Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How install SSD in 800D?
Old
  (#1)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: POV GTX 680 EXO Edition
Processor: Intel i7 860@stock
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe
Memory: 4x2GB Corsair 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Dell ADA995 5.1+Z-680 5.1
PSU: OCZ Gold 1000W
Default How install SSD in 800D? - 08-02-2013, 22:31 | posts: 6,145 | Location: The Netherlands

I just traded my laptop for this Desktop PC, i'm new to this case.

As i havent build this PC, i have no clue where to install SSD.

I thought in the front? I see 2 sata cables running from mobo to the front.
But i installed my SSD there and it doesn't show, i think i have it wrong?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
jeffmorris
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 760
Processor: Intel I5 4670
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: Two 8GB modules
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX 650W PSU
Default 08-03-2013, 01:53 | posts: 1,298

Did you plug in the SATA and the power cables to the SSD?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 GAMING SLI
Processor: i7 4770K@4.5GHz 1.24v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W
Default 08-03-2013, 02:21 | posts: 6,707 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

I have mind sitting in the bottom compartment in the front of my 800D where there is a cage for drives extention. Its not even connected to anything its just sitting on the floor. It really does not matter where you put it.

It will fit into the hot swap bays, but I have two HDD's in there already and the other two connections are broken on mine. Plus if you have a Sata3 SSD and an old 800D without the Sata3 upgrade on the hotswap you will bottleneck the drive if you install it into the hot swap drives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 970 SSC
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 860
Default 08-03-2013, 02:55 | posts: 14,787 | Location: USA

^pretty much tat

Just stick it in any one of the bays. You have a crap ton to choose from. If I'm not mistaken. I believe one of them has a mounting adapter for an SSD as well.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: POV GTX 680 EXO Edition
Processor: Intel i7 860@stock
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe
Memory: 4x2GB Corsair 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Dell ADA995 5.1+Z-680 5.1
PSU: OCZ Gold 1000W
Default 08-05-2013, 20:17 | posts: 6,145 | Location: The Netherlands

Ah thanks, it was hidden lol.

Yea everything is connected, but it doesn't seem to connect right when i put it in the bay.

I have another question, what is the safest way without scratching the case to remove annoying stickers?
The guy i got this PC from has some at the front wich looks horrible.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.