Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc.
Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc. In this section you can discuss general purpose application that run over your GPU, like transcoding, Physics simulation etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
dedicated physX card
Old
  (#1)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default dedicated physX card - 08-28-2013, 23:12 | posts: 1,034 | Location: Washington

Maybe I just needed to google a little better but It seems all the info I find is 2+ years old.....what is the minimum card I need for dedicated physX? Can I get away with a GT620 for $50 or is that not going to be enough? Not sure if 96 Cuda cores will cut it in todays games let alone the future but I have a hard time justifying spending more than 50-60 bucks on a dedicated card.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-29-2013, 02:33 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

You need a PhysX card that can keep up with your primary graphics card....which a GT620 will never do. You'd be better off letting your GTX760 handle PhysX.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Megabiv
Master Guru
 
Megabiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX580 SLI (h²o)
Processor: i7 950 - 3.84Ghz (h²o)
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: 24GB Geil 1600mhz (6x4gb)
Soundcard: XonarD2X¦Microlab Solo7C
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 08-29-2013, 23:04 | posts: 321 | Location: Worcester UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
You need a PhysX card that can keep up with your primary graphics card....which a GT620 will never do. You'd be better off letting your GTX760 handle PhysX.
Pretty much this, I used to use my old 9600GT as a PPU when I first got my GTX 570 and performance was worse using that that letting the GTX take all the strain.

Just use the GTX760 it'll be miles ahead and more importantly you'll have less heat and power draw in your system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 08-29-2013, 23:10 | posts: 5,982 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Get your self one of these puppies!

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-30-2013, 01:45 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

For dedicated PhysX with a GTX760...you'd need something like a GTX460 or GTX560Ti....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DerSchniffles
Maha Guru
 
DerSchniffles's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760 2gb SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sony AVR/55" TV
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 08-30-2013, 07:51 | posts: 1,034 | Location: Washington

Thanks guys, I guess it was just wishful thinking haha. The 760 does good in Borderlands 2 for the most part unless im in a big area with 3 other friends and everything is going banana sandwich. Planetside 2 turns into a slideshow with anything higher than low physX and personally I think that game looks AMAZING with all the physX turned up.

If I ever find a cheap card thats powerful enough I might give it a go but for now I guess ill be okay haha.

Thanks again guys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Megabiv
Master Guru
 
Megabiv's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX580 SLI (h²o)
Processor: i7 950 - 3.84Ghz (h²o)
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: 24GB Geil 1600mhz (6x4gb)
Soundcard: XonarD2X¦Microlab Solo7C
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 08-30-2013, 14:05 | posts: 321 | Location: Worcester UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Get your self one of these puppies!

*snip*
Old school, Ageia PPU. Always wanted one, glad I was skint because they only lasted about a year until Nvidia bought them out and they weren't cheap either if I recall.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-31-2013, 22:39 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megabiv View Post
Old school, Ageia PPU. Always wanted one, glad I was skint because they only lasted about a year until Nvidia bought them out and they weren't cheap either if I recall.
I wanted one too. I was just too cheap to pay for it and don't play any games that actually use PhysX...lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerSchniffles View Post
If I ever find a cheap card thats powerful enough I might give it a go but for now I guess ill be okay haha.

Thanks again guys.
GTX660 would probably work....but good luck finding one cheap. I couldn't even find a used one for a reasonable price. Maybe even a 650Ti or 650Ti Boost could work, dunno....but my GT640 wasn't worth a damn for PhysX in 3DMark Vantage....actually got a higher score using just the 660...



Last edited by sykozis; 08-31-2013 at 22:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 09-03-2013, 07:57 | posts: 3,564 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I wanted one too. I was just too cheap to pay for it and don't play any games that actually use PhysX...lol



GTX660 would probably work....but good luck finding one cheap. I couldn't even find a used one for a reasonable price. Maybe even a 650Ti or 650Ti Boost could work, dunno....but my GT640 wasn't worth a damn for PhysX in 3DMark Vantage....actually got a higher score using just the 660...
That's because in Vantage, the PhysX test is the only thing running during that portion of the test so the GPU doesn't have to context switch between rendering and PhysX. (This context switching is why using a properly sized GPU can give a decent boost in FPS on PhysX titles.) Back to Vantage... So, if your primary GPU is stronger than your dedicated PhysX GPU, then your PhysX score will suffer using a dedicated PhysX GPU in Vantage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ceesay
Master Guru
 
ceesay's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-780s 3 WAY-SLI- H20
Processor: Intel 5960X -H20 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus X99 Deluxe Intel X99
Memory: Corsair 16GB @ 3000 Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Crystal Sound 2
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 09-21-2013, 14:13 | posts: 264 | Location: liverpool uk

i use my gtx 670 4 physX with gtx 780s in sli .........
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pstlouis
Master Guru
 
pstlouis's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX980 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus maximus vii hero
Memory: gskill sniper DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Supreme Fx
PSU: XFX 1250W
Default 10-31-2013, 17:18 | posts: 247 | Location: montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerSchniffles View Post
Maybe I just needed to google a little better but It seems all the info I find is 2+ years old.....what is the minimum card I need for dedicated physX? Can I get away with a GT620 for $50 or is that not going to be enough? Not sure if 96 Cuda cores will cut it in todays games let alone the future but I have a hard time justifying spending more than 50-60 bucks on a dedicated card.
I have a GTX780 with a GT610 for physx and working ok. The GT610 handle the physx propely and i tested in metro last light with physx high. The usage was between 10% to 90% for physx and my GPU usage was between 20% to 99%. Same thing for batman arkham city and batman origin. I use also the physx software fluid mark to test the physx.

Last edited by pstlouis; 10-31-2013 at 17:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.