Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Video Card Upgrade need opinion
Old
  (#1)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Tagan BZ-800
Default Video Card Upgrade need opinion - 08-13-2013, 15:56 | posts: 926 | Location: London

Hi right im planning on retiring my good old 460 next month and replacing it with a EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4GB FTW w/ ACX now im not sure if my PSU will cut it a Tagan BZ-800 watt as im thinking of keeping my 460 as a physx card if not ill just use it and parts to build my old man a pc.

Also what are the full fan specs on the ACX coolers and can they be replaced?

think theses are the correct specs for the psu


Last edited by antonyfrn; 08-13-2013 at 16:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 08-13-2013, 16:20 | posts: 7,452

Your PSU will be fine for that card. Have you already bought the 760, and if not what sort of budget are you looking at? Maybe we can find you a good deal. Either way it's a great setup and should work just fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Memory: 8GB Patriot Signature
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Tt Toughpower XT 775W
Default 08-13-2013, 16:27 | posts: 4,141 | Location: Serbia, NS

PSU is fine.

I know what Darkest will recommend you but if you already decided can't go wrong there, enjoy your new card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 08-13-2013, 16:32 | posts: 7,452

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
PSU is fine.

I know what Darkest will recommend you but if you already decided can't go wrong there, enjoy your new card.
Haha.

The 760 is still a fantastic card as long as you get a good deal on it. No harm in checking however.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 08-13-2013, 16:58 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

PSU will be fine. Though not sure if there's any point to keep 460. Maybe you could sell 460 and get GTX 770 instead of 760? 4GB VRAM not too useful on a single 760, but could come in handy when going SLI down the road.

ACX coolers seem to be quite noisy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Tagan BZ-800
Default 08-13-2013, 17:34 | posts: 926 | Location: London

Cheers guys ive seen it on scan for 250 what's around the max I want to go could go 300ish max but I wanted to save some of the cash I got coming end of the month. but I think after that next upgrade is my cpu. but doe anyone know exactly what performance difference I can expect between a 2Gb and 4GB variant as with the 2Gb ?

Thinking maybe use the 460 to build my dad a simple little pc seeing I got a 500 watt psu laying about and AM3 mobo in the draw only down side is the ddr2 memory

Last edited by antonyfrn; 08-13-2013 at 17:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
leeaids
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 690
Processor: Intel I7 3930k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: Corsair platinum 16gb
Soundcard: Asus Xonar/ Mackie HR824s
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 08-13-2013, 21:31 | posts: 81 | Location: England

unless you game over multy screens, you wont see any diffrance between 2gb or 4gb
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
LinkDrive
Ancient Guru
 
LinkDrive's Avatar
 
Videocard: Toaster
Processor: 2 Slot
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Wall Socket
Default 08-14-2013, 22:43 | posts: 4,646

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeaids View Post
unless you game over multy screens, you wont see any diffrance between 2gb or 4gb
I second this
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-14-2013, 22:44 | posts: 26,089 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeaids View Post
unless you game over multy screens, you wont see any diffrance between 2gb or 4gb
not yet, although there's a few games that easily go over 2gb vram usage, bf4 alpha uses over 2.5gb @1080p from what I've seen. Next gen ports will be more and more vram hungry. I wouldn't be buying a gpu with 2gb vram nowadays.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
LinkDrive
Ancient Guru
 
LinkDrive's Avatar
 
Videocard: Toaster
Processor: 2 Slot
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Wall Socket
Default 08-14-2013, 23:07 | posts: 4,646

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
not yet, although there's a few games that easily go over 2gb vram usage, bf4 alpha uses over 2.5gb @1080p from what I've seen. Next gen ports will be more and more vram hungry. I wouldn't be buying a gpu with 2gb vram nowadays.
Frostbite is known to scale and reserve vram based on the amount of available ram on the video card. Likelihood is that it isn't even exceeding 1.75gb of actual usage at 1080p.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-14-2013, 23:10 | posts: 26,089 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lavans View Post
Frostbite is known to scale and reserve vram based on the amount of available ram on the video card. Likelihood is that it isn't even exceeding 1.75gb of actual usage at 1080p.
frostbyte 3? anyway, bf4 is only one of a few games. and don't forget the new consoles are coming soon and their ports will most likely be a lot more vram demanding.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
LinkDrive
Ancient Guru
 
LinkDrive's Avatar
 
Videocard: Toaster
Processor: 2 Slot
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Wall Socket
Default 08-14-2013, 23:18 | posts: 4,646

Of course new games will be more vram demanding, especially with the next gen consoles. However, there is no standard metric to measure vram usage, nor is there a way to predict how much vram future games will require.

What do you think the odds are of a current gen 2gb card being able to throw out enough horse power for a level of detail that demands more than 2gb? The GTX680 and other equivalent cards are already being taxed by a lot of games that don't even touch 1.5gb of vram.

Last edited by LinkDrive; 08-14-2013 at 23:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-14-2013, 23:38 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

Yes but with the amount of RAM available on the new consoles devs can now take the liberty of piling up higher-res textures and whatnot in RAM. The demand on GPU is less likely to scale with VRAM usage as much as we see now.

Maybe it'll just be an issue of not being able to run really high-res textures if you have insufficient VRAM.

And good to see you back Lavans.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
LinkDrive
Ancient Guru
 
LinkDrive's Avatar
 
Videocard: Toaster
Processor: 2 Slot
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Wall Socket
Default 08-15-2013, 00:11 | posts: 4,646

There is a problem when it comes to textures though. You can only go so high in texture resolution before the difference in texture quality cannot be seen during conventional gaming. At 1080p, I sincerely believe that most people will be hard pressed to see the difference betweek 4k and 8k textures, assuming that developers even go that high. Honestly, I wouldn't expect developers to exceed 2k res textures in most commercial games for the next couple years, not just because of memory usage, but also because of distribution. Max Payne 3 is nearly a 40gb game, which easily pushes the limits of Bluray disks, and can chew up a lot of bandwidth for those who are bandwidth limited.

What can also eat up a lot of vram is dynamic shadows. Honestly, I see developers dramatically increasing the shadow resolution, and number of shadows in general, more so than texture resolutions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
And good to see you back Lavans.
Thanks

Last edited by LinkDrive; 08-15-2013 at 00:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-15-2013, 00:42 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

I agree with what you said. The bandwidth limitations can be overcome by offering a choice. High-res texture packs, like they do in Sleeping Dogs for example.

Interesting remark about the shadows, gotta look into that I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Tagan BZ-800
Default 08-17-2013, 10:24 | posts: 926 | Location: London

Looks like I'm going to go for the 4Gb in a few weeks thankfully I found the extra cables for my PSU was worrying I've lost them. plus there isn't to much price difference think maybe 30. Still not sure if my 460 is worth using for PhysX as not many games seem to be using it atm think only one would be BL2 I own (not sure if the new batman will use it)

Last edited by antonyfrn; 08-17-2013 at 10:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-17-2013, 10:41 | posts: 23,939 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonyfrn View Post
Looks like I'm going to go for the 4Gb in a few weeks thankfully I found the extra cables for my PSU was worrying I've lost them. plus there isn't to much price difference think maybe 30. )
Good to hear. 4GB will at least make adding a 2nd card for SLI a viable option in the future.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-17-2013 at 10:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 08-19-2013, 18:08 | posts: 241

Yeah in which I saw the sli performance of the 760s rival the titan at a low price point it was something I considered too before I went toa 770.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.