Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATI Catalyst Problem
Old
  (#1)
RanmaGamer61
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 4670 1GB
Processor: Intel Pentium 4
Mainboard: Abit IC7-G
Memory: PC3200 2GB
Soundcard: Creative Audigy SE
PSU: Antec 650 Watts
Thumbs up ATI Catalyst Problem - 07-27-2013, 02:58 | posts: 21

Hi I was looking in the ATI Catayst options and I came across an option called, "Use Extended Display Identification Data", I can't get it to work properly.

Every time I enable the setting I get discoloration on icons and on my wallpaper. Does anyone know how to make the settings work?, and why am I having this problem?.

Bye

Last edited by RanmaGamer61; 07-27-2013 at 03:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 07-27-2013, 03:12 | posts: 1,335 | Location: Charleroi, PA

I was just messing with this same setting, and it puts a yellow tint all over my Acer S201HL display. Happens on all 3 of them, so it's not just a random monitor issue it seems (although it could be tied to "that" specific model I guess).

The setting works fine on my laptop's screen though (fine as in it doesn't have any yellow tint, and colors look darker).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 07:16 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Use "Extended Display Identification Data" stands for EDID!!!
It allows your display to tell your PC about it's supported features, resolutions, color profiles, ...

Bad colors are not caused by driver, but by monitor having sh*7 factory settings.
Probably color temperature like 3700K instead of 5400K/6500K on which people are used now. (white/blueish)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-27-2013, 08:27 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

I have 2x 21' Sony Trinitron CRT's calibrated to 6500K and a 27' LCD, they all turn yellow like OP's.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-27-2013 at 08:31.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 09:25 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I have 2x 21' Sony Trinitron CRT's calibrated to 6500K and a 27' LCD, they all turn yellow like OP's.

Move Color Temperature slider completely to right and check EDID, then disable it again.
Move slider completely left and again check EDID box.

Now You know that you either have custom temperature settings or you have settings given by monitor EDID.

If you calibrate your display with lets say Spider then it's calibrated to state at that time.
Checking or unchecking EDID latter will kill this calibration.
On My BenQ XL2420T EDID sets color temp. approximately to 6400K.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-27-2013, 09:48 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

My monitor is already set to 6500k, color temp is adjustable using the menu. I can choose sRGB or Kelvin....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 10:22 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

OP is not talking about settings via monitor physical controls.
He is asking about calibration on software layer (color space transformation before image is sent via cable to LCD)

Looking this way:
- image is rendered as RGB with color values(R0-255,G0-255,B0-255) per pixel.
- each color value goes through software adjustment (contrast, hue, brightness, color temp, ...) = this part is affected by settings accessible via driver and by selecting EDID checkbox there (which overrides custom color temp by one given by display)
- this altered image is sent via cable to display
- where firmware may or may not do additional color processing and again may alter(contrast, hue, brightness, color temp, ...)
- then it goes to screen itself which have certain ability to represent values given

IF EDID is checked and monitor overrides custom color temp. set on driver level, then monitor electronics must be properly calibrated for screen used.
This is usually problem, because a lot of units are designed in lab with one type of screen and then another gets into production.

Now imagine that color space for RGB: at start it's R0-127-255,G0-127-255,B0-127-255, then it goes through driver settings where you keep contrast, hue, brightness at default, but color temp you have at 5800.
That turns color space to R0-137-255,G0-130-255,B0-114-235(Black, Gray, White)
Altered image goes to display where you have 6500K calibration which does not check what kind of temperature vga sent.
And simply does it's own alteration based on temp setting in OSD which would alter it on opposite direction to R0-134-249,G0-128-251,B0-120-235(Black, Gray, White).

Apparently those are not values to Black gray white because color alteration by setting color temperature is far from color calibration.
And optimal color calibration is done with all other Display/SW interferences OFF as they only decrease display ability to show colors as it should.
And once calibration is done, all settings should stay as in moment of calibration. (unless you are using different calibrations for day and night)

Back to topic: OP's monitor is providing incorrect EDID data resulting in yellowish whites.
I have pretty good color representation because I disabled completely color alteration features in my XL2420T (which are terrible anyway) and just kept proper contrast/brightness.
All color alterations are done in one place and that is software layer in PC.

For monitors which have their own calibration sonde all software color alterations should be disabled to not interfere with HW calibration.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-27-2013, 10:37 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

fffff

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-27-2013 at 11:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 10:59 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Windows monitor driver has it's own EDID data in which overrides EDID from monitor afaik.
Sure it does, and yet people still cut data communication wire to disable monitor EDID completely because in some situations monitor EDID data have upper hand.
Data in driver are complementary to EDID in display and if OS does not ask monitor for info, EDID from driver file has priority.
And as for WinVista monitor EDID could not be overridden.

And EDID checkbox in CCC is not taking values from some inf file, it uses I2C/DDC channel and gets info from monitor firmware by default.

Btw. on many monitors EDID data can be permanently altered.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-27-2013, 11:03 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Sure it does, and yet people still cut data communication wire to disable monitor EDID completely because in some situations monitor EDID data have upper hand.
Data in driver are complementary to EDID in display and if OS does not ask monitor for info, EDID from driver file has priority.
And as for WinVista monitor EDID could not be overridden.

