Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Red lines appear across screen
Old
  (#1)
KRaikkonenNo1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce GTX 560ti
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-H61MA-D2V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar 5.1 & Logitech
PSU: Coolermaster 600w
Question Red lines appear across screen - 07-31-2013, 13:10 | posts: 53

Hi, I haven't visited here for a while, but I thought I would post here as this forum has proven helpful in the past

My problem is that red lines are appearing across my screen, and I'm assuming that it is my gpu. These red lines appear rather randomly but also more whilst gaming and on windows boot up screens.

I have tried all of the obvious things; reconnecting all wires, have roll backed drivers to WHQL and re-seated card and components but lines still appear across screen at times. I've also done a RAM test which came back fine.

So I was wondering if anyone could shed any light upon this for me, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 07-31-2013, 13:17 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Either VRAM is going out slowly, either you have an unstable GPU OC(if you have any) or the card my be overheating.

Last but not least it is also possible that the PSU is going out on you.

Listed above is what usually is, check your temps while gaming with MSI Afterburner or EVGA Precision X, check the GPU itself is it dusty.

If you have done all of the above it will sound stupid but try reinstalling OS as a last resort and see will it still continue happening, if it will it is likely hardware issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-31-2013, 13:24 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

What kind of lines? Like horizontal scrolling or static vertical stripes/squares?

Can u get a screenshot? If you get a screenshot and the lines don't appear then it's a problem with your monitor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
KRaikkonenNo1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce GTX 560ti
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-H61MA-D2V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar 5.1 & Logitech
PSU: Coolermaster 600w
Default 07-31-2013, 13:39 | posts: 53

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
What kind of lines? Like horizontal scrolling or static vertical stripes/squares?

Can u get a screenshot? If you get a screenshot and the lines don't appear then it's a problem with your monitor.
They are horizontal lines that flicker.

Also interestingly every time I take a screenshot the lines do not appear at all, tried this numerous times.

I've tried swapping monitors with a similar model but the problem didn't appear at all on either monitors.

Does this suggest it is the monitor then?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-31-2013, 13:54 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRaikkonenNo1 View Post
They are horizontal lines that flicker.

Also interestingly every time I take a screenshot the lines do not appear at all, tried this numerous times.

I've tried swapping monitors with a similar model but the problem didn't appear at all on either monitors.

Does this suggest it is the monitor then?

Thanks.
Yes.

More specifically a loose or faulty cable will make flickering lines appear, so reconnecting the monitors may have fixed the problem.

If not then you should get the display checked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 07-31-2013, 14:07 | posts: 26,672 | Location: Hampshire, UK

yeah, if the lines are not showing in screenshots that would suggest it's the monitor. I'm thinking it could also be a cable issue, or a output port issue on the gpu be it hdmi/dvi, don't know what you're using. I would get a new cable and try it in different ports on the gpu first, before buying a new monitor. But then again, if everything was ok on a different monitor, it might just be the monitor.

If you have more than one input on the monitor, try that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
KRaikkonenNo1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Geforce GTX 560ti
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-H61MA-D2V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Vengeance
Soundcard: Asus Xonar 5.1 & Logitech
PSU: Coolermaster 600w
Default 07-31-2013, 14:40 | posts: 53

Im currently using the HDMI input to mini HDMI (on the gpu), and my monitor has 2 other outputs, DVI and D-Sub.

Also worth noting that I have a mini HDMI adaptor for the gpu which a normal HDMI plugs into, but the HD cable is too heavy and drags the connection down - it doesnt look pretty on the back of the GPU!

Is there any difference between using a HDMI output and one of the other outputs?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gpu, ram, red lines, screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.