Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GTX 770 with 18 amps on the rail
Old
  (#1)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default GTX 770 with 18 amps on the rail - 08-24-2013, 15:31 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

I have a zalman PSU 850 HP with 18 amps on the rails and wanna by a GTX 770 but is 18 amps enough to run this card???

Was reading this on this site also.
http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...d-gtx-770.html

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 08-24-2013, 15:47 | posts: 1,824

Is this your PSU?

http://www.clubedohardware.com.br/fu...hp?image=44940
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-24-2013, 15:52 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
No my psu is much older and has only 18amps on the rails.

This on: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zalman/ZM850-HP/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 08-24-2013, 16:01 | posts: 1,824

Ok.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Z...es/sticker.jpg

What do you mean by much older?How much time was the warranty?2yrs?10?

720w/12
Then you have 60A.I think you are good to go but lets see what the other folks have to say.

Many PSUS after 2 or 5 yrs start to fail.

If you have the money for a 770 maybe it would be a good idea to buy a brand new PSU, something like a XFX 650/750W Core Edition.

Minimum Recommended System Power (W) 600 W
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...specifications

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 08-24-2013 at 16:06.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-24-2013, 16:13 | posts: 17,886 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you have much more power than you need. enjoy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
JJayzX
Master Guru
 
JJayzX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 660 FTW Sig2 Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: RipjawsX 8gb DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 08-24-2013, 17:03 | posts: 338 | Location: RI, USA

The card will have 36 amps available because it should use 2 plugs, so power from 2 rails.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-24-2013, 18:01 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJayzX View Post
The card will have 36 amps available because it should use 2 plugs, so power from 2 rails.
I read on the internet that u never count the rails together so 2x 18 amps on doesnt give the card 36 amps.

If the GTX 770 needs 19 amps than i am short of 1 amp with this psu.

Its 5 years old now.

The max amp is 21 a GTX 780 needs 20.83. no cards needs more then 21 amps.

So 2 times 18 amps =18 amps and not 36.

Last edited by BadDriver; 08-24-2013 at 18:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 08-24-2013, 18:18 | posts: 1,824

After reading what you just said and knowing that the psu is 5 yrs old i wouldn't trust a 400$ card on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-24-2013, 18:30 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

Ok but i just need do know if 18 amps is enough for this GTX 770 oc card.

The info from the shop is at max is 229watt 229/12=19 amps.

but the info from that other site is much different.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...d-gtx-770.html

206/12=17 amps.

Last edited by BadDriver; 08-24-2013 at 18:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-24-2013, 19:57 | posts: 17,886 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you have 720 watts on the 12v rail. 720/12=60 amps more than enough for 1 card. 1 card on an old psu like you have is more than enough. I do not know how to explain this any better.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-24-2013, 20:55 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3990
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
JJayzX
Master Guru
 
JJayzX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 660 FTW Sig2 Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: RipjawsX 8gb DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 08-25-2013, 02:58 | posts: 338 | Location: RI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadDriver View Post
I read on the internet that u never count the rails together so 2x 18 amps on doesnt give the card 36 amps.

If the GTX 770 needs 19 amps than i am short of 1 amp with this psu.

Its 5 years old now.

The max amp is 21 a GTX 780 needs 20.83. no cards needs more then 21 amps.

So 2 times 18 amps =18 amps and not 36.
Should also know the internet isn't always right or you misunderstood.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-25-2013, 09:13 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

I think i understand now, i can even plug in a GTX 780.

Or 2 GTX 770, 60 Amps-cpu stil leavs me 54 amps for 2 cards.

Every rail has 216watt so with 2 rails i get 2*216=432watts but the card wil use less.

correct me if i am wrong

Thanks for the help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 08-25-2013, 16:53 | posts: 5,463

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadDriver View Post
Every rail has 216watt so with 2 rails i get 2*216=432watts but the card wil use less.

correct me if i am wrong
The card will definitely use less due to the connectors on the GPU. A 6-pin pcie connector draws max 75 watts and an 8-pin draws 150w. And of course the card draws another 75w from the pcie slot. Most 770s are 1x6-pin + 1x8-pin (mine is 2 x 8-pin). Your PSU should easily handle it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-25-2013, 17:22 | posts: 131 | Location: NL

Thanks.

I will order 1 tomorrow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-25-2013, 17:25 | posts: 17,886 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I suggest this 770.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130948
then you can drop the bios in this thread
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=380672
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SplashDown
Master Guru
 
SplashDown's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA770 4GB FTW 660 physx
Processor: AMD 8350 @ 4.8 H2O RX240
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
Memory: G Skill Sniper @ 2133 CL9
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 & 1000w Reciv
PSU: Cooler Master Silent 1000
Default 08-25-2013, 17:45 | posts: 221 | Location: Michigan

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I seen your lookin, I'll keep my eye out...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-25-2013, 23:27 | posts: 3,748 | Location: Australia

Has your PSU got 6+2 pin PCI-E connectors or just 6 pin PCI-E connectors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-26-2013, 00:29 | posts: 5,159 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Desperation is a wonderful drug..... lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-26-2013, 00:53 | posts: 17,886 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Was I coming on too strong?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-26-2013, 01:01 | posts: 5,159 | Location: FLA,USA

Maybe just a bit. Try playing some soft jazz first to set the mood.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.