Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Simple question about SLI and Video Output
Old
  (#1)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default Simple question about SLI and Video Output - 08-01-2013, 22:38 | posts: 224 | Location: Brazil

Hi guys how are you?

Let me ask you a thing

When i have 2 boards in SLI only the one in the top send video to my monitor, if i connect the cable in the second one nothing happens, even the first one without the cable is it ok right? With SLI just the peimary one semd video to screen right?

But even when i turn on the pc with both cards installed but without the SLI bridge connected still only the top board send video to the monitor, if i connect the cable in the bottom one and leave the top without cable no video just like the same scenario, is it normal?


Second question

I have a Dell U2711 with 2560x1440 resolution

If i use the displayport cable the image looks normal, amazing, but i just tried 2 DVI cables and the image is horrible, it just stays nice at 1280x1024, DVI-D is not supossed to run 2560x1440 without problems?


Thanks

Last edited by wsarahan; 08-01-2013 at 22:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 22:53 | posts: 5,201 | Location: FLA,USA

First off yea just plug it into your main primary card.
Second the dvi-d cables you are using are probably single link not dual link just continue using display port as that's a better connection anyways.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 08-01-2013, 22:56 | posts: 224 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
First off yea just plug it into your main primary card.
Second the dvi-d cables you are using are probably single link not dual link just continue using display port as that's a better connection anyways.
Thanks

About the cable yeah it was a single link, my mistake

About the video signal, even with the sli bridge off the second should not send video?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 23:11 | posts: 5,201 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by wsarahan View Post
Thanks

About the cable yeah it was a single link, my mistake

About the video signal, even with the sli bridge off the second should not send video?

Thanks
I don't believe it should the only time it should is when using surround but all monitors must be plugged into the top card until surround is activated. Also could be in your BIOS your top card is set to be the display.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 08-01-2013, 23:43 | posts: 224 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
I don't believe it should the only time it should is when using surround but all monitors must be plugged into the top card until surround is activated. Also could be in your BIOS your top card is set to be the display.
Thanks

I'd like to be sure about the bottom card not send video even without the sli bridge but i don't have time and patiente to unplug the top one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 08-02-2013, 02:37 | posts: 224 | Location: Brazil

So anyone knows if it`s 100% sure that even with the sli bridge the bottom card won`t send video when both cards are installed in the case?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 950@4.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5 v2.0
Memory: 6GB (8-9-8-24-1T)@1870
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 08-02-2013, 08:03 | posts: 747 | Location: France

I'm not sure exactly what is your point but the second card can send video with SLI enabled.
I used that in the past with my 2xGTX295 configuration.
My TV (HDMI) was connected to the second card.

According to the surround display guidelines it is always the case:
http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/gui...680-surround#3

But with only one monitor connected (primary display) only the master card can be used I guess (usually in the bios you can decide with PCIE port is hosting the master card).

Last edited by Nono06; 08-02-2013 at 08:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JJayzX
Master Guru
 
JJayzX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 660 FTW Sig2 Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
Memory: RipjawsX 8gb DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 08-02-2013, 15:55 | posts: 339 | Location: RI, USA

I thought when sli is disabled you could use a monitor on second card cause they are independent then.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.