Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
CRYENGINE GC 2013: Tech Demo
Old
  (#1)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default CRYENGINE GC 2013: Tech Demo - 08-21-2013, 18:18 | posts: 23,195 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

http://www.gametrailers.com/videos/s...013--tech-demo
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Whiplashwang
Maha Guru
 
Whiplashwang's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670GTX FTW+ 4GB
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: TP67XE [B3]
Memory: 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 08-21-2013, 18:39 | posts: 1,581 | Location: Earth

Impressive! The dynamic weather raining then drying up is really cool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
isidore
Ancient Guru
 
isidore's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX670M
Processor: i7-3610QM @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus RoG
Memory: Asus 8Gb
Soundcard: Asus G75VW
PSU: Asus RoG
Default 08-21-2013, 19:52 | posts: 5,657 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiplashwang View Post
Impressive! The dynamic weather raining then drying up is really cool.
exactly, that was really impressive, maybe we will see that in future games, weather effects, for me, are very important.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mohiuddin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus directcu hd6850
Processor: intel core 2 quad q6600
Mainboard: Intel dg33fb
Memory: 3gb ddr2 667bus
Soundcard:
PSU: GIGABYTE 1200w Odin pro
Default 08-21-2013, 20:22 | posts: 528

awesome .
Hope a game would have these weather effect.
Would add alot to sandbox or rpg type games.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-22-2013, 05:43 | posts: 2,916 | Location: Philippines

yeah, sandbox would definitely benefit from it, tho GPGPU would prolly not be good for em keplers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 08-22-2013, 05:59 | posts: 3,714

I just watched for a brief moment and...'Physically Based Shading'?
I think they meant 'Physics-based Shading'?




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 08-22-2013, 06:17 | posts: 2,916 | Location: Philippines

Nope, its physically based shading, check SIGGRAPH in google ^__^
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MerolaC
Maha Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970 OC 3Gb
Processor: i5 3570k@H60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Gene
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866 8GB
Soundcard: C-SB-Titanium HD PCI-E
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 08-22-2013, 06:26 | posts: 2,226 | Location: Argentina

OMG.
Dat evaporating water.
LOVED IT.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 08-22-2013, 06:27 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Amazing
but Test drive unlimited 2 already had this the drying up water feature..but this one is better imo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 08-22-2013, 08:03 | posts: 322

Zee Germans know there job.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 08-22-2013, 12:31 | posts: 2,274 | Location: Netherlands

Now CryTek have the problem that Microsoft need to actually sell an Xbone for each copy of Ryse they want to sell...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 08-22-2013, 12:40 | posts: 5,646 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Rather than making people actually buy the SDK why not do what Unreal do and license it out so you get a small percentage of the sales on the games made using the engine not for actual engine it self. Maybe more people will actually use it, I mean EA publish more or less everything Crytek makes yet EA are using Frostbite 3 or Ignite engine for everything they are making. If Cryengine is so good why not use that instead?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 08-22-2013, 13:10 | posts: 322

DICE is owned by EA, Crytek not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ramthegamer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ECS gt 220 1gb ddr3
Processor: Core2duo E8400 3.0 ghz
Mainboard: Intel DG41 RQ
Memory: Kingston 4gb DDR2 @800Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Viewtec 400 w
Default 08-22-2013, 14:12 | posts: 819 | Location: lebanon-middle east

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Rather than making people actually buy the SDK why not do what Unreal do and license it out so you get a small percentage If Cryengine is so good why not use that instead?
if cryengine 3 is so good why haven't we seen but one fully implemented featured game as in Crysis 3, not to mention a half a**ed crysis 2 game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 08-22-2013, 14:36 | posts: 14,702 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramthegamer View Post
if cryengine 3 is so good why haven't we seen but one fully implemented featured game as in Crysis 3, not to mention a half a**ed crysis 2 game.
Because super high end games cost lots of money to make.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 08-22-2013, 23:56 | posts: 1,112 | Location: UK

Elements of that look like UE4, others like Frostbite 3.

Still believe DICE got the edge of games engines right now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 08-23-2013, 16:25 | posts: 9,440 | Location: Sweden

http://www.crydev.net/newspage.php?n...9b56fc8abf741f

Download for the new CryEngine SDK.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios @1215
Processor: 4690k @4.7
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 08-23-2013, 17:19 | posts: 6,320 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loobyluggs View Post
Elements of that look like UE4, others like Frostbite 3.

Still believe DICE got the edge of games engines right now.
Frostbite3, what can it do unique? have large scale maps and destruction.
dice said in bf3 only 10% of the engine was being used then we see vids of bf4 and it looks exactly the same, not to metion they want to rip us off with the price of game and *barf premium get it two weeks early bull****.
4A Game engine is where it's at imo.

Last edited by SLI-756; 08-23-2013 at 17:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 Amp! 1215MHz
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 08-23-2013, 19:17 | posts: 6,862 | Location: Urban`Jungle

The lightning looks very realistic at certain moments, really nice. I wish i would see such approach in games and not all that overdone brightness postprocess bull
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
msdos622wasfun
Newbie
 
msdos622wasfun's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280X
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO
Memory: 16 GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 08-26-2013, 04:03 | posts: 27 | Location: Michigan, USA

Wow!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-26-2013, 06:03 | posts: 3,717 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramthegamer View Post
if cryengine 3 is so good why haven't we seen but one fully implemented featured game as in Crysis 3, not to mention a half a**ed crysis 2 game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
Because super high end games cost lots of money to make.
Because consoles can't support the processing required. Much easier to cripple the PC version than the fully make use of each platforms capability.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
vejn
Master Guru
 
vejn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7870 TF3
Processor: Core i5 3350P
Mainboard: MSI B75 G41
Memory: 4 Gb DDR
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-26-2013, 06:19 | posts: 710

Is CryEngine capable to write RPG open world games like Dragon Age Origins ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 08-26-2013, 06:28 | posts: 9,440 | Location: Sweden

Fully open world is probably not possible but large open environments can still be accomplished like say the Dragon Age games.
(Unsure how large the levels can be and what the performance impact would be.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
vejn
Master Guru
 
vejn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7870 TF3
Processor: Core i5 3350P
Mainboard: MSI B75 G41
Memory: 4 Gb DDR
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 08-26-2013, 07:11 | posts: 710

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasBeckman View Post
Fully open world is probably not possible but large open environments can still be accomplished like say the Dragon Age games.
(Unsure how large the levels can be and what the performance impact would be.)
Well, devs have to optimize this if they want to compete to Frostbite3 and UE4.
Did anybody try this version of Cryengine?
Previos versions had steep learning curve. Do you know some good new tutorials for this version?

OT, what is easiest engine to begin with ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
NvidiaFreak650
Member Guru
 
NvidiaFreak650's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 650 Ti Boost
Processor: Intel i5 4570 3.6Ghz
Mainboard: ASrock Fatal1ty H87
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600mhz XMP 1.2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150 & Z-5500
PSU: Cool Master i500 500w
Default 08-26-2013, 07:51 | posts: 118

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Frostbite3, what can it do unique? have large scale maps and destruction.
dice said in bf3 only 10% of the engine was being used then we see vids of bf4 and it looks exactly the same, not to metion they want to rip us off with the price of game and *barf premium get it two weeks early bull****.
4A Game engine is where it's at imo.
BF4 look very very pretty & it look like BF 3.5 but if your PC can play BF3 max then BF4 will be no problem. also BF Premium $49 = no thanks because it give you two week early & if it was $14.99 then I buy it but not $49 that too much, hell $20 I can buy Call of Duty Ghost lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.