Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
from 4gigs to 8 gigs ram
Old
  (#1)
kevnb
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE FleX 7950 3GB
Processor: FX-6300 @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99X Evo R2.0
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard:
PSU: XIGMATEK 650w
Default from 4gigs to 8 gigs ram - 08-13-2013, 15:32 | posts: 255 | Location: Canada

Wondering if I should upgrade mostly for gaming and some programming. Now Ive read a lot of opinions, and people are right that most games use 2gigs tops... But it seems to me windows caches more to hdd with 4 gigs, and correct me if I'm wrong but my gtx 460 will borrow ram if it needs it. Anyway, I'm sure someone here can address my concerns. Oh by the way I game at 1080p.

Last edited by kevnb; 08-13-2013 at 15:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX770 TFG 1320/7812
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 08-13-2013, 16:12 | posts: 1,265 | Location: The Netherlands

Just go for it. The pagefile will be used less and the system will feel snappier.
When your GTX460 runs out of VRAM, system RAM will be used to make up for that. But as GDDR5 is a lot faster with lower latencies, FPS will be lowered significantly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 08-13-2013, 16:25 | posts: 3,690 | Location: Serbia, NS

It's funny how 4GB isn't enough today for multitasking or gaming...

It would be wise to upgrade, 8GB is a sweet spot and it's cheap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kevnb
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE FleX 7950 3GB
Processor: FX-6300 @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99X Evo R2.0
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard:
PSU: XIGMATEK 650w
Default 08-13-2013, 16:34 | posts: 255 | Location: Canada

Ya it seems to me like windows 7 just started wanting more ram at some point, and windows 8 is the same performance wise (task manager makes it seem like it uses less ram, but it doesn't really).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Xman01
Newbie
 
Xman01's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ Turbo 2GB
Processor: C2Q Q6600@3GHZ
Mainboard: Asus P5B Deluxe
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium
PSU: Coolermaster 600W
Default 08-13-2013, 17:47 | posts: 41 | Location: West Wing Of Collinwood

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
It's funny how 4GB isn't enough today for multitasking or gaming...

It would be wise to upgrade, 8GB is a sweet spot and it's cheap.
DDR3 is cheap, DDR2-not so much as I found out. However, BF3 went to running very good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
automaticman
Master Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x 6950 1Gb CF
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 08-14-2013, 01:01 | posts: 779 | Location: Orange County, CA

oh yeah, BF3 in particular seems to like 8GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-14-2013, 01:38 | posts: 24,289 | Location: Hampshire UK

I would go for it, 4gb is pushing it in some cases. 8gb is sweet spot for games v atm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 08-14-2013, 04:21 | posts: 2,837 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

I'd say go for the 8GB. You may not make use of it all of the time, but with RAM, its always good to have the buffer zone there in case you do. I guarantee there will be times in modern gaming where you'll dip into the RAM over 4GB's worth.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 08-14-2013, 04:27 | posts: 906 | Location: UK

If you multi-task with lots of apps, yeah, more RAM the better. Not sure you'll see a big difference when gaming, more of a slight difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 08-14-2013, 05:55 | posts: 6,353 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

As everyone has said, 8gb ram is the way to go. You will notice an immediate difference with regards to speed and response time.

It is the sweet spot as eclap already mentioned. Don't hesitate and go for it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kevnb
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE FleX 7950 3GB
Processor: FX-6300 @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99X Evo R2.0
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard:
PSU: XIGMATEK 650w
Default 08-14-2013, 17:06 | posts: 255 | Location: Canada

I upgraded, and I feel it in some games that don't necessarily use alot of ram. I think windows just behaves different with the extra ram, not using the pagefile so much. Then of course the ram gets shared with the vram, at 1080p some games actually need it when streaming to avoid any stutter. I remember when 4 gigs was the sweet spot, doesn't seem that long ago. But then again I wasn't using a 1080p monitor either.

Last edited by kevnb; 08-14-2013 at 17:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dk_lightning
Maha Guru
 
dk_lightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7870XT
Processor: 3570K 4.5Ghz Silver Arrow
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 2600Mhz
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 2100
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 08-16-2013, 16:26 | posts: 971 | Location: North Wales

gigs really? GB Gb even gb or gigabytes but please don't say gigs!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-16-2013, 19:17 | posts: 3,484 | Location: Australia

Future games are likely to make use of larger amounts of RAM. There is no point going to 8 GB if you aren't using x64 Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 08-16-2013, 19:19 | posts: 1,987 | Location: far,far from home

one guy told to another guy who told me that having 8 Gb of RAM allows you to have a ton of pr0n tabs opened at any time.
i am just saying!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-16-2013, 21:46 | posts: 3,484 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by anticupidon View Post
one guy told to another guy who told me that having 8 Gb of RAM allows you to have a ton of pr0n tabs opened at any time.
i am just saying!
I guess soft pr0n would be pictures of a HD8970/GTX 880, and hardcore pr0n would be filling the motherboard slots? . SLI/Crossfire would be a MMF, hence why it works awkwardly most of the time.

Last edited by thatguy91; 08-16-2013 at 21:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 08-16-2013, 21:58 | posts: 1,987 | Location: far,far from home

each one to his kind of pr0n
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.