Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Battlefield 3 poor performance GTX 770 i7 2600
Old
  (#1)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default Battlefield 3 poor performance GTX 770 i7 2600 - 08-21-2013, 07:07 | posts: 82

Hi,

GPU usage is at 80%-95% in BF3 and I get about 45-60 fps maxed out. Lowering any settings except mesh makes no difference. Lowering MSAA to 0x makes no difference. GPU usage goes down to 50-60%. CPU usage is about 50% so its not being bottlenecked.

Lowering mesh increases fps to 65-80 region.

I get around 3600 in 3dmark 2013 Firestrike Extreme and around 40 fps in Heaven (1080p 8xAA ultra). Crysis 3 runs fine. I have tried 320.49, 326.01, and now on 326.41. No difference.

GTX 770 Zotac
Win7 64bit
i7 2600
DH67BL
8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM
Corsair 650W PSU
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
HellSpawn2097
Member Guru
 
HellSpawn2097's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 295 OC edition
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.01Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory: Corsair+Patriot 8GB DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Extrememusic
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-21-2013, 09:34 | posts: 97 | Location: Langemark Poelkapelle(W-VL]

V-sync issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 08-21-2013, 09:52 | posts: 1,822

If you are not capping the fps or using v-sync then the cpu is capping the whole thing.

"GPU usage is at 80%-95%" this means cpu bottleneck.Is the cpu overclocked?

"GPU usage goes down to 50-60%" this means that in certain areas of the game the bottleneck is even worse because the game does not ask for more power of your gpu or because the cpu has not much more to give.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 08-21-2013 at 09:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-21-2013, 10:01 | posts: 82

Vsync forced off. CPU usage at 50% all threads being used at 50%. If its CPU bottleneck how can I force it to use more CPU? Crysis warhead runs at 99% GPU load.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 08-21-2013, 10:03 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarlettimmy View Post
Vsync forced off. CPU usage at 50% all threads being used at 50%. If its CPU bottleneck how can I force it to use more CPU? Crysis warhead runs at 99% GPU load.
Only by overclocking to ~4.5ghz if it's still on stock clocks.

Crysis Warhead does not use the same engine of BF3 and it's more a gpu bound game.Are you playing BF3 on the multiplayer or single?

edit:

Other thing, if the game is only using 50% of the cpu it means that the game itself does not need all that power to run like it should, it means it could be more optimized.Then, in order to get more speed you need to clock that thing to 4.5-4.8 or try other settings and lower them.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 08-21-2013 at 10:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-21-2013, 10:25 | posts: 82

The mesh setting is the only thing that makes any difference. At low I get 65-80 fps. Lowering MSAA, HBAO makes no difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 08-21-2013, 12:14 | posts: 3,035 | Location: UK

What is your cpu clocked at?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Seb1
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus ENGTX560 DC/2DI/1GD5
Processor: i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Pro3
Memory: 24GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: onboard+Samson SA850
PSU: Seasonic S12II Bronze 520
Default 08-21-2013, 21:40 | posts: 42

BF3 has a nice performance monitor, open the console (press ~) and type Render.PerfOverlayVisible 1

If the yellow graph is above the green, then it's a CPU bottleneck - I doubt it, but you didn't mentioned the resolution on which you playing at.

You have a plain i5-2600 on a H67 mobo, so heavy OC is out of the question.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-22-2013, 13:02 | posts: 82

Yellow and green are pretty much on top of each other. Neither is above the other.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
qgshadow
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 780 SLI 2560x1440 120hz
Processor: i7 4930k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus X79-DELUXE
Memory: 16gig 2400mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200Watt
Default 08-22-2013, 16:27 | posts: 69

You might want to install ParkControl Utility and see if you have some core that are parked
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
SmOgER
Member Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 560 @952/2495stb
Processor: Xeon X5470
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3R
Memory: 8GB DDR3 CorsairVengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Chieftec CTG-650C
Default 08-22-2013, 16:49 | posts: 93 | Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

single GTX770 bottlenecked by i7 2600 to crap out at 60FPS??!
Not again guys, this is nonsense.
I mean, really.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-22-2013, 16:51 | posts: 82

All cores unparked a few days ago. Reduced stuttering but fps is still 45-60. Low fps occurs on the deployment screen, where a large area is shown.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
SmOgER
Member Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 560 @952/2495stb
Processor: Xeon X5470
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3R
Memory: 8GB DDR3 CorsairVengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Chieftec CTG-650C
Default 08-22-2013, 16:59 | posts: 93 | Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Check your HDD usage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-22-2013, 17:02 | posts: 82

