Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Desktop for office use, is this sufficient?
Old
  (#1)
altious
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 8800GT 512MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+
Mainboard: ASUS M2N-X
Memory: 2 Kingston DDR2 1GB Ram PC800
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: HUNTKEY 400W
Default Desktop for office use, is this sufficient? - 07-31-2013, 08:52 | posts: 47

We are planning to low grade desktop for office use
and the work load will be mainly using browser internet and also occasionally office suite. Is the spec below sufficient? should we invest more ram? and is there any hardware not required and can be downgrade to safe cost?

Asus P8B75-MLX intel Socket 1155
intel i3 3220 (TRAY) intel LGA 1155
V-GEN 2Gb PC 12800 / 1600 V-GEN DDR3
Seagate SATA 160Gb 7200RPM Int 3,5 Inch
Power Logic Azzura 1000
DELL 17 Inch E1709W LCD Wide Size 17 inch
LOGITECH Keyboard MK100 PS2 and Mouse Optical Usb

looking forward to your advise
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 07-31-2013, 09:28 | posts: 6,522 | Location: Dubai

It's perfectly fine but more RAM isn't a bad idea since it's not expensive any more. Check the price for 500GB and 1TB hard drives as well, over here there was only $15 difference between those two when I last checked.

Last edited by lucidus; 07-31-2013 at 10:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 07-31-2013, 09:45 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

+1 for 4GB RAM. Would make system snappier.

Also note that TRAY bundle means CPU comes without a cooler. You need a BOX bundle, unless you have a spare cooler lying around.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mixalis9
Master Guru
 
mixalis9's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx 670 windforce 3x
Processor: i7 4770k @4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: msi z87-g43 Gaming
Memory: 8GB RIPJAWSX 2133 mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: coolermaster 650w
Default 08-01-2013, 16:43 | posts: 280 | Location: cyprus

agree. make ur ram at least 4gb. i3 cpu has plenty of power.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 08-01-2013, 16:46 | posts: 5,126 | Location: FLA,USA

Just built a PC with the same mobo/CPU for my mom it's plenty for office use but would suggest at least 4GB RAM.

Last edited by Loophole35; 08-01-2013 at 16:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti (R9 280X Soon)
Processor: Q6600 (4790K Soon)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR
Memory: Cosair 8GB DDR3 (4x2GB)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX 860W(Soon)
Default 08-01-2013, 21:33 | posts: 1,042 | Location: Pennsylvania

I would get a CPU that comes with a fan because you could save $$ with out having to purchase a separate cooler. Also I would have at least 4GB of RAM just to be on the safe side.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.