Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Screen randomly freezes to solid colour
Old
  (#1)
nubki11a
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair TX650 v2
Default Screen randomly freezes to solid colour - 08-10-2013, 23:12 | posts: 65 | Location: Rotterdam

Hey guys, I've got a really strange problem that I can't seem to solve whatever I try

Since about a month and a half, I've been having a strange issue with my computer where (almost always when I'm gaming) my screen turns to a random solid colour, often with little lines. It looks like this:



It usually occurs when I'm playing League of Legends, always during a time when not a lot is happening on my screen (for instance when I'm buying items). I think it only happened once when I was browsing.

Sometimes it happens with only a half an hour interval and sometimes once in three hours.

When it happens, the LCD on my keyboard also freezes, but any music I have on or other audio will keep playing (it wont react when I press the play button on my keyboard or headset). The strange thing is that when I'm on Skype and it happens, I can still hear my friends talk and they can still hear me. As far as I know, the only thing I can do is hold the power button and reboot.
  • I have reinstalled League of Legends.
  • I have tried to connect an additional screen (which is connected to my motherboard, not my graphics card), but that just froze and I couldn't alt-tab or move my cursor to it. So it seems like it's not my main screen and less likely that it is my graphics card.
  • I have installed the most recent drivers.
  • I have Secure Erased my SSD with Windows and reinstalled Windows with new drivers etc.
  • I have updated my SSD's firmware.
  • I have checked my temperatures and they never get high when I play games, max. 60C.
  • I have looked at the Windows Logs, but could't find anything asides some kind of WIM error that seemed to happen a lot.
  • I have cleared dust out of my PC.
  • I have reset the BIOS.

I am planning on connecting my secondary screen as main screen and see what happens. I'm also checking whether I can still shutdown my PC via the Start menu. If it still happens I will try to put my old nVidia 9600GT in my PC.


Specs:

Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K @3.3 GHz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD 6870, at stock speeds.
Power Supply: Corsair TX650 v2
RAM: G.Skill RipjawsX
SSD: Crucial M4 64GB
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Keyboard: Logitech G15

The computer is about a year and a half old.

Does anyone have any idea what it could be? Any help greatly appreciated!

Last edited by nubki11a; 08-10-2013 at 23:19.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7770 [1100/1300]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 08-10-2013, 23:14 | posts: 1,333 | Location: Portugal

I get thta from gpu overclock gone extreme. Lower the memory clock of your gpu. Try this first. Then, if not solved, weŽll go from there. Might be that something in your gpu related to vram is dying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
nubki11a
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair TX650 v2
Default 08-10-2013, 23:33 | posts: 65 | Location: Rotterdam

Thanks for the quick reply!

Although I haven't ever overclocked my graphics card, I'll give it a try!
What values do you recommend? I left the GPU Clock and VDDC (voltage?) at 900 and 1175 respectively, I put the Memory Clock down to 850 from 1050. I'll play a game now and see how it goes!

EDIT: Well, my screen is constantly flashing now, seems like Sapphire TriiX is unreliable. Hope it restores after a reboot. Can you recommend a better under/overclocking program?
EDIT2: AMD Overdrive doesn't allow me to put the memory clock lower than the default 1050MHz, maybe anything lower screws the GPU.

Last edited by nubki11a; 08-10-2013 at 23:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-10-2013, 23:36 | posts: 3,316 | Location: Lebanon

GPU, VRM temperatures. Check those.

I've had that happen with power delivery issues, AFAIK.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-11-2013, 00:01 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Dont oc that card. Give it a good dusting and try again. Only oc when stock speeds run fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-11-2013, 00:13 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

my gut tells me it's the overclock. more specifically vram overclock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-11-2013, 00:26 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

That pic was from a stock 6870 unless he oc it by accident as he is not oc savvy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-11-2013, 00:31 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
That pic was from a stock 6870 unless he oc it by accident as he is not oc savvy
wasn't sure if he was overclocking, didn't really mention it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nubki11a
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair TX650 v2
Default 08-11-2013, 00:51 | posts: 65 | Location: Rotterdam

Nope, it's all at stocks speeds. I didn't overclock it at all. I tried to underclock it like StewieTech proposed, but to no avail. I just played a game and my GPU constantly hovered around 60 degrees. That's what's so weird about it. I didn't see anything special and it didn't freeze.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-11-2013, 01:18 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

It's unstable vram, happens on 4/5/6 series ATI cards with GDDR5 memory. try bumping up the memory voltage slightly (say 1.55v) with Trixx or MSI AB.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
nubki11a
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair TX650 v2
Default 08-11-2013, 01:30 | posts: 65 | Location: Rotterdam

Thanks Pill Monster, I'll try that tomorrow!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
nubki11a
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Logitech G35 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair TX650 v2
Default 09-10-2013, 14:54 | posts: 65 | Location: Rotterdam

Sorry for not responding for a long time guys, I was away. I seems that the issue has been resolved by reinstalling windows. I didn't do anything special but it didn't happen a second time So I guess it was related to my drivers or my previous CPU overclock or Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.