Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AS SSD Benchmark Result
Old
  (#1)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Question AS SSD Benchmark Result - 07-28-2013, 14:31 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

Just ran this to see how my new SSD is, and doesn't look to good compared to others, as you can see here :-



Notice it also says pciide - BAD for some reason.

Now, i thought i was already running my HDD (which i just cloned across to save me reinstalling everything) in AHCI mode, so no need to change, but ive checked my BIOS, and nope, its in IDE mode, so would i benefit from switching it to AHCI as per the sticky ?

Sticky :-

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=313676

My WEI rates it as a 7.0 (HDD was 5.9), and my Windows only takes 30 seconds to load up with everything, instead of over a minute via the HDD, and it does seem faster compared to my HDD, but im probably missing out on a lot more speed.

Thanks.


EDIT: Actually, i remember now, a few months ago i had crashing problems (which are all sorted now), and after one crash, my BIOS had reset, so i had to set it all back up, but obviously, i forgot to redo the IDE to ACHI

If i did the switch to AHCI via the sticky, would i hose it all, as a couple of people in there have said they've done it, but now can't boot either way ?

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 07-28-2013 at 14:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 07-28-2013, 15:11 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

If you used AHCI before on your current Windows installation, just enable it in BIOS. Otherwise, enable MS AHCI drivers and then enable AHCI in BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 07-28-2013, 15:20 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

I tried switching it to AHCI in the BIOS, but on the Starting Windows screen (with the Windows balls coming on to form the logo), it just restarts.

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 07-28-2013 at 15:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-28-2013, 15:26 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
I tried switching it to AHCI in the BIOS, but on the Starting Windows screen (with the Windows balls coming on to form the logo), it just restarts.
Follow Hilbert's sticky instructions on editing the registry. That should take care of it.

After that u can install proper AHCI drivers instead of MS ones.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 07-28-2013, 15:27 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Follow Hilbert's sticky instructions on editing the registry. That should take care of it.

After that u can install proper AHCI drivers instead of MS ones.
I would see some extra speed then ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-28-2013, 15:29 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
I would see some extra speed then ?
Yeah most likely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 07-28-2013, 15:58 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

May as well gie it a go, thanks

Just have to find the drivers to replace the MS ones
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-28-2013, 16:00 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
May as well gie it a go, thanks

Just have to find the drivers to replace the MS ones
http://www18.zippyshare.com/d/307545...%40asder00.rar

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-28-2013 at 16:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 07-28-2013, 16:44 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

Thanks Pill, will grab those in a bit

Just swapped it over to AHCI and gave it a quick test (on the default MS drivers that got installed).



No more pciide - BAD

Has increased, but shouldn't the Seq be around the 500mb mark, or is it about right for SATA2 (if that makes a difference) ?

This is my very first SSD, so no clues to if its all running normal or not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-28-2013, 16:58 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Nah mate SATA II tops out at 300mb/s. SATA III limit is 600mb/s.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-28-2013 at 17:04.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 07-28-2013, 17:14 | posts: 8,188 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Nah mate SATA II tops out at 300mb/s. SATA III limit is 600mb/s.
Ahh right, as when reading a review of this SSD, i noticed it had the AS Benchmark Seq Read score @ about 487mb, so that must have been SATA III, guess mines about right for SATA 2.

Cheers Pill


EDIT: Just re-ran the WEI, and Drive scores gone from 7.0, to 7.8

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 07-28-2013 at 17:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-29-2013, 07:55 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Ahh right, as when reading a review of this SSD, i noticed it had the AS Benchmark Seq Read score @ about 487mb, so that must have been SATA III, guess mines about right for SATA 2.

Cheers Pill


EDIT: Just re-ran the WEI, and Drive scores gone from 7.0, to 7.8
All good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ruiner13
Newbie
 
ruiner13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX (x2)
Processor: Intel i7 3930k
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 16GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 12-28-2013, 21:44 | posts: 32 | Location: Indiana, USA

Is this good? Samsung 840 SSDs in RAID 0




Last edited by ruiner13; 12-28-2013 at 21:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 12-29-2013, 19:54 | posts: 58 | Location: SC


just posting mine as comparision...keep in mind mine IS using rapid mode
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 12-29-2013, 20:45 | posts: 413 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Ahh right, as when reading a review of this SSD, i noticed it had the AS Benchmark Seq Read score @ about 487mb, so that must have been SATA III, guess mines about right for SATA 2.
SATA2 3.0Gbps on that X58 board is a huge bottleneck for any modern SATA3 6.0Gbps SSD. Buy some PCEIx SATA3 controller card and you'll notice a nice SSD R/W speed increase. And as others suggested AHCI is a must for SSD.

