Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SSD recomandation for non-trim
Old
  (#1)
cristy6100
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 275
Processor: AMD FX 9370
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD USB
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default SSD recomandation for non-trim - 08-02-2013, 02:05 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

Hello, just registered today to ask a question that I could not find a definitive answer to,
I want to buy 2 Samsung 840 Pro's 120GB to RAID-0 them on 990FX as far as I know no trim, in this config, but I know that they have garbage collection, but reading on the forums/reviews some say its not making a good job of using it without the TRIM command from the OS, and some say it does, but its almost 300E investment so I cannot go by a 50/50 chance, the other options would be LAMD based SSD Corsair Neutron GTX and Seagate 600 Pro;
So could someone please clarify does it make a good job of restoring read/write speeds if left idle for lets say 1h-2h's or should I choose the neutron or Seagate, as I read they work better without TRIM, but again some reviewers say they do some say they don't work at all good without it. I really need some clarification on this matter

Thank you
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 08-02-2013, 05:21 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

990FX certainly does support TRIM on either the standard Microsoft driver or AMD's AHCI implementation. Support was added years ago with the 700 series Dragon platform if I recall.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
cristy6100
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 275
Processor: AMD FX 9370
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD USB
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 08-02-2013, 13:38 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

Yes but as far as I know it only works for single drives, if SATA is configured in RAID mode, if you make a RAID array it wont pass the TRIM command,
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 08-02-2013, 19:54 | posts: 13,249 | Location: USA

AMD doesn't have TRIM support when using RAID. At least not yet anyways. Intel does though. But you should be ok using the Samsungs in RAID. Magician has an optimization tool you can use for when TRIM isn't available.

Last edited by PhazeDelta1; 08-02-2013 at 19:58.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-02-2013, 20:28 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

Unless you have a SPECIFIC goal in mind for throughput in a certain application, SSD RAID0 does not seem to benefit boot times or game loading times.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 08-04-2013, 10:19 | posts: 185

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Unless you have a SPECIFIC goal in mind for throughput in a certain application, SSD RAID0 does not seem to benefit boot times or game loading times.
I have decided to build up Raid 0 with 5x Corsair Force GS. 2500mb/s read and 2000mb/s write, with LSI 9211 controller.

My X48 chipset and DDR3 memory guarantees that this bandwidth is not supressed by any kind of bottleneck.

Boot time is about same, true, but loading times are almost immediate. I can also notice different behavior of system - like the clock near cursor is not constantly there when loading data, but they are flashing very fast, as its certain that CPU have to take a break once data from drive are loaded...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
cristy6100
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 275
Processor: AMD FX 9370
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD USB
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 08-04-2013, 12:24 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

Does the LSI SAS 9211-8i have UEFI firmware, for supporting windows 8 secureboot and fastboot?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.