Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Hanging issues
Old
  (#1)
nanogenesis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GBT GTX970 G1 1550/7700
Processor: Intel i5-4670k @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 8Gb 2400Mhz CR Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default Hanging issues - 08-03-2013, 07:38 | posts: 736 | Location: Antarctica

Greetings.

My hardware consists of the following:

AMD P2 x4 955 BE
ASUS M5A99X EVO
MSI GeForce GTX-560Ti (2)
1Tb Seagate Baracuda 7200.12
1Tb WD Caviar Black
Corsair TX-850V2

Now lets start a log.

From the start I got the cpu, its stayed at 3.7Ghz with 1.4v overclock. In between I had the north bridge at 2600mhz last year, but it was causing blue-screens, because of which I turned it off, and ultimately the culprit was the faulty hard drive.

Now nearly a month ago, my pc froze randomly after usage. This was when I had my northbridge at 2600mhz exactly 1 day prior to the hanging. And then finally when I was installing nvidia 314.22 there was a bsod just after it told me to restart. Unfortunately it just restarted n I couldn't see the code. After that I dropped the ball and dialed it back to 2000mhz north bridge. Running stable, no problems.

Now around 1 week back, I dialed back to 1.35v, and 3.2Ghz because of the weather. SLI was still there.

Just yesterday, I sent a card in RMA(TwinFrozr II Fans so OP), so now I'm stuck with 1 card.

I just get these random freezes/hang ups again. No BSOD. It just hangs. Only 1ce I got an error of 'nvidia driver 326.19 stopped working' (updated recently), and the other 1 time I recovered from the freeze, my usb keyboard just got messed up. I had to disconnect it for some time and then plug it back in.

Any idea whats causing these issues?

My bets are slightly on my 850W PSU, but then Corsair psu's dont break often, and it has fairly served me right till now. Plus both gpus running at 99% load for hours it sustained. Hell it even rode through crysis 3. Just cant figure out whats exactly wrong.

Also, I hard disk smart stats check out. 0 errors there. GPU also sorta checks out. Only culprits possible are motherboard,cpu,ram,psu.

Any suggestions or help will be appreciated.

Last edited by nanogenesis; 08-03-2013 at 07:41. Reason: update
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Under Construction
Mainboard: Under Construction
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 08-03-2013, 08:04 | posts: 9,408 | Location: Toledo

Run Memtest for a few hours on each stick and see if they all pass.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
nanogenesis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GBT GTX970 G1 1550/7700
Processor: Intel i5-4670k @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 8Gb 2400Mhz CR Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default 08-03-2013, 18:53 | posts: 736 | Location: Antarctica

The last time I ran the test, it took 8hours for atleast 6 passes. How many passes do you advice I do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 08-03-2013, 23:11 | posts: 16,952 | Location: US East Coast

If your memory can get through 2 passes, in most cases the memory is fine. However, for the sake of ensuring the most accurate results, it's best to allow it to run for longer. I'd say 8hrs should be sufficient though. If you don't see any errors at that point, the memory and controller are fine.

Keep in mind though, errors in memtest don't necessarily mean that the memory itself is faulty. A faulty memory controller will also cause errors in memtest.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nanogenesis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GBT GTX970 G1 1550/7700
Processor: Intel i5-4670k @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 8Gb 2400Mhz CR Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default 08-04-2013, 07:48 | posts: 736 | Location: Antarctica

One time I remember seeing the same issue is on my uncle's pc, where the pc just hanged in the middle of nothing. Apparently dust was prohibiting the ram from functioning fine.

But the difference is, the pc wasn't booting again. In my case the pc is booting just fine.

Also you do understand, checking each module individually for 8hrs takes a hefty amount of time. It will probably take 4 days to check the 4 modules while I'm at work. Will report my findings.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.