahyoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Inter Core I5 430M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: acer
Default 09-01-2013, 19:38 | posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
I had the same problem, nothing can fix it. I ended up reinstaling new OS and brightness slider was back.

Try this maybe it will work : http://superuser.com/questions/30872...-suddenly-gone
i just installed the OS yesterday

the funny thing the brightness control working normally with system generic driver but as soon i update the driver via device manager to M$ driver or AMD windows 8.1 preview driver it will stop working as soon as the driver get installed
I've had the same problem with W8 the only driver was working 13.1 and previous but since 13.2 beta AMD broke the brightness control

i found crappy workaround by changing the brightness then turnoff the backlight fn + f6 will change brightness but its sucks
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.