And EDID checkbox in CCC is not taking values from some inf file, it uses I2C/DDC channel and gets info from monitor firmware by default.
No it doesn't. Windows has it's own EDID data in driver.

As you can see below my monitor cannot pass on incorrect info because it's EDID cannot even be read.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 11:17 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Pill sorry, I am still thinking about OP's problem and my reply was not to your screenshot which shows this:
- Your monitor does not even have chance to give correct/bad EDID data.
- EDID for color balance is taken from driver inf correct or not it alters your colors before they enter monitor
- and as you stated you have your monitor set to 6500K which may or may not temper with color again (ask engineer who wrote it's firmware)

I don't know why your monitor is not providing or unable to provide EDID.
But that does not change a thing on what I wrote in 1st place:
If you have incorrect EDID data and you click "Use EDID" in CCC you end up with colors screwed by those date.

Therefore in your case EDID data from your monitor may be perfect (one can't know till you use them), but you have it wrong on inf level.

Edit: Typo change > chance correction

Last edited by Fox2232; 07-27-2013 at 11:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 11:27 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

To the OP, if you happen to read this (not sure if you do, since you let us play in our little sandbox).
If that EDID checkbox does not provide good results, stick to the slider and set it to your liking.

Having EDID checkbox checked does not do anything else than overriding slider bellow anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-27-2013, 11:29 | posts: 24,248 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Pill sorry, I am still thinking about OP's problem and my reply was not to your screenshot which shows this:
- Your monitor does not even have chance to give correct/bad EDID data.
- EDID for color balance is taken from driver inf correct or not it alters your colors before they enter monitor
- and as you stated you have your monitor set to 6500K which may or may not temper with color again (ask engineer who wrote it's firmware)

I don't know why your monitor is not providing or unable to provide EDID.
But that does not change a thing on what I wrote in 1st place:
If you have incorrect EDID data and you click "Use EDID" in CCC you end up with colors screwed by those date.

Therefore in your case EDID data from your monitor may be perfect (one can't know till you use them), but you have it wrong on inf level.
Oh yeah I agree 100%, prob need to write a custom driver I guess....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
SamuelMaki
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 5650 1GB
Processor: AMD Phemon II N930 Quad 2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: HP 19V 4.74A 90W
Default 08-01-2013, 19:58 | posts: 36 | Location: Espoo, Finland

Well, myself I got my laptop screen look much better when choose EDID-data on CCC and done the basic calibration on windows. The EDID did give too much red, but moving brightness and contrast a hint and reducing little red on the windows calibration, my laptop looks much better than with the kelvin setting only. Don't know how "wrong" that procedure was but at least my eyes like this more (colors are more deeper through the scale, but shows all steps on calibration tests so no cutting edges, same with white and black)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 08-01-2013, 20:11 | posts: 1,553 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuelMaki View Post
Well, myself I got my laptop screen look much better when choose EDID-data on CCC and done the basic calibration on windows. The EDID did give too much red, but moving brightness and contrast a hint and reducing little red on the windows calibration, my laptop looks much better than with the kelvin setting only. Don't know how "wrong" that procedure was but at least my eyes like this more (colors are more deeper through the scale, but shows all steps on calibration tests so no cutting edges, same with white and black)
EDID does not mean bad. It's just set of data which will in this case alter color profile. You may be capable to find color profile for your screen calibrated with spyder or other sonde.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-01-2013, 20:11 | posts: 7,030 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
I was just messing with this same setting, and it puts a yellow tint all over my Acer S201HL display. Happens on all 3 of them, so it's not just a random monitor issue it seems (although it could be tied to "that" specific model I guess).

The setting works fine on my laptop's screen though (fine as in it doesn't have any yellow tint, and colors look darker).
I have the Acer S231HL and it doesn't make any difference to the colour of mine

I did spend a long time manually adjusting the actual settings of the LCD when I first got it though, as everything that should have been white, was blue

And I have removed the default colour profiles in display settings and replaced them with sRGB profiles
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Zurvan
Member Guru
 
Zurvan's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 7870
Processor: i5-3470
Mainboard: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX Core Edition PRO550W
Default 08-01-2013, 20:14 | posts: 75

Can someone please help out? I'm getting problems with the resolutions in games. I have a 1080p monitor but I want to play at 1776*1000. Didn't had any problem but with b8 I'm getting way too big resolution when I play lower than 1080p. It seems like the game won't be played in any lower resolution. Also already reinstalled the driver...

Any help please?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DummyPLUG
Member Guru
 
Videocard: BBA 7970 with GHz rom
Processor: 3930K C2
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth x79
Memory: DDR3-1600 64GB 1.5v
Soundcard: Optical out, Pioneer AMP
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 08-01-2013, 20:19 | posts: 83 | Location: Hong Kong

even the EDID color info is corrrect the monitor itself will "degrade" and the color/brightness will change in long run, so end up the color info provide by the monitor may end up useless.

best solutions is to get something like spyder
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-01-2013, 20:19 | posts: 7,030 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
No it doesn't. Windows has it's own EDID data in driver.

As you can see below my monitor cannot pass on incorrect info because it's EDID cannot even be read.


Have you got a link to that program ?

I can only find crappy looking ones
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.