Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Framepacing Catalyst 13.8 driver review
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default AMD Framepacing Catalyst 13.8 driver review - 08-01-2013, 18:55 | posts: 20,470 | Location: Guru3D testlab

We examine the new AMD Catalyst 13.8 Beta driver that should insert a new feature called framepacing. In our recent FCAT benchmarking article from April, we discovered that AMD Crossfire suffers badly...

AMD Framepacing Catalyst 13.8 driver review
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 08-01-2013, 19:13 | posts: 4,629 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

I still don't fully understand how this works, but if it's an improvement...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 7970 "OC"
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Build in crap!
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 08-01-2013, 19:14 | posts: 165 | Location: Norway

"This first 13.8 beta only supports framepacing in DX10 and 11 games and is compatible with Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1 in the first phase"

Sure 8.1 is supported? Windows unable to detect driver package under installation.. Windows refuses to let me manual install from .inf from device manager.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-01-2013, 19:16 | posts: 20,470 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steppzor View Post
"This first 13.8 beta only supports framepacing in DX10 and 11 games and is compatible with Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1 in the first phase"

Sure 8.1 is supported? Windows unable to detect driver package under installation.. Windows refuses to let me manual install from .inf from device manager.
No 8.1 is not yet officially supported. My grammar checker added that as he assumed 8.1 would be supported. Fixing.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 19:17 | posts: 5,129 | Location: FLA,USA

I wonder how the 7990 compairs to 770 SLI as the 690 is hardware based framepacing and the 7990 is software based as 770 SLI is overall impresive results a little fine tuning to get rid of the runt and dropped frames and AMD will have something. Bravo AMD bravo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-01-2013, 19:21 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

680 and 770 have hardware for frame metering, as 690. Tom Petersen of Nvidia has confirmed that in his video with pcper.

Epic review Hilbert, as always.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhoBos82
Newbie
 
PhoBos82's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8ghz
Mainboard: ASrock Gen3
Memory: Corsair Vengence, 2x 4gig
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy
PSU: Enermax 750
Default 08-01-2013, 19:23 | posts: 33 | Location: San Diego

It was always a shame to see great hardware held back by un-polished drivers. Nice to see AMD is targeting the problem and producing solutions
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Seren
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1ghz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4-4.3
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM @1754
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 08-01-2013, 19:28 | posts: 76 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Nice informative article, was looking forward to seeing the driver tested with a single card though to see if the changes causes any regressions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 19:30 | posts: 5,129 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
680 and 770 have hardware for frame metering, as 690. Tom Petersen of Nvidia has confirmed that in his video with pcper.

Epic review Hilbert, as always.
I was unaware of that thanks for correcting.

Does this only effect GCN or will the cayman based gpu's benefit as well?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-01-2013, 19:30 | posts: 20,470 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seren View Post
Nice informative article, was looking forward to seeing the driver tested with a single card though to see if the changes causes any regressions.
Not possible as the framepace algorithm can only activate once you have two or more GPUs.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel HD4000 (temporary)
Processor: I7 3770K @4.2 H80 cooling
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 8gb Corsair 1600 @ 1.35v
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Coolermaster 850W
Default 08-01-2013, 19:39 | posts: 3,180 | Location: UK

These drivers install fine for me with Windows 8.1. I only have a single GPU though....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-01-2013, 19:47 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

@ Loop the option showed up for a 6900 series CFX user so I think yes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 20:11 | posts: 5,129 | Location: FLA,USA

Good to hear. Looks as though AMD has leveled the playing field now I will be watching both camps next offerings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 08-01-2013, 20:15 | posts: 8,694 | Location: UK

Great review Hilbert, AMD have done a sterling job, and its only going to get better, well done AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia
Processor: Intel
Mainboard: ---
Memory: ---
Soundcard: ---
PSU: ---
Default 08-01-2013, 22:37 | posts: 369

Very nice review,if AMD keeps going like this,in the right direction with drivers,they will have my money on the next gen. cardz,gj AMD!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
heffeque
Ancient Guru
 
heffeque's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 6320 1GB
Processor: AMD E-450
Mainboard: Zotac AD04
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Small external brick
Default 08-01-2013, 22:44 | posts: 4,063 | Location: Barcelona, Spain

You should also check Anandtech's article about it. Very, very informative.

I'm glad AMD is improving their drivers as they are.

A couple years ago AMD's drivers were horrible, nowadays single GPU drivers actually seem more stable than nVidia's drivers, although multi-GPU still seems to need a lot of work, specially APU+GPU (I still don't understand why that's dealt with so badly).

Last edited by heffeque; 08-01-2013 at 22:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 08-01-2013, 23:00 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

Been watching for reviews and articles for hours since the driver release.

Amazing stuff. I'd like to know how previous generation Nvidia GPUs do in frame pacing as those allegedly have hardware-based frame metering. This idea is confusing me since microstutter was apparent before Kepler yet even G80 had hardware for that stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 08-02-2013, 01:25 | posts: 1,229 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
These drivers install fine for me with Windows 8.1. I only have a single GPU though....
You're sure about this? I have a desktop and laptop with 8.1 Preview (9431) and both couldn't install this driver. My desktop is single-GPU (7850) and my laptop is Dual Graphics (7660G + 7670M)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 08-02-2013, 01:36 | posts: 12,901 | Location: USA

Hey Hilbert, what is that green PCB add in card above the SSD in the pic on page 4?


Nice review btw. Good work AMD for taking care of a long standing issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Titan29
Master Guru
 
Titan29's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 7950 @880/1250
Processor: i7-3930K C1 @3.2|NH-D14
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro 4608
Memory: Ripjaws X 32GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtek | Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 08-02-2013, 02:53 | posts: 208 | Location: Canada

Many thanks Hilbert!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pale Rider
Newbie
 
Pale Rider's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA TITAN Black
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative/Corsair SP 2500
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-02-2013, 04:39 | posts: 35 | Location: Holly Ridge, NC USA

Any chance this will work with an ASUS Ares II?
Remounting this card and its radiator really isn't something I want to do unless there's some indication that this new driver will work.
Anybody else who owns one of these cards knows exactly what I mean.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-02-2013, 05:29 | posts: 20,470 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Hey Hilbert, what is that green PCB add in card above the SSD in the pic on page 4?


Nice review btw. Good work AMD for taking care of a long standing issue.
The framegrabber / capture card.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 08-02-2013, 05:29 | posts: 20,470 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pale Rider View Post
Any chance this will work with an ASUS Ares II?
Remounting this card and its radiator really isn't something I want to do unless there's some indication that this new driver will work.
Anybody else who owns one of these cards knows exactly what I mean.
There's no indication as to why it wouldn't work - It is made for exactly these setups, 99% sure it will work.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 08-02-2013, 05:52 | posts: 6,446 | Location: Chilling

The new graphs look great Hilbert, good job.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
MadGizmo
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 CF (2560*1440)
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 32GB 1600CL9 Vengeance LP
Soundcard: SupremeFX IV/Tiamat 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-02-2013, 06:35 | posts: 1,314

Great review, Hilbert. Will give the drivers a spin this weekend. Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.