Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Anyone familiar with a msi z77a-g45 gaming
Old
  (#1)
visine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 670
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default Anyone familiar with a msi z77a-g45 gaming - 08-01-2013, 19:51 | posts: 403 | Location: Norway

Hello.


I recently got my hands on a msi z77a g45 gaming as a friend didn't need it anymore, I mostly wanted it because it's newer than mine with pci-e 3.0 and more slots available if I later wanted sli.
However I had a gigabyte ud4 earlier with (the old bios) and I had an offset overclock at 4.5, I see alot of ppl use turbo to overclock these days, but I have no clue how this works.. Can anyone give me some pinpointers / settings for a stable 4.5ghz on this mobo?

I tried to just set all my cores to 45 and leave everythin else at auto, but it seems when i'm running ibt (for a quick check) cpu-z just bounces fromm 3.5 3.6 and sometimes up to 4.5 , cpu vcore says 1.280 on hwmonitor but VID says 1.386, im confused. Anyone? Help is highly appreciated!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-01-2013, 20:04 | posts: 1,255 | Location: Iowa

I'm sure you'll get some good help from the gurus here, but I'd also suggest posting here. There are alot of super huge msi geeks running around and have very specific knowledge on the msi line.

http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?PH...o34&board=54.0


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
visine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 670
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default 08-02-2013, 13:53 | posts: 403 | Location: Norway

I've checked through alot of the posts, not too many people with 2600k that shows they're settings. However when I for example run prime or ibt my multiplier bounces alot, I changed some settings:

Disable Overspeed protections
Set long duration power limit to 200
Long duration maintianed: 128 seconds
Short Duration: 250
Vdroop offset control 75%


And when I ran ibt now it bounces from multiplier 34x to 45x and my vcore is 1.328

I haven't gotten any bsod with either of the settings, do I have to change anything if everything works on auto with default power settings as well? Or do I need to change them to 250 / 128 / 255? Or is that only if I need more volts? And the vid voltage in hwmonitor, is that accurate or should I just ignore that? It seems to go rather high while testing.. Hopefully I get some answers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
visine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 670
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default 08-03-2013, 19:36 | posts: 403 | Location: Norway

I got some weird issues as well that I can't seem to find a solution, during stress tests it seems like the cpu sometimes throttles down to 3.4 ghz from 4.5 ghz for a couple of seconds? And i've checked the bios if there's any temp protection on, but I can't seem to find anything. I've also tried to up the volt doesn't seem to do the trick, anyone know what I can try?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
macdaddy
Maha Guru
 
macdaddy's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 / MSI G 290X
Processor: 4770K <-- Lemon
Mainboard: ASUS MAX 6 IMPACT
Memory: Dom. Plat 8GB 2400
Soundcard: AUDIOENGINE D1 HD650
PSU: 700W Enermax
Default 08-05-2013, 10:20 | posts: 2,353 | Location: AUSTRALIA

You have to turn off all power saving features in bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
visine
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 670
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default 08-05-2013, 17:54 | posts: 403 | Location: Norway

It still happend, i've gone back to my old mobo, can't believe my 2year old mobo is better and more stable.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.