Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How install SSD in 800D?
Old
  (#1)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Striker GTX760 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440/H80i
Mainboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3
Memory: Corsair Veng LP 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: CoolerMaster GX650 80+S
Default How install SSD in 800D? - 08-02-2013, 22:31 | posts: 4,865 | Location: Netherlands

I just traded my laptop for this Desktop PC, i'm new to this case.

As i havent build this PC, i have no clue where to install SSD.

I thought in the front? I see 2 sata cables running from mobo to the front.
But i installed my SSD there and it doesn't show, i think i have it wrong?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
jeffmorris
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 760
Processor: Intel I5 4670
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: Two 8GB modules
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX 650W PSU
Default 08-03-2013, 01:53 | posts: 1,265

Did you plug in the SATA and the power cables to the SSD?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 08-03-2013, 02:21 | posts: 5,662 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

I have mind sitting in the bottom compartment in the front of my 800D where there is a cage for drives extention. Its not even connected to anything its just sitting on the floor. It really does not matter where you put it.

It will fit into the hot swap bays, but I have two HDD's in there already and the other two connections are broken on mine. Plus if you have a Sata3 SSD and an old 800D without the Sata3 upgrade on the hotswap you will bottleneck the drive if you install it into the hot swap drives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 08-03-2013, 02:55 | posts: 12,954 | Location: USA

^pretty much tat

Just stick it in any one of the bays. You have a crap ton to choose from. If I'm not mistaken. I believe one of them has a mounting adapter for an SSD as well.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Striker GTX760 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440/H80i
Mainboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3
Memory: Corsair Veng LP 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: CoolerMaster GX650 80+S
Default 08-05-2013, 20:17 | posts: 4,865 | Location: Netherlands

Ah thanks, it was hidden lol.

Yea everything is connected, but it doesn't seem to connect right when i put it in the bay.

I have another question, what is the safest way without scratching the case to remove annoying stickers?
The guy i got this PC from has some at the front wich looks horrible.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.