Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Primary 7950 only clocks up to 500Mhz
Old
  (#1)
fredhayes
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7950 x2
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 3.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: Kingston 8Gig
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default Primary 7950 only clocks up to 500Mhz - 08-23-2013, 05:24 | posts: 35

Hi all,

I recently updated to the 13.8 Beta 1 drivers and had no problems, until I plugged in my second monitor.

Both cards ran at 800Mhz with no issues. Now, after I plugged in the second monitor, the primary card will only run up to 500Mhz. The secondary has no problems and runs at 800Mhz OK.

My primary monitor is driven off one of the DisplayPort ports while the second is driven off the DVI port (both on the primary card).

I noticed the temp of the primary card has gone up by about 15C since I plugged in the second monitor (not in games, just idling)

Is there some setting I havent set properly thats forcing this behaviour ??

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-23-2013, 05:54 | posts: 24,221 | Location: NZ

Did u disable ULPS?

There's a Beta 2 out you could try http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/..._download.html

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-23-2013 at 05:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
fredhayes
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7950 x2
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 3.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: Kingston 8Gig
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-23-2013, 08:51 | posts: 35

Yes, ULPS disabled.
It works OK when only 1 monitor is running...very strange :-(
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
fredhayes
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor 7950 x2
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 3.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: Kingston 8Gig
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-23-2013, 09:25 | posts: 35

looks like I fixed it.
Swapped the cards around. Now the card that had the problem runs at 850Mhz and will occasionally spike to 925Mhz. The other card stays on 800Mhz as it always did.
Also, I upgraded to the BETA 2 13.8 drivers.

Not sure if it was the drivers or the card swap (or both) but its running better now :-)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
AC_Avatar100400
Master Guru
 
AC_Avatar100400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 ACX 1440p
Processor: I7 2700k 4.5 Ghz 1.32v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPower
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: I Burnt it in a Fire Lol
PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 750w
Default 08-24-2013, 15:54 | posts: 306 | Location: Australia

Good to hear your issue is sorted.

And running more than 1 monitor will bump up your idle temps by a bit but nothing at full load to be much more maybe 10-15% more heat if that when i tested it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Sukovsky
Master Guru
 
Sukovsky's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Processor: Intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB CorsairVengeance 1600
Soundcard: Onboard something
PSU: Club3d 1000W
Default 08-29-2013, 08:16 | posts: 795 | Location: Leiden

Looks like you have a Rev1 7950 and a 7950 Boost if im not wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.