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmOgER View Post
Check your HDD usage.
how?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-22-2013, 17:04 | posts: 18,724 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Bf3 multi player like high clocked intel cpus. Single player is more gpu limited
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
SmOgER
Member Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 560 @952/2495stb
Processor: Xeon X5470
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3R
Memory: 8GB DDR3 CorsairVengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Chieftec CTG-650C
Default 08-22-2013, 17:28 | posts: 93 | Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Bf3 multi player like high clocked intel cpus. Single player is more gpu limited
Yes, but it can utilize 4 cores regardless, I remember my Q6600 peaking at some 90%.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
NeoandGeo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @4.6
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD4B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 RipJaws
Soundcard: HT Omega Claro+ 7.1
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 08-23-2013, 14:53 | posts: 439

Hopefully BF4 is more optimized on the CPU end. In intense 64-player matches, I can dip into the mid 50's during heavy destruction sequences with a 680SLI setup w/2600k@4.6ghz. Seeing some of the amazing destruction in BF4, I wonder how our systems will fare.

Spending all this money on a PC only to be hindered by a top of the line CPU when it is sitting around 50% utilization overall. Devs need to spend some time evaluating how to properly hit our CPUs in the coming generation. The only time I expect framerate to drop below 60 is when the CPU/GPU are both pegged at 90%+.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-23-2013, 16:58 | posts: 18,724 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmOgER View Post
Yes, but it can utilize 4 cores regardless, I remember my Q6600 peaking at some 90%.
That high cpu usage indicates a cpu bottleneck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 08-23-2013, 20:07 | posts: 13,567 | Location: USA

If you play on 32 or 16 player maps, you could probably get away with playing BF3 on a stock CPU. if your on a 64 player map that's full, forget about it. Even I have dips to the low 50 FPS range on certain maps and I normally run with a very high overclock in BF3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 3GB SLI
Processor: 5960X @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: G930
PSU: 850W XFX
Default 08-23-2013, 22:23 | posts: 324 | Location: London

OP: Put mesh quality to low, ultra everything else
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ShadowDuke
Maha Guru
 
ShadowDuke's Avatar
 
Videocard: GigaByte GTX 660 oc / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300 (3,5GHz)
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8GB Crucial DDR3 (1600)
Soundcard: Creative Inspire 5300
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 08-23-2013, 22:40 | posts: 1,850 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by bishi View Post
OP: Put mesh quality to low, ultra everything else
......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Scarlettimmy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 08-24-2013, 04:44 | posts: 82

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
If you play on 32 or 16 player maps, you could probably get away with playing BF3 on a stock CPU. if your on a 64 player map that's full, forget about it. Even I have dips to the low 50 FPS range on certain maps and I normally run with a very high overclock in BF3
Same fps on 32 and 64 player maps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-24-2013, 06:00 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
Hopefully BF4 is more optimized on the CPU end. In intense 64-player matches, I can dip into the mid 50's during heavy destruction sequences with a 680SLI setup w/2600k@4.6ghz. Seeing some of the amazing destruction in BF4, I wonder how our systems will fare.

Spending all this money on a PC only to be hindered by a top of the line CPU when it is sitting around 50% utilization overall. Devs need to spend some time evaluating how to properly hit our CPUs in the coming generation. The only time I expect framerate to drop below 60 is when the CPU/GPU are both pegged at 90%+.
Lol Frostbite is an extremely well optimized heavily multithreaded engine, it can and will load at least 8 cores, probably more.

This is what games will look like "in the coming generation". About bloody time really.

50% overall load in Task Manager means very little, it's the per core load u need to look at. HT should be enabled in BF3 btw.

Is your 680 2GB or 4GB?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-24-2013 at 06:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
NeoandGeo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @4.6
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD4B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 RipJaws
Soundcard: HT Omega Claro+ 7.1
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 08-24-2013, 12:57 | posts: 439

2GB, The highest I have seen VRAM usage is 1.8GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-24-2013, 13:37 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
2GB, The highest I have seen VRAM usage is 1.8GB.
The "fps dips" are better known as lag or stutter and happen after running out of vram. This is why I always advise 3-4GB for CF/SLI. You won't see all 2GB used because of fragmentation.

It's easy to test this by reducing vram footprint down to about 1500mb then see if the dips still occur.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-24-2013 at 18:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.