I also have X58 paired with Intel 520 series 120GB SATA3 SSD conected trough Transcend TS-PDC3 card (PCIEx 2.0 x1 card with 2x SATA3 + 2x USB 3.0) and that SSD is flying. Cards like that are quite cheap now, you wonŽt regret buying something like that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 12-30-2013, 00:20 | posts: 58 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
SATA2 3.0Gbps on that X58 board is a huge bottleneck for any modern SATA3 6.0Gbps SSD. Buy some PCEIx SATA3 controller card and you'll notice a nice SSD R/W speed increase. And as others suggested AHCI is a must for SSD.

I also have X58 paired with Intel 520 series 120GB SATA3 SSD conected trough Transcend TS-PDC3 card (PCIEx 2.0 x1 card with 2x SATA3 + 2x USB 3.0) and that SSD is flying. Cards like that are quite cheap now, you wonŽt regret buying something like that.
I'm not sure if i agree with you, I'm using an x58 board, same brand (asus) as well...And I have absolutely no bottle neck.....i think he needs a fresh install with the proper bios settings and hooked to the correct ports and all should be ok......maybe he get better performance not using raid and be able to use rapid mode?

Last edited by primetime^; 12-30-2013 at 00:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dk_lightning
Maha Guru
 
dk_lightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7870XT
Processor: 3570K 4.5Ghz Silver Arrow
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 2600Mhz
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 2100
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-30-2013, 11:06 | posts: 981 | Location: North Wales

How do i change from msahci driver to the intel one?

I have tried but just fails to boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 12-30-2013, 11:31 | posts: 413 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime^ View Post
I'm not sure if i agree with you, I'm using an x58 board, same brand (asus) as well...And I have absolutely no bottle neck.....i think he needs a fresh install with the proper bios settings and hooked to the correct ports and all should be ok......maybe he get better performance not using raid and be able to use rapid mode?
Believe it or not every SATA3 SSD will have some benefits from SATA3 capable motherboard or PCIEx SATA3 6.0Gbps controller card, some SSD's more, some less, with some of them (depends on controller build in SSD) difference is insane when they are connected to SATA2 compared to SATA3. For example SandForce controller based SSD's will nothing more than suffer if you conect them to the SATA2. I'm telling you from my experience not just with my rig but with hundreds of other rigs that had passed through my hands in past few years.

Just google for some SSD SATA2 vs SATA3 benchmark results and real-life experience of SSD owners jumping from SATA2 to SATA3. Look here
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1215/6318
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 12-30-2013, 11:45 | posts: 413 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_lightning View Post
How do i change from msahci driver to the intel one?

I have tried but just fails to boot.
^^^ More details please

First things first, just to be sure download and install latest Intel Chipset Drivers 9.4.0.1026 from here

Then download and install latest Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver 12.8.0.1016 from here

Then check/tune all Windows options on link here
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-30-2013, 12:03 | posts: 23,466 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_lightning View Post
How do i change from msahci driver to the intel one?

I have tried but just fails to boot.
Check in BIOS to see if boot order hasn't changed......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
zipper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680M
Processor: i7 3630QM
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 180+ min battery
Default 12-30-2013, 12:06 | posts: 552 | Location: finland

12.9.0.1001 is the latest RST
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...+RST)&lang=eng
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
dk_lightning
Maha Guru
 
dk_lightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7870XT
Processor: 3570K 4.5Ghz Silver Arrow
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 2600Mhz
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 2100
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-30-2013, 16:11 | posts: 981 | Location: North Wales

Check, check and check.

Latest chipset and RST installed.

Boot order is still as it has always been. ssd,hdd,cd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
ruiner13
Newbie
 
ruiner13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX (x2)
Processor: Intel i7 3930k
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 16GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 12-30-2013, 16:39 | posts: 32 | Location: Indiana, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime^ View Post

just posting mine as comparision...keep in mind mine IS using rapid mode
What is rapid mode?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
zipper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680M
Processor: i7 3630QM
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 180+ min battery
Default 12-30-2013, 16:41 | posts: 552 | Location: finland

It uses 1 GB system memory as cache to speed up operations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
ruiner13
Newbie
 
ruiner13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX (x2)
Processor: Intel i7 3930k
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 16GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 12-30-2013, 16:46 | posts: 32 | Location: Indiana, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
It uses 1 GB system memory as cache to speed up operations.
Interesting. Is that built into windows? I assume that could make you more prone to data loss in the event of a power failure if it hasn't flushed the buffer to disk on writes